We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

££ - £££, British,
36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
+44 1765 602284
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (27 reviews)
“mash” (18 reviews)
“pie” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visiting from NZ. Went here with my disabled mum. Table booked two days prior so we had access to the disabled facilities. Service poor, staff clueless and booked table not available. Went to So! instead... So much better and a great menu choice.

Thank Chris S
Reviewed 3 days ago

We called into The Royal Oak for lunch with friends after spending the morning in Ripon. The food was delicious and presentation was excellent. The menu was extensive with a wide range of prices. The interior of the pub is light and airy with a...More

Thank Tim622014
Looking for a great restaurant?Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor
Reviewed 3 days ago

Called in twice with family and friends. Food was ok,but I think expensive for what it is. I had the pie and mash and it was £10:95, had a really long wait about 40 minuets and I really don't want to have a dog sniffing...More

Thank hopey09
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Just popped in here for a drink while staying in Ripon. It’s a Timothy Taylor pub so a nice pint of Boltmaker went down a treat. Menu seemed very fancy, which if you like that then it will be great.

Thank whatmaystevesay
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Nice place with good attentive staff. Ordered lamb expecting it to come as slices of lovely shoulder land with mint sauce....arrived and it was shredded lamb in moulded shape. Almost too rich .....would much have preferred a traditional roast lamb dish, wilted mint had little...More

Thank Christopher E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excited about our visit as the menu looks great. Unfortunately both the food and drink were disappointing. Scotch egg lacked seasoning and flavour. Both the duck and venison had nice elements but were salty and too much of a mixture of things to work as...More

Thank Penguin_penguin8
RoyalOakRipon, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review, your feedback has been passed onto our kitchen team. It saddens me that you did not enjoy your recent visit. If you had mentioned something at the time, we would have happily amended and rectified any issues you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Ripon for a couple of days we booked into the Royal Oak for Sunday supper mainly ‘cos we could take the dog as well. I was not expecting the really simply superb meal we had at very reasonable prices. Seared mackerel fillet with...More

Thank Regular N
RoyalOakRipon, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit. It's always great to hear feedback from our guests. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped by for dinner on the off chance there would be a table free in late January. The restaurant was presented very well and looked particularly pretty with the small candles on the tables. It was a lovely atmosphere and looked...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
RoyalOakRipon, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your food and you were looked after well. Amy is delighted with the review! We do hope you return to us soon.

Reviewed 16 January 2018

Two of us - Went for lunch Sunday 7th January. Followed party of 32! Still warm welcome, great service by friendly attentive staff. Witnessed Elderly gentleman who fell and required ambulance. Chris ( first aider) was so calm, caring and attentive - he was superb....More

1  Thank CGJ17
RoyalOakRipon, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi CGJ17. Thank you for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you will be returning. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Wow! Excellent service and really superb food. A winter salad with truffle oil and charred mackerel to start ( not to mention the toasted bread with olive oil and a delicious balsamic, sweet and fruity, with a glass of prosecco to get things started). We've...More

Thank Allister M
RoyalOakRipon, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Allister, thank you for making time to leave us a review. We always love feedback from our guests, and it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you return to The Royal Oak soon!

Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Ripon
The Royal Oak Hotel
377 reviews
.00 miles away
The Unicorn
886 reviews
.06 miles away
The Old Deanery
490 reviews
.11 miles away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
807 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Barn
20 reviews
.00 miles away
Chimes Cafe
186 reviews
.04 miles away
138 reviews
.01 miles away
Mario's Restaurant 27
316 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Ripon Hornblower
199 reviews
.12 miles away
Ripon Cathedral
937 reviews
.10 miles away
Workhouse Museum
298 reviews
.19 miles away
Prison and Police Museum
102 reviews
.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
marjorie c
31 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Blott2000 | Reviewed this property |
17 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Theresa F | Reviewed this property |
2017 CHRISTMAS DAY - Christmas menu available on-line shows the Royal Oak is closed on christmas day but open the rest of the festive period.
7 November 2016|
Response from caribbean_breezes | Reviewed this property |
There is a car park in back. However the wheelchair access is not the best.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
08:00 - 22:30
08:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Ripon
  • Phone Number: +44 1765 602284
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Royal Oak Hotel
All of our food is freshly prepared in house by our talented brigade of chefs. We are lucky to be located in an area rich with excellent local produce. This is reflected in our menu’s that change seasonally enabling us to use ingredients when they are at there best. We offer a wide selection of meat and vegetarian meals, with a mouth watering desserts menu alongside a carefully chosen wine list to compliment your meals.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing