We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Henny Swan

££ - £££, ,
The Henny Swan Henny Street, Babergh District CO10 7LS, England
+44 1787 267953
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (27 reviews)
“panna cotta” (5 reviews)
“roast beef” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
The Henny Swan Henny Street, Babergh District CO10 7LS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited on recommendation. A great location but the food served for our lunch was very average. The service was acceptable but if these establishments are going to use young staff to serve behind the bar, training on good service is required! The food was just...More

Thank David K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Feel so lucky to have stumbled on this place a few weeks ago for a drink. We said we would come back for lunch which we did today on my birthday! I had roast beef and plum cake and significant other had burger and pecan...More

Thank LadyEmmaWhite
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your kind words. We were so busy later on in the day on Sunday that we struggled with service, so it feels great to know that we did a good job with some of our customers! Nice to hear that you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a pretty place to come and have a meal or to just chill out with a drink. Attentive and friendly staff and delicious food. Wish we had discovered this place earlier in the summer as we’d have probably spent most of it here. Good...More

Thank LordSR
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! Sounds like your Lady Emma's other half! Thanks to both of you for taking the trouble to leave a nice review for us. Whilst we welcome people from all walks of life, it's very flattering to know that we're attracting the aristocracy too:)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for lunch today and had such a lovely meal that I felt I had to write a review straight away. I had the burger which was delicious and my friend had fish and chips which was equally good, both reasonably priced. The puddings...More

2  Thank Barbara R
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Barbara. What a lovely review- thanks very much. I agree with you about the pannacotta! It will be on the menu for a while yet if that helps to tempt you back! Thanks once again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another change of hands or chef or management? I don't know, but it is all to the good. My wife enjoyed a fine looking, large, lightly golden battered haddock, my daughter and I thought we were back in France! We both had a duo of...More

Thank Jeanmas2015
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! Thanks very much for your lovely review. It's nice to know that you enjoyed the guinea fowl so much. Same management, same chefs by the way! Sounds like you've had a more negative experience in the past & sorry if that was the case....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have visited a number of times since my last review but just for drinks to take advantage of the beautiful riverside location. A friend requested The Swan for a get together and I was left to book...rang six times at various points during their opening...More

Thank Stephen H
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stephen. Thanks very much for your visit & review. Your comments about the food are very generous & I'm pleased that it helped you to overcome other irritations with us! By the way, we take a couple of hundred reservations a week via the...More

Reviewed 7 August 2018

This place is very relaxing to sit and have lunch in the garden by the river on a warm sunny day. It's location is a very tranquil setting with hardly any through traffic. There were plenty of outside tables with shade you could use if...More

Thank BrieEngland
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi! Thanks for your visit & very kind review. Sorry that we were careless in the treatment of the granary bread. If you're in again & have any issues please give one of the passing staff a shout who will hopefully sort things out to...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked and went there for lunch having heard how good it is. We were not disappointed, the atmosphere, staff and food were all we could have wished for. We were amazed how busy it was on a Tuesday lunchtime but they...More

Thank Sue C
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi! Thanks very much for your visit & nice review. We try our best to cope with how busy it is, although we don't always manage it as well as we (or the customers!) would like:) We're glad that things went well for you &...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Sorely disappointed with the Swans preparation on Fete day. Having arrived at around 2pm presented with a queue of 32 people ..(I counted..) out into the road to order drinks and food.Gave up after 15 minutes and settled for tea and cake from the excellent...More

Thank Goonhilly
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Sorry that we were too busy to serve you in a timely fashion. I certainly felt guilty about the waits that people experienced. Whilst, Fete day was an extreme example, on busy summer days I'm afraid that this can be the case. However, please bear...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018

This is a lovely place to eat and is overlooking the River Stour, not far from Sudbury. It proved to be a great half-way meeting place for Sunday lunch. The restaurant is spacious and the tables are nicely spaced so you are not conscious of...More

Thank NannaJO30
The_Henny_Swan, Owner at Henny Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thanks for our visit & posting such a nice review. I think that you might the the people who asked to see me to let me know how happy you'd been with the service from the staff, which was also very nice of you. Look...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Hill Lodge Hotel
84 reviews
1.77 miles away
The Mill Hotel
1,369 reviews
1.87 miles away
The Crown Hotel
157 reviews
4.63 miles away
The Bull
592 reviews
4.69 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shillingfords at the Quay
213 reviews
1.57 miles away
Kings head
5 reviews
.98 miles away
The Secret Garden
284 reviews
1.72 miles away
The Codfather
394 reviews
1.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Five Bells
5 reviews
1.16 miles away
Gainsborough's House
221 reviews
1.81 miles away
Spencers Farm Shop and Fruit Farm
26 reviews
3.11 miles away
River Stour Boating
10 reviews
3.21 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hartrix | Reviewed this property |
I went smart casual (polo shirt and chinos) as did most other diners there.
Tom C
1 April 2016|
Response from Tracy A | Property representative |
Hi Tom. Apologies for the late response. You can view our menus on our website. We do change some items at the beginning of each week so they can be a little inaccurate for a day or so. but they're generally correct. You can... More
31 March 2015|
Response from The_Henny_Swan | Property representative |
Hi, Thanks for your visit and kind words, which are much appreciated. In answer to your question, we serve food on a Sunday until 9pm. Hope to see you again, Tracy
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Henny Swan Henny Street, Babergh District CO10 7LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Babergh District  >  Sudbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 267953
  • E-mail
Beautiful 17th Century building in a stunning setting by the River Stour. Modern & relaxed style with 3 distinct seating areas to choose from internally,including the restaurant, as well as the terrace & garden. 16 beers on tap & extensive wine list. We open at 12 noon daily & normally serve food & drink all day. Booking for the restaurant is advised. Please check our website for details of our food service times. There flat access to the bar & toilets & a small step between the bar & restaurant (we have a ramp)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing