We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oscar Taylor Restaurant

Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
+353 1 845 0099
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“potatoes” (8 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived here for a birthday dinner and service was very good I must admit. Food portions were generous and tasty. I was pleasantly surprised. My only issue with the place is the décor. It is old and outdated and no table cloths. It needs to...More

Thank 19EmmaLouise88
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow!!! & of us had booked in for dinner and I must say that the place was completely rammed. We had a 10 minute wait for our table but boy was it worth it!!! Starters came out quickly and were piping hot and delicious. Mains...More

Thank Conehead798
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Have been to this restaurants on numerous occasions we visited last night 7 of us and all had a great meal we had 3 course with tea/coffee. 21.99 pp which has gone up over the year was still a great price soup was amazing as...More

Thank jenjen8537
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Oscars has been doing a great trade in food for as long as I can remember, Always go hungry as the portions here are fit for a farmer . The steaks ,for which they are famous are full of flavour and that pepper sauce a...More

1  Thank KathyMalahide
Reviewed 1 November 2017

An old family favourite, Oscar Taylor Restaurant in Malahide. A joint family birthday warranted another visit to a well loved restaurant. How it took a turn for the worse. Part One - The Arrival A table was booked for eighteen people a few months in...More

2  Thank Trainfanireland
brogans1, General Manager at Oscar Taylor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Trainfanireland, Thank you for taking the time to write a very informative review on your experience of when you visited Oscar Taylors Restaurant. We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with us on the day, as you describe Osars as an...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Tried this place twice recently for Sunday lunch , 1st time food ok, last Sunday just terrible .It really needs to be closed for a period to be updated as everything is old , clientele no more than myself are the older generation who maybe...More

1  Thank df1arc
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Recommended by two taxi drivers I guess we irritated our waiter as we took our time to examine the entire menu, but there were only a few occupied tables, or maybe it was because the kitchen closes at 9:30pm. The lady was more pleasant and...More

2  Thank Sweethome71
Reviewed 28 September 2017

There was a good selection for the carvery and an option to have a small portion if you wanted. I had the chicken curry and asked for a small portion but while they used a small plate, they piled it so high that the food...More

1  Thank MrsGiroud
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I went with friends to Malahide today we stopped for a bit to eat here, the carvery was still on so we said ok. The food we got was cold and brunt and no teast at all. It was my first and last time there

1  Thank Paul B
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant before and we again weren't disappointed. The restaurant is well run and the food is of a decent standard. . The only thing I would pull it up on is having our coffee cups put down on the table...More

1  Thank Rupert C
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Malahide Hotels
Island View Hotel
96 reviews
.02 miles away
Grand Hotel Malahide
1,675 reviews
.27 miles away
White Sands Hotel
371 reviews
1.23 miles away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1,301 reviews
1.55 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nautilus
393 reviews
.48 miles away
Seabank Bistro
370 reviews
.15 miles away
SALE e PEPE
242 reviews
.52 miles away
Jaipur Restaurant
189 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Malahide Castle Co. Dublin
218 reviews
.62 miles away
Malahide Beach
208 reviews
.15 miles away
Clash Gaelic Games
42 reviews
.86 miles away
Toots Malahide Road Train
85 reviews
.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanne C
Most of my family (The Creans') decided to book for an evening meal on Saturday 25th March (2017) to celebrate mother's day. On arrival the table, seats,and surrounding floor area was littered with food deposits and the table had been set for 9 diners. The meals were served by very pleasant staff and the food was very well presented and tasty. However nearing the end of my meal, I discovered not 1 but 2 human hairs in a piece of sea bass, I was very disappointed and felt ill, this occasion was meant to be my treat from my Children and Grandchildren. The lady (supervisor) was informed and she immediately apologised. My eldest daughter then almost choked on a hair that was discovered in a profiterole. I was offered to have my meal deducted from the total bill and the lady also sent a complimentary cocktail to the table, but, my daughter didn't even get an apology, I understand the pressure on staff during busy periods but I also understand customer service and customer satisfaction. I would like to know the reason for my daughter's complaint being completely ignored?
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda N | Reviewed this property |
That is very disappointing considering I would have recommended this restaurant to people like yourselves. I have just received a voucher for 50euro from a friend and was looking forward to using it..But now I am so... More
1
Vote
johan c
21 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Liveshealthy | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry, but don't know who this is:(
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
  • Phone Number: +353 1 845 0099
  • E-mail
Description
A Restaurant situated in the Island View Hotel with beautiful views of the Malahide coast line.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing