We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oscar Taylor Restaurant

Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
+353 1 845 0099
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“potatoes” (8 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2016

I went to this restaurant to have dinner with friends .I had eaten here many times in the past ,and it was most enjoyable.This time it was disgraceful . We were there for about 15 minutes, and nobody even asked If we wanted a drink...More

1  Thank squiddlydid
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Absolutely disgracefully upsetting night. My aunt had the table booked for 7.30 months in advance as it was my aunts 80th birthday. We were seated at two tables at right angles to one another with a wall blocking us from each other. Very upsetting for...More

Thank Maura C
shar36, Manager at Oscar Taylor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Hi Maura C All the team at Oscar Taylors were disappointed that you had a bad experience in our restaurant . We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write this review as disappointing as it is we were able to...More

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

What can I say. This is my fourth visit to this restaurant which means a nights stay for me. It never disappoints with its selection and price of food. Well done once again.

Thank jimmcr
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I was asked to Oscar Taylor's by a family member for a confirmation meal and was reluctant as my 2012 experience was pretty bad. I have to say that my experience was vastly improved. The food was delicious and everyone (approx 11 of us) really...More

1  Thank HonestCustomer101
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Had lunch here while we were out for a drive. arrived around 1.30 pm on a sunny afternoon . Place was very busy and as its a carvery it took a very long time to actually get our meal which was getting cold as we...More

Thank Kalimantsi
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Had the carvery. Large plate full of good food. Nice location near the beach. Plenty of room. large car park

Thank KerryMike
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Been here on numerous occasions and alway enjoy. It's restaurant service but a pub atmosphere and great portions 😉 as a couple, a family or even a group this ticks all the box's. Oh and can't go wrong with early bird great Value

Thank jenjen8537
Reviewed 7 March 2016

for years I spent many a day in this pub but not anymore the downstairs restaurant had food to die for then it just became boring and bland and ....COLD! then I got a chef up there one day and he shoulda been a surgeon...More

Thank owenscars2014
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

I was here last week for my brothers birthday. There was lots of us. Kids and adults. Huge menu.. lots to choose from and massive portions. They brought out lots of portions of chips, potato gratin and veg aswell as our mains. Absolutely stuffed. Couldnt...More

Thank obtuseflake
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I was there at weekend for a family birthday. As we weren't paying the bill I didn't want to make an issue of the terrible food There was 14 of us altogether. 6 adults seating at one table ordered wings/mushrooms. The wings were most definitely...More

3  Thank Colette M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Malahide Hotels
Island View Hotel
97 reviews
.02 miles away
Grand Hotel Malahide
1,685 reviews
.27 miles away
White Sands Hotel
380 reviews
1.23 miles away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1,316 reviews
1.55 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nautilus
402 reviews
.48 miles away
Seabank Bistro
374 reviews
.15 miles away
SALE e PEPE
250 reviews
.52 miles away
Jaipur Restaurant
193 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Malahide Castle Co. Dublin
223 reviews
.62 miles away
Malahide Beach
215 reviews
.15 miles away
Clash Gaelic Games
42 reviews
.86 miles away
Toots Malahide Road Train
87 reviews
.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanne C
Most of my family (The Creans') decided to book for an evening meal on Saturday 25th March (2017) to celebrate mother's day. On arrival the table, seats,and surrounding floor area was littered with food deposits and the table had been set for 9 diners. The meals were served by very pleasant staff and the food was very well presented and tasty. However nearing the end of my meal, I discovered not 1 but 2 human hairs in a piece of sea bass, I was very disappointed and felt ill, this occasion was meant to be my treat from my Children and Grandchildren. The lady (supervisor) was informed and she immediately apologised. My eldest daughter then almost choked on a hair that was discovered in a profiterole. I was offered to have my meal deducted from the total bill and the lady also sent a complimentary cocktail to the table, but, my daughter didn't even get an apology, I understand the pressure on staff during busy periods but I also understand customer service and customer satisfaction. I would like to know the reason for my daughter's complaint being completely ignored?
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda N | Reviewed this property |
That is very disappointing considering I would have recommended this restaurant to people like yourselves. I have just received a voucher for 50euro from a friend and was looking forward to using it..But now I am so... More
1
Vote
johan c
21 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Liveshealthy | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry, but don't know who this is:(
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
  • Phone Number: +353 1 845 0099
  • E-mail
Description
A Restaurant situated in the Island View Hotel with beautiful views of the Malahide coast line.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;