We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

An Sugan

41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 23 883 3719
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (27 reviews)
“tasting plate” (6 reviews)
“oysters” (8 reviews)
Opens in 2 min
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Small restaurant/bar. Went for the Early Bird menu. Not a big choice. Had Fish Pie which was excellent, full of cod, salmon & prawns. My companion had the Fish & Chips. A Light batter on the fish was good, and chips were proper chips. Both...More

Thank itacul
Reviewed 6 days ago

Terrific food, ambience and service. Wonderful West Cork historic venue and atmosphere. Great food, great value.

Thank Travel491194
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely seafood dinner nice informal athomesphere... didn't have a reservation and we got a good table steak also very good...

Thank patricia B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything we ordered was top notch! Really big portions... piping hot and delicious! Mussels, fish and chips, kids chicken goujons, burgers (chips amazing), hake and crushed potatoes, seafood chowder and fish pie! Friendly service they really looked after us so well!

Thank Jools_M_2012
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting from TORONTO and lived in Clonakilty for years. My wife always liked the fish dishes in here . So we walked in to restaurant sat at the back were traffic is into the kitchen . We waited 10 min wait for menus then 20...More

1  Thank irishfunk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff but the food was very poor. It felt looked everything was days old and just went into the microwave before we got it

Thank PaulDoh
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Everything is freshly prepared every day. Should you visit again please let your server know you are unhappy and they can sort it for yo at the time

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Booked in here for one night. You have to go to bar next door to book in which I didn't realise for a while. Met a very friendly man who showed me to my room. The room was large with 2 single beds and large...More

Thank Gillian B
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Terrible service. Very unfriendly staff who are not welcoming. Got our order wrong on two different occasions with no apology. We have been here numerous times over the past five years and it has definitely gone down in quality. Food was really good today but...More

Thank K S
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at An Sugan. We have engaged in further staff training. Please bring complaints to the attention of the manager and we will endeavor to sort it at the time.

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

In general the food was good, if a little frugal on portion size, as most meals don’t include fries. The waitresses/waiter were also very nice and polite. However I cannot understand how they suffer the company of the utterly un-self-aware resident barman. He makes you...More

Thank davidlynchonmars
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We have brought your review to the attention of our bar manager. Thank you for taking the time to write this review

Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Rocked in there last month, 2 people and 2 dogs. Made so welcome and shown to an outside table as requested. Seafood platter was as usual excellent. JACQUI had 2 starters which were equally good. Doggies were given water and enjoyed the quiet area. I’ve...More

ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Call again!

Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Clonakilty
The Clonakilty Hotel
282 reviews
.01 miles away
Imperial Hotel Clonakilty
27 reviews
.02 miles away
O'Donovan's Hotel
211 reviews
.17 miles away
The Emmet Hotel
195 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Scannells Bar
267 reviews
.15 miles away
259 reviews
.04 miles away
De Barra
100 reviews
.14 miles away
The Copper Pot Restaurant & Bar
229 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Michael Collins House
90 reviews
.26 miles away
West Cork Model Railway Village
389 reviews
.27 miles away
Birthplace of Michael Collins
61 reviews
.17 miles away
Fernhill Gardens
24 reviews
.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from An Sugan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Clonakilty
  • Phone Number: +353 23 883 3719
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing