We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durty Nelly's

512
All photos (512)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2014 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
Durty Nelly’s is one of Ireland’s most famous pubs and offers a truly unique Irish experience through its history and character. Often copied but never replaced, this truly unique piece of Irish heritage dates back to 1620. Enjoy the craic agus ceoil at the world-renowned Durty Nelly’s where we offer live Traditional Irish music every weekend, host festivals all year ’round, and even welcome a few celebrities on occasion!Durty Nelly’s is famed for our extensive and great-value menus in The Bar, Loft & Oyster Restaurants. Whether it be a quick bite or a special meal, our top-class chefs will cater to every taste and budget, providing an unforgettable dining experience.
PRICE RANGE
US$11-US$34
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (2,031)
Filter reviews
1,884 results
Traveller rating
938
577
220
73
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
938
577
220
73
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips toasted sandwich soup steak chicken the pub bunratty castle great atmosphere fun place pint of guinness irish coffee across the street shannon airport ireland tourists police music
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,884 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

stopped into the old reliable Durty Nells on the way back from town after spending all me money on xmas shopping and was pretty hungry, meself and Mrs were starving... and got stuffed nicely .... good grub and service on the ball as usual and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank bananahammick
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you bananahammick for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your meal and enjoyed your drink we do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit. Durty Nelly's

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Will never go back ordered lamb shank with mash potatoes and vegetables 17.95 Got lamb shank average 5 chips and frozen vegetables Asked for mash potatoes told was none and I said why wasn't I told before I orders my dinner as I did have...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank killian1o
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you killian1o for your recent review. We were disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your meal . At Durty Nelly's we do pride ourselves in excellent customer service as you can see from previous review. Sometimes when we are very busy we do run...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called yesterday we pre booked our annual friends gathering, a group of 9 adults and 9 kids. When we arrived we were greeted by the manager, confirming we were the group of 18 @ 14.30. We were brought as a group to a reserved...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GalwayBen
barrymca6969, Public Relations Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear GalwayBen, Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent review. We were very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Durty Nelly's. Unfortunately, we did not anticipate the unprecedented numbers coming through our door from the Bunratty Castle Santa...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in after a visit to the Bunratty Castle Christmas festival and the rain had started to fall. The atmosphere was warm and cheery with all the requisite elements of a good Irish pub. (Groups gathered by the bar laughing, pipe music in the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Mattaubry
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Matt Aubrey for your recent lovely review we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your meals . Your right our mussels are great fresh everyday and sourced locally.we are delighted you enjoyed the good customer service as we do pride ourselves...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned a visit to the Bunratty Castle and decided to grab lunch before touring and what a great surprise Durty Nelly's turned out to be! We were with a large group and they easily accommodated us. Service was great and the staff was friendly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank floridadawn
barrymca6969, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you floridadawn for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed the service .We are delighted you enjoyed your mussel's,. we do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit. Durty Nellys

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint and fun pub, with great food, good service, professional and friendly staff and plenty of choices of drinks..

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank VivienneR811
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you VivienneR811 for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and enjoyed the service we do pride ourselves in excellent customer service. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit Durty Nelly's

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After an enjoyable evening at the Bunratty Medieval Banquet, we shared some pints and trad sessions at Nelly’s next door. Everyone was smiling Irish eyes.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank BobB59
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Bob59 for your recent review.we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed the music. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit Durty Nelly's

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We headed to a fun night at Durty Nelly's after dinner at the Castle. We enjoyed some drinks and conversation with the bar keep and met Mark the Manager. I told him we came all this way from New York in search of the burning...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank lollygal
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you lollgal for your recent review . We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed the great customer service we do pride ourselves in excellent customer service. We hope you enjoyed your sod of turf and will pass your kind words to mark....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Atmosphere good Service good Ordered a bowl of chowder fish soup very disappointed Tasted absolutely awful.Thin soup without any vegetables and no choice of fish For anyone who wants to know Chowder is a blend of vegetables and fish .Not in this caseMore

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Wander57658825029
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you wander57658825029 for your recent review. We were disappointed you didn't enjoy your chowder , if you had told a member of staff we would have changed for you . Our chowder is normally full of fresh fish we do apologise if yours was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this old pub. First visited 50 years ago, then 20 years ago and the only thing that has changed is the sawdust missing from the floor.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SUSAN M
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Susan m for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit . We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit Durty Nelly's

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lloydhowcroft
8 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from waughzer2016 | Reviewed this property |
approx €5......even less and I'm sure if you ask they'll let you pull your pint,,, Enjoy.... Slainte
1
Vote
conallmulholland
9 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from barrymca6969 | Property representative |
Hi Conal, Thank you for your recent enquiry. We are open for food from 4.00pm on St. Stephen's Day. Regards, Sharon
0
Votes
Patsy M
11 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from aleksandrk782 | Reviewed this property |
I believe they can seat 50 but this most likely will be outside, so you very much depend on the weather. Please also note that restaurants in Ireland generally close early. Better call them directly and check if they can... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing