The Dog & Partridge

The Dog & Partridge

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1283 820394+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 23:00
Mon
12:00 - 23:00
Tue
12:00 - 23:00
Wed
12:00 - 23:00
Thu
12:00 - 23:00
Fri
12:00 - 23:00
Sat
12:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
features
Can a vegan person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
The Dog and Partridge, Traditional Pub and Dining, in the delightful village of Marchington, Staffordshire. Fantastic food, drink and a superb relaxed atmosphere. The pub has a rich and colourful history dating back to the Georgian era, bursting with character and our friendly staff will always make you feel at home. There is a delicious selection of wines, spirits and beers including locally brewed real ales and fresh, delicious meals all made using the highest quality produce. We can take bookings for up to 50 people if attending local attractions like Uttoxeter Races and Alton Towers - please book in advance. Opening hours: Monday - Tuesday: Closed Wednesday - Thursday: 12pm - 15:00 Then 18:00 - 23:00 Friday: 12pm - 15:00 Then 17:30 - 23:00 Saturday: 12pm - 23:00 Sunday: 12pm - 20:30 Please note that last orders for dining on our website. Have a look at our delicious Daily, Lunctime and Sunday menus and give us a call to reserve a table. Live music every Sunday.
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles988 reviews
Excellent
728
Very good
181
Average
42
Poor
17
Terrible
20
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Crispie21
Market Drayton63 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
First time here as it was halfway point to meet with friends for Sunday lunch. Cosy village pub nice welcome great choice of drinks. Very good lunch, soup, roast beef with all the trimmings, apple pie, all good quantities very tasty, looked like a family business very attentive, price was very good value. Certainly will return but warning it is very cosy and booking highly recommend certainly for Sunday we arrived at 12.30 and by the time we left it was very busy and snug.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jupip
Ashbourne37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 couples
Well actually the fire was a little too hot, the food too was piping hot and the landlady just lovely. We visited just prior to lockdown and tried the excellent value lunch menu. Prices for the equivalent meal inn the the evening are more expensive. It’s got a typical old country pub ambience with a few out of character COVID alterations which I guess shows the owners value the safety of their customers. It’s cosy but don’t sit too close to the fire unless you fancy being toast 😁. My wife and I both had the garlic mushrooms and Barnsley Chop. Very hearty portions and delicious. Fresh red cabbage, swede and long green beans accompanied the thick chips and gravy with the chop. The mushrooms were served on a toasted crostini. No room for pudding although they did sound tempting. Can’t wait for lockdown 2 to end so we can go back for another meal!
Written 6 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PeripateticPoleaxe
140 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Quite literally the best Sunday roast we've ever encountered - even for a veggie like me! Perfect in every way; proper Yorkshires, amazing roast potatoes, impeccable vegetables and vegetable sausages which actually tasted of something (I know which ones they were, but it's a good source so no complaints). As it happens, it's a CAMRA pub so there was no shortage of good things to drink either - and it's a genuine, friendly country pub with just the right atmosphere as well. Why does anyone bother with boring motorway services when this is such a minor diversion from the A50?
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Journey57
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
NEVER AGAIN! Zero customer service, no knowledge of dietary needs and extremely rude staff member who brought me to tears at the table. We had booked prior to visiting and advised that they catered for gluten free. When ordering, the staff member spoke in a very sarcastic tone about my dietary requirements and told the rest of my group they 'shouldnt of brought me'. It was my birthday meal, I have coeliac disease so ordering gluten free is not a choice but a medical need. Staff member went on to say I wasnt 'the worst customer' shes had 'ive had customers who cant have dairy and all sorts, followed by asking the next member of the group if they were 'normal'. This establishment does not deserve any customers at all if this is how disrespectful they are to paying customers, to top it off the food was not good.. beef chewier than toffee. Avoid at all costs!
Written 18 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarah M
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
We had an excellent experience here, with the landlady being very friendly, serving us drinks straight away snd making a fuss of the children. Pub is quaint with interesting memorabilia on the walls, warm, cosy lighting and very welcoming staff. Husband was impressed with the beer and the food was outstanding. We both had the beef and Stilton pie with chunky chips and perfectly cooked selection of classic roast dinner veg - broccoli, carrots, green beans. The kid was packed with beautiful bits of meat with rich gravy snd a decent amount of Stilton tang with perfect shortcrust pastry. Children enjoyed basic chicken nuggets and chips with some of our veg and we didn’t find it to be cheap rubbish that is so often served on the kids menu. Reasonably priced too. Two kids meals, two mains, one massive pudding, two kids ice creams, 3 pints of beer and a large glass of white wine came to £64. We tried to book for dinner the following night but they don’t serve food on a Sunday instead they have live music! Alas, we couldn’t return as our holiday was over but I’d definitely recommend this pub.
Written 11 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Finnsjenny
19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
We visited the Dog and Partridge for lunch as a halfway stop between two families during the outside only dining and we couldn’t have been looked after better. The food was outstanding in quality and quantity. If you want home cooked food in abundance at a very reasonable cost then this pub is a must visit in a lovely location.
Written 16 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MrsP
Burton upon Trent9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
We visited here on the 15th October . We have recently moved to the area and decided to try out “our local “ . What a fabulous little gem of a place - the starters were lovely and I chose steak for my main ( medium rare ) it was cooked to perfection , a proper fillet steak . Not thinking we’d have room for desert we persevered and decided to share one - the caramel crunch cheesecake ...it was big enough for 2 and it was heavenly ! The pub has a really homely , relaxing , comfortable feeling to it and serves fabulous food - what more could you want !!
Written 20 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Aimee
Uttoxeter2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Brilliant meal AMAZING FOOD!!!, great for value one of the nicest pub meals I've had in a long time beautiful little cottage style building with charming decor. Friendly chatty locals and a relaxed vibe the guy who was working behind the bar and serving our meals was timely polite and at the end of our meal sent us off giggling at some banter nice and full as portion sizes were great . Amazing establishment will definitely be making it the new local.
Written 31 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Trail51940404881
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 family
We visited for a Thursday lunchtime treat, and what a great meal we had. We all had the pie and it was one of the best pies ever, pastry all around and full of meat from top to bottom. The starters were very fancy. The pub has a great range of real ales, real fires and friendly service. Well worth a visit.
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

marcel m
Skegness2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Called in for dinner on Wednesday evening, and had one of the finest meals I've had in a long time, not been in the area for a long time and i understand they have a new chef at the Dog and partridge, both of us had Rib eye steak, which were really nicely cooked, Goat's cheese starter was worthy of a fine dining restaurant. Great selection of real ales, kept in top condition, the landlord really knows his stuff.(And his music). If your in the area drop in if you can, you won't be dissapointed 10/10.
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

RichAndCharl
Uttoxeter4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 couples
Tonight we had 2 steak meals from the Dog and Partridge in Marchington along with a few pints of the Uttoxeter IPA that they were very kindly offering for free for any customers ordering food (however donations were welcomed). The meals and drink were for takeaway (due to current pandemic restrictions) and we thought their menu choice was excellent and well above what most others in the area are offering currently. We have now had meals here to sit in and takeaway and can honestly say both we would highly recommend. Food was easy to order and ready on time to collect at agreed time. Friendly staff and we really enjoyed our meal. Next Monday they reopen for drinks and on the Wednesday after they will serve food (outside only for now) so we will be heading back there again soon for some more food and drinks
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim
Marchington1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 friends
We moved into the village in 2021 and have visited and dined at the Dog & Partridge a number of times since being here. We met the new owners well before they took over 2 weeks ago as there was a good handover period with the previous owner prior to this. We have eaten here twice now since the new owners fully took over and I can happily confirm that the food is just as good as ever (same chef and menu) What is refreshingly different is the much more friendly and professional approach instantly evident from the new owners compared to the previously often grumpy owner. They are really keen to ensure the pub is a pub for the local community and plan to retain all that is good about the establishment and build on this. I would like to add some balance to the previous review by MISS W (scoring 1 star). We were sat at the next table to Miss W and her mother - they arrived after our group. Yes, they were kept waiting for an unacceptable time due to the error in the loss of their order. However, the owner was profusely apologetic once the error came to light and tried to do everything to recover the situation. We heard her asking Miss W “what can I do to make things right?” She also clearly stated Miss W and her mother could have their drinks and meals free of charge. Miss W however was extremely adamant she would not allow the owner to rectify the situation and would tell her friends not to go here. Mistakes are made. The clock can’t be turned back but people should be given the opportunity to make good. Miss W and her mother missed what would have been an excellent FREE Sunday lunch. From our own experience on Sunday we would highly recommend the Dog & Partridge and wish the new owners every success.
Written 5 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road815345
This review is very much appreciated and we are trying our best, as explained in your review. We also appreciate your view regarding the person who left the one star. Thank you. R&M
Written 10 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mecropper
15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
Booked sunday lunch for four the starters were nice but took 40 mins to arrive then another.long time to get mains . My roast was nice but two of our party said their pie was over cooked but filling was nice overall the waiting will put us off returning soon
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

suedUttoxeter
Uttoxeter87 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 none
Table booked at 7:00 pm for a birthday meal . Friendly welcome,lovely ambience and interesting menu. Some tables are pretty dark, electric candles could be good. I liike to see what I am eating. Due to the popularity of the restaurant there were many walk ins and so the food took a long time to arrive. Please prioritise your booked tables. Food was good. Fresh ingredients and a tasty meal. Lots of good beer choices . We will be returning. Hostess was lovely such a change from the previous owner.
Written 11 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road815345
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you agian soon! R&M
Written 27 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rs11
Handsacre98 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
I can’t write a review about the food as we didn’t get it but service was disappointing and slow! I wanted to treat my mum for a Sunday lunch. We had booked for 2pm arrived slightly earlier by about 10 minutes and we’re shown to our table. Drinks ordered. It took a while for the waitress to take our food order. Sadly after waiting for over an hour. Still no meals. They had forgotten to put our order through and explained this was due to new owners. Sorry but this is no excuse. You should be keeping an eye on tables and making an impression if you want returning custom! We were asked if we just wanted our main meals. Sadly we were not able to wait any longer and service stopped at 4pm anyway so it was very unlikely we would be able order dessert or coffee. Really disappointing and won’t be making another visit
Written 3 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road815345
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience. We offered you and your mother free drinks and a meal as a way of apology. See review from Roam09400497378 above yours.
Written 10 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 988
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE DOG & PARTRIDGE, Marchington - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire