We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Galley Cafe

43 Kilkeel Road, Annalong, Kilkeel BT34 4TJ, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4376 7253
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good14%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (4 reviews)
“cheesecake” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
43 Kilkeel Road, Annalong, Kilkeel BT34 4TJ, Northern Ireland
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Third visit in 6 months, waited 40 mins for greasy fish and soggy chips, made excuses for last times as no place can be perfect every time. General standard below expectations, will drive on to Kilkeel in future

2  Thank PhilipWright777
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited yesterday (Saturday) 5pm. Glad we were there at that time as when we were leaving there was a queue outside. Was delighted to be able to order a small portion of Fish and Chips. Food was delicious. Mixed grill best ever tasted. Lemon meringue...More

Thank LoveMyTwoCats
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here yesterday 5th june 2017, while out for a drive with family.My wife got the cod to carry out which was very nice and very cheap.My daughter got chicken curry which was more like a nice homemade curry,with plenty of peppers and not the...More

Thank keegy1965
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As we'd been here before we thought we thought we ought to pay it another visit. The waitresses were all affable, however the service was very slow. I ordered the fish and chips and it was pleasing but it was too big. The toilets were...More

Thank Thomas L
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The food was delicious, as usual, and the staff very welcoming and efficient. Particularly impressed with Rose and Liz who made us feel very much at home and engaged in good fun chat. Had fish suppers of the highest standard followed by blackberry and apple...More

Thank Bill G
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Have been coming here for years but tonight was very disappointing fish batter was full of oil when I cut into it the oil oozed out also soggy chips weren't great either they are advertising for a new chef i wonder is that why it...More

7  Thank june b
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please accept my apologies for your disappointing meal. Who ever cooked your meal obviously didn't drain out the fish before they wrapped it which they would have known to do. No excuse for soggy chips either - sorry. Please don't let this put you off...More

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Monday evening around six while touring around I stopped at gallery. Shown to a corner seat I had to go get my sweater as it was cold.i ordered a jumbo cod on its own at 5.50. it took almost 30 minutes to arrive and could...More

4  Thank frankm654
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We always look into each and every complaint and treat them as important and constructive criticism and make sure that we make every effort to prevent the same mistakes being made. However in your case when we looked into it we agree that the kitchen...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Despite recommendations my expectations were not particularly high when visiting what I thought was a glorified fish and chip shop. I was wrong. This little restaurant while attached to a take away fish and chip shop stands on its own. We were welcomed by staff...More

Thank lynmarhunt
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We have been here before and always had the fish as it is always so fresh and delicious. This time I thought I would try something different, I chose the gammon, big mistake. It was so tough I couldn't even chew it. I tried a...More

3  Thank JosephZee
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi Joseph We are sorry you had a bad experience with us recently, however we find if these issues are raised at the time, instead of on a trip advisor review, they are easier sorted, leaving you with a better experience and a meal that...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Called here on our way home from Warrenpoint. We were seated immediately. Fish and chips here are absolutely beautiful. Staff were pleasant and we got a lovely seat beside the window overlooking the road. Would certainly recommend this place.

Thank Audrey R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cunningham's Kitchen
131 reviews
4.99 miles away
The Harbour Inn
268 reviews
.32 miles away
Top Nosh
67 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Annalong Corn Mill
40 reviews
.34 miles away
Silent Valley Mountain Park
81 reviews
4.19 miles away
Harbour Inn
13 reviews
.33 miles away
Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs
279 reviews
2.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Galley Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Kilkeel Road, Annalong, Kilkeel BT34 4TJ, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Kilkeel  >  Annalong
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4376 7253
  • E-mail
Description
Good Home Cooked Food at affordable prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and evening meals/delicious homemade desserts, tray bakes and scones. Daily specials, low fat menu, gluten free options, groups catered for by pre-order.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing