We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
+44 1675 442833
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 151: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch and first thing you notice is the quirky nice decor, great first impression. Then it goes downhill, the service is poor from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, no real welcome, untidy team on their phones continuously throughout the visit, feel like your continuously asking for extra drinks, sauces and cutlery... More 

Thank house311
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest comments. I can assure you we will be looking into the service issues you encountered , we take these issues seriously and can only apologise that this spoiled your meal. On the flip side we are glad that you enjoyed your food so much, and hope that you will return to give us another chance.... More 

Level Contributor
355 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a restaurant review, not for an overnight stay. Popular pub opposite the church in a small village with good local walks. A range of home cooked pies and croque monsieur's along with a smaller range of salads and other dishes, and a focus on main courses - one starter and no desserts. All comes with chips - again... More 

Thank SolihullRichard
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A colleague and i dined here this evening if you can call it that. My colleague had the sea board which was ok apart from the fish goujons which were soggy and tasted like mash potato rather than fish. I had the seafood linguini. The general flavour of the dish was fine but that pasta had been over cooked so... More 

Thank Aaron B
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite a wide choice of menu.. with traditional pub food and, more creative dishes.. available both at lunch time and, evenings

Thank KenFromKent
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We only called in for a drink after visiting and walking in the area bit the pub was warm and inviting, lovely locals, nice beer and a friendly atmosphere. What more could you want. We would definitely return if back in the area, the restaurant looked great aswell

Thank bigchinn
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch here for 9 people. The food was wonderful and the staff 1st class. My wife has gone as far as to say it is the best Carvery she has ever had!! and my Father in law was equally impressed which should be not be taken lightly (enough said). Thank you for a very enjoyable... More 

Thank paul19692015
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Firstly the food was late and incorrect, one plate was served 15mins after the other members of our party.We were then spoken to very rudely when we questioned the service, even accusing me of swearing at them..which I did not! When we asked for a refund I was accused of just wanting a free lunch in front of the whole... More 

Thank Maria P
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

I think your memory may be playing tricks on you, as all this happened 3 weeks ago. Yes one sandwich had been missed off the order, and yes a refund of this meal was offered which you refused. You actually did not want to pay for a round of five drinks, a bottle of prosecco and all five meals !!!... More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a delicious steak and Guinness pie with a decent pint. Good traditional pub with above average food.

Thank Rob B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Rude staff, walked out whilst a staff member was yelling at a customer when they complained of poor service.

4 Thank Bewad
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Perhaps there are two sides to every story............. More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

If you are looking for a good old country pub with restaurant this fits the bill adequately. Great couple run the place. The Sunday lunch was excellent and service good and friendly. It is very popular with the locals which possibly speaks volumes.


Travellers who viewed The White Lion Inn also viewed

Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull  >  Hampton-in-Arden
  • Phone Number: +44 1675 442833

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Lion Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?