We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huntsman Inn

2 High Street, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RN, England
+44 1392 272779
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cheesecake” (6 reviews)
“roast pork” (2 reviews)
“sandwich” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 High Street, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 90 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2014

Expected a lot from the reviews of others but felt very let down. Food bland and the veg obviously frozen which considering it is in the glorious Devon countryside was a shame. Overpriced for what we had. Would not recommend.More

Thank Dot H
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Very sorry that you felt the food was disappointing and that the veg was frozen. I don't know what dish you had but I can tell you that the only frozen vegetables that we...More

Reviewed 22 September 2014

Had another great meal at the Huntsman last week. Some new additions to the menu which we tried. Food beautifully presented and all three courses delicious. Can highly recommend. Great atmosphere in a lovely country pub. Congratulations to the chef and all the staff.

Thank CharlotteJZ1
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Many thanks for submitting such a lovely review, we look forwards to serving you again soon!

Reviewed 20 September 2014

A few minutes detour off the A30 a really good stopover on a long journey down to Cornwall. We both had a sandwich with came with a generous portion of proper chips and homemade coleslaw. Very fresh with a good amount of filling. Very friendly...More

Thank Lippy48
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us, so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Call in again soon!

Reviewed 18 September 2014 via mobile

The menu and food was lovely. The bar manager and owner were very attentive Highly recommend for good or social drink. Will be back soon....

Thank 007badger
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi there, many thanks for the great review, we always try our best in all we do and it's so nice when you get a pat on the back, cheers!

Reviewed 13 September 2014

U have to try it really gorgeous flavours, great chef asked how we would like burger cooked, which was great as we prefer it rare and boy you could take the flavour and it melted in your mouth, the pulled pork was an admired addition...More

Thank mermaid68
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thanks, perfect? How wonderful of you to say so!

Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

Seen some really good reviews on trip advisor so thought we'd try The Huntsman for Sunday Lunch after coming back to Exeter for a friend's wedding. Lovely pub, clean and full of charm and a great beer garden. Waitress was very friendly and efficient despite...More

Thank Zippy1979
Huntsmaninnide, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thanks for reviewing us. Glad that you enjoyed our Sunday roast. We think that sourcing all our food locally helps the quality and taste and keeps the old carbon footprint down. So it's especially nice when others agree! Thanks again.

Reviewed 19 August 2014

With friends we booked a table for lunch today. Only two other customers when we got there and we started to worry about the quality of our food and service. Our fears were unfounded. The bar maid/waitress took our order and it was served quickly...More

Thank Jillentone
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We found this pub by chance whilst travelling down to Cornwall and had an excellent meal. First impressions were ordinary. Limited menu. But delicious chicken supreme + rillette and garlic/roasted almond risotto. Well presented. Even better wine list - nice Chilean pinot noir and a...More

Thank bessieSurrey
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had an excellent three course meal, each course was well cooked and nicely presented.The young chef is producing food of a good standard and the manager was very friendly.

Thank Frank M
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I went to the pub for a birthday treat for family,very disappointed I had sea bass which was very small filet half fish,just a few greens and 3 new pots not very much food.also had burger in bun but cooked too much then we had...More

1  Thank PoshTreacle
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Poachers
40 reviews
.19 miles away
Frankie & Benny's
361 reviews
.99 miles away
Cowick Barton
130 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Exeter Quay
1,106 reviews
1.54 miles away
The Quay Climbing Centre
64 reviews
1.49 miles away
The Medieval Exe Bridge
15 reviews
1.43 miles away
Tucker's Hall. The Guild of Weavers, Fullers and Shearman
20 reviews
1.52 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DevonGus
John I'm a regular at the Huntsman so you may feel that what I'm about to say carries some bias. Perhaps, however my question is this: Did you say anything at the time to the staff regarding your main meal? My understanding is that you did not. Given that you found the staff friendly and amenable, given that you stayed on to have a dessert which you enjoyed (i.e. you didn't wish to finish up and get out as quickly as possible - which would have been a more understandable reaction) and given that you would have been asked whether everything was alright with your main meal; you would have had every opportunity to provide your feedback at the time and so allow the staff and management the opportunity of responding and making restitution. But you didn't. Of course everyone makes mistakes and it might be that you had every reason to find the main meal unsatisfactory; however the fact that you chose not to say anything but instead to instead provide an incongruous and unhelpful review coupled with the worst possible score, I believe says more about you the reviewer than it does about the Huntsman Inn, its food and staff.
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MalcolmC1837 | Reviewed this property |
You obviously didn't read my review, which was fair and accurate. As we only had a sandwich you are obviously confused.
0
Votes
Hydedj
29 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Brice27 | Reviewed this property |
I should ring the very friendly staff ---- as we have no dog at the moment, I couldn't be certain but it is quite tiny and cosy in there! If weather good, sitting outside is very pleasant. Sorry I can't be more help!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 High Street, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter  >  Ide
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 272779
  • E-mail
Description
Open all day from 11.00 to 23.00 Food served 12.00 to 9.00 Monday to Sat 12.00 to 8.00 sundays 16th century thatched village family run public house serving home cooked meals including fresh fish, and vegetarian options. Also available: Cask ales, wine, and a wide range of non alcoholic drinks including freshly brewed coffee and speciality teas. Dog and child friendly. Large car park and beer garden. Only 5 mins from junction 31 M5/A30.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing