We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hengist

7-9 High Street, Aylesford ME20 7AX, England
+44 1622 885800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (18 reviews)
“tasting menu” (11 reviews)
“pudding” (24 reviews)
Opens in 18 min
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7-9 High Street, Aylesford ME20 7AX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Omg been to the hengist tonight with my fiancé and I'm such a fussy eater but I have to say tonight was my most tastiest meal ever!!!! I had the Rib eye steak with a side of mushrooms, tomato and home cut chips and the...More

3  Thank Kelwatts
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review. We will look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Went for a girly lunch, food excellent, wine superb, but I will say the service was best described as "laid back", very polite and friendly but had to chase a couple of times. If you are in a hurry maybe mention that as you are...More

1  Thank Mrs_OzKent
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited on Sunday 13th August for lunch. We ordered a ploughmans and a Hengist burger from the garden menu. It took 45 mins for the food to turn up after having to chase three times and almost having to reorder. The ploughmans was not worth...More

2  Thank darylroots
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good food and service is excellent. Went for meal with friends bill came to £322 for 4 of us for 3 course meal. 2 bottles of wine and lots of G&T's

2  Thank frampmf
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for the great review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have "re-found" the Hengist lately and have had a couple of very nice meals, we therefore decided on our son's 21st that we wanted to have a nice meal for immediate family and so on a sunny Saturday we booked the Conservatory and balcony....More

2  Thank nickp662017
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear that your special celebration meal was enjoyed and a great success. We hopefully look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

A party of 14 to celebrate a birthday which overall was very enjoyable. The food was good and served in a timely fashion but unfortunately they ignored our request for a table on the ground floor due to one member of our party having mobility...More

1  Thank Su G
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are pleased to hear the food was good and that you enjoyed your over all experience with us. I am sorry that you did not get the floor you had requested, this was an error on our behalf. We would certainly have tried our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated in aylesford village kent, This place is absolutely lovely, great food atmosphere and staff are great, brilliant experience

1  Thank Mrperfect2014
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a party of 6 we all enjoyed a 3 course meal with plenty of choice for everyone on the menu. Every single course was excellent and could not be faulted. Service was excellent and the head chef Clinton also spoke to the tables; all...More

1  Thank LBW74
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you had a great experience with us and very glad to hear your enjoyed your food. Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been a few times for dinner and it has always been good. There is a nice little bar area, but it is quite small. The staff are friendly and the food is always nice and well cooked. Would recommend a visit.

1  Thank EricEssex2014
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As I walked into The Hengist, I was welcomed by lovely staff. Amazing decor with comfy sofas. Service was excellent. I would especially like to thank the red head for her attentive service, made our lunch. My friend and I went for the set menu,...More

3  Thank AlexSmith123456
Hengist R, Manager at The Hengist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the service. Many thanks

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Village Pantry
179 reviews
.02 miles away
Base Camp
46 reviews
.53 miles away
Sherlocks
207 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Red Bull
9 reviews
1.13 miles away
The King & Queen Bar
10 reviews
2.13 miles away
Leybourne Lakes Country Park
66 reviews
2.25 miles away
Adventure Kidz
34 reviews
1.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cobra4959
27 October 2015|
Answer
Response from DeborahHengist | Property representative |
Good Morning, we are situated in the historic village of Aylesford, Kent.
0
Votes
KEYSTORES
23 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Holly-Amie |
There is a set menu which is avaliable Tuesday-Thursday lunch and dinner time in the downstairs brassier restaurant. It is £15 for 2 courses and £19 for 3 courses. It also includes a glass of red, white or rosé wine... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$51
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts American Express
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7-9 High Street, Aylesford ME20 7AX, England
  • Public Transportation: 15 minutes walk from main line rail link..
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Aylesford
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 885800
  • E-mail
Description
The Hengist reopened in April 2014 following an extensive renovation. The 16th Century building still stands with orginal features and timber beams yet houses an elegant, modern restaurant and bar. As a village pub and dining rooms the Hengist offers a range of dining options including a casual dining option on the ground floor and two more formal dining rooms upstairs. We offer seasonal 'a la carte and 'set' menus along with a 'Sunday lunch' menu. All of our dishes are freshly made to order with locally sourced ingredients. Tuesday-Saturday Lunch served 12-3pm. Evening food served from 6pm. Sunday lunch served 12-5pm. Set Menu available ; 2 course £15, 3 course £19 Tuesday-Saturday lunch times. A la carte menu available Tuesday-Saturday lunch and evening.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing