We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shoe Makers Arms

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Sennybridge ££ - £££ , British,
Pentre Bach, Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8UB, Wales
+44 1874 636508
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
2 weeks ago
“New owners”
2 Feb 2017
“I found a gem”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pentre Bach, Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8UB, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We came here twice whilst staying in the area and were warmly welcomed each time by lovely hosts. The food was excellent (especially the Sunday roast!) and the landlords were very welcoming, they were also really engaging with our young children. Dog friendly too which...More

Thank Sjslfllj
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review for us-it means a lot to us and to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your two visits here.

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

After searching on Trip Advisor for somewhere different to go for food on a Sunday afternoon we stumbled across The Shoe Makers Arms - and we're so pleased we did! We were met with a warm welcome from the friendly owners who found us a...More

Thank George H
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Thank-you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will call in again. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful area.

Reviewed 17 March 2016

I would highly recommend visiting but make sure you have lunch or dinner there as well. The food is amazing, high quality, tasty with generous servings. The staff and service was great - they even gave free rice and curry to everyone in the pub...More

Thank tallguy1000
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank-you for a brilliant review-it means a lot to us and our staff. We try hard to get it right and appreciate you taking the time to write a review

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Very good experience, the lovely owners tolerated a noisy menagerie of English guys, served us cracking food in good order, sold us tasty cheap local real ale, and we're more than accommodating of our large and thirsty group. Well worth a visit!

Thank petetheloaf
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

We enjoyed your company and are pleased you had a good visit. Thank-you for your review

Reviewed 13 March 2016

Very pleasant evening in a small, friendly, village pub. Nice fire, nice people, a good real ale and all the food we had was very well cooked and tasty. Best to book ahead if you want food.

Thank Chris J
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

A lovely review-thank-you for this. Glad you said about booking as we don't want to disappoint anyone. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch on mothers day, had a warm welcome by the landlords in person. We ordered our food in front of the warm wood burner and was shown to our table just before our meal was ready. The food was great with good...More

Thank 123aledh
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank-you for saying such nice things about our pub. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 19 February 2016

My fiancée and I had a lovely meal at this pub, situated in a fairly remote location but worth the trip without question. It reminded me of a typical village pub and we were welcomed to our table by Gwyneth, the landlady. The menu was...More

Thank Rob C
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank-you for your nice review-we are so glad you enjoyed your evening

Reviewed 7 February 2016

We visited this pub in the summer holidays with our new puppy Chilli. It was the first time we had ever gone away and we're finding it tricky to find suitable places to eat. After a search on doggiepubs we headed for the Shoemakers Arms....More

Thank Emma R
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank-you so much for such a nice review. We love dogs here-they are always welcome, and their owners too! We are glad you enjoyed your meal and it was good to see you again this week. Hope the rest of your stay was good. Love...More

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the village in a beautiful holiday cottage for 2 nights. Unfortunately the pub was closed until Saturday evening as the owners had been on their annual holidays therefore we we were unable to sample the Fayre. We stayed for drinks for a...More

Thank Terry H
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank-you for the lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed the evening. Hopefully next time you come, the restaurant will be open and you can enjoy one of Salvos meals.

Reviewed 20 December 2015

Enjoyed a great meal in our local pub. We are so lucky to have Salvo and Gwyneth here and providing excellent food with an interesting and creative twist. I had the Sicilian chicken again, this time served on a bed of creamy risotto. Bellissimo! The...More

Thank Alan T
444westie, Owner at The Shoe Makers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

We were thrilled to bits to read your lovely complimentary review. We aim to please and try hard to give customers the experience we would wish for ourselves. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you soon. Have a wonderful...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Usk and Railway Inn
100 reviews
2.75 miles away
Cobblers Tea Room
19 reviews
2.75 miles away
Glanusk Cafe
42 reviews
3.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Park Visitor Centre
185 reviews
5.98 miles away
Llanwrtyd Wells Heritage and Arts Centre
11 reviews
8.67 miles away
Brecon Cathedral
307 reviews
8.72 miles away
Red Kite Feeding Station
231 reviews
9.52 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Tom R
Are you open lunchtime next Monday, (27th)?
24 April 2015|
Answer
Response from 444westie | Property representative |
Hi, We don't normally open on a weekday at lunch time. Maybe during the school holidays but as we have very little passing traffic its not really worth it. Did you particularly want a Monday lunch time? Give me a ring on... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:40 - 14:40
Monday
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pentre Bach, Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8UB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Brecon Beacons National Park  >  Sennybridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1874 636508
  • E-mail
Description
We are open every day except tuesdays. We are open for lunch and dinner. Please call us to book a table. Food is served during opening hours. We serve honest affordable food fom a sandwich to a full dinner and do sunday lunches.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing