We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Talbot

77 Watling Street | Potterspury, Potterspury NN12 7QD, England
+44 1908 760018
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good16%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“sirloin” (2 reviews)
“pie” (2 reviews)
“new managers” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
British, Vegetarian Friendly
££ - £££
77 Watling Street | Potterspury, Potterspury NN12 7QD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2015

We have family close by and used to come here a few times a year. We were last here in June and sadly it was very definitely shut down. The wen site has also gone. Not heard on the grape vine whether it has or...More

Thank HillyCirencester
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

Don't travel here guys, the place is closed down. It was pretty nice inside and the food was ok. But you will never know for yourself because it's closed. I'm trying to do one hundred characters so I can leave this review. Just wanted to...More

3  Thank Rodney H
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a groupon voucher for 4 and although the menu differed from the website one we were quite well served. The food was excellent especially the pigeon starter. The restaurant was full and had a very pleasant atmosphere. Staff were friendly and efficient. We...More

Thank Mark O
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I sat here for 2 minutes trying to think of a more helpful descriptive word but the best I can find is "Average" 2 of us stopped for lunch.This was pre-booked by telephone the day before but when we arrived there was no record of...More

5  Thank happyh65
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks you for your feedback. I believe you sat in the bar area for your meal as opposed to the restaurant. I am sorry that the table was sticky and I can only assume that you sat at a table in the bar where previous...More

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We saw the "3-course meal for two" Groupon for £19.99, and thought: "What a bargain!" Especially with the promise of a 10oz Rump steak, or better still 16oz T-Bone (the real reason I wanted to go). I looked up the Talbot menu on their website...More

6  Thank Bert_gab
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback I would firstly like to comment on your heading and say that the food is in our opinion great quality and is freshly prepared daily and we do our own baking. The management are not scammers and I agree that...More

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Decided to try a local restaurant after being told that they had a new chef in as from the 25th May and that the food was excellent and worth a try...And boy were they right!!! All the food was of high quality and obviously fresh...More

Thank jayjay c
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our new chef, George joined us last month and takes pride in his cooking and presentation. We are currently changing our menus on a regular basis so that customers who revisit will be able to try new dishes. We look...More

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had paid for and downloaded a Groupon Voucher (£19.99 for 3 Courses for Two). A very nice waitress ('Ria'?) showed us to a table for two in the corner so that one of us would be facing the wall for our meal. Don't restaurateurs...More

4  Thank R0bertP586
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Thank you for your review. Rhia is in fact our manageress. I am not sure how one of you can face the wall as I would have hoped you would be facing each other. All our tables are positioned in that way.I do not...More

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We popped in on the way home and stopped off at this lovely roadside pub. The restaurant was clean and bright, and the waitresses smile lit up the room. I had a burger which was fresh, tasty and just the right amount, and my friend...More

Thank northantsking
Jeremy C, Manager at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Thank you for your review. All our food is bought in daily for a local supplier and we do our best to offer our customers the highest possible quality. George, our head chef, takes pride in adding little touches and flavours to our food...More

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived with a nice reception from the staff, unfortunately everything else went down hill, the waitresses appearance was well under par, service terrible, starter plates left in front of us until main meal arrived, no apology, very few people in the restaurant so not because...More

4  Thank hairylenghts
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi I have just reviewed your comments and I am sorry that you found it necessary to write such a negative feedback. With regards to staff appearance, all waitresses and bar staff are issued with a uniform with the exception of Rhia, our manageress who...More

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here on Sunday for lunch with our family and were so shocked.. What a turn around. The restaurant was buzzing, the atmosphere was great. We were sat at our table promptly by a lovely waitress who made us almost feel at home here....More

Thank Katiemanley
Jeremy C, Owner at The Old Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. All our meet is sourced locally and our new chef, George, takes pride in presenting the food to the highest quality. I note your comments about the deserts and in fact...More

Nearby Restaurants
Super Sausage Cafe
834 reviews
.29 miles away
ARTea room
61 reviews
.34 miles away
The Cock
46 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Whittlebury Park - Golf Course
20 reviews
3.73 miles away
The Canal Museum
155 reviews
4.06 miles away
Milton Keynes Museum
580 reviews
4.57 miles away
Silverstone Circuit
965 reviews
4.83 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Talbot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$26
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
09:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 77 Watling Street | Potterspury, Potterspury NN12 7QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Potterspury
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 760018
  • E-mail
The Old Talbot is a family friendly community pub and restaurant on the outskirts of the Northamptonshire village of Potterspury.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing