We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$55
CUISINES
Brew Pub, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
244
190
135
80
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
244
190
135
80
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river old mill lovely location wedding venue basing house wedding reception great pub ducks loddon accommodation garden sunshine veg ale basingstoke
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Ordered 2 x Sunday Lunch - Pork + Beef. No condiments offered when food given. Asked for Apple & Horseradish sauce. Girl pointed and said "over there". Nice selection of Tomato Sauce, Mayenaise & Vinegar. I asked at the bar and the girl finally brought...the sauces we were after. The beef was very tough, the large quantity of shredded cabbage & greens were there simply to fill out the plate and the roast potatoes were possibly the worst I've tasted. Undercooked and at the moment, giving me a rather uncomfortable feeling in my stomach. I did mention the poor potatoes to the lad at the bar. His reply was "sorry, we have had complaints about them today". Obviously the complaints did not reach the cook. All very disappointing.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, General Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Andy Thank you for your feedback, really sorry to hear the potatoes were not up to standard. I will totally address this with the kitchen as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. I appreciate you feeding this back to me....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there with a group of walkers for a meal and I had a lime juice and tap water to drink. They charged me £2.05 for it which I felt was a rip off. Place looked good before that, and I had thought of taking...some friends there, but no way now.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, Digital at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your review, apologizes you feel you have been overcharged, all of our prices are competitive with surrounding business, However, I do appreciate you brining this to my attention. We like to wish you all the best! Kind Regards Colum Ryan General...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the restaurant with my family on what appeared to be a quiet evening in the bar area. We had a few questions regarding some of the menu choices, however our waiter nervously laughed explaining he didn’t know the menu at all! I would’ve...expected him at that point to maybe fetch someone that did, this wasn’t the case and our questions prior to ordering were left unanswered. Our starters arrived and we had no cutlery on the table leaving us to have to gather our own, this wasn’t a great start. A waitress then proceeded to bring out our main meals before the starters had been cleared away, leaving my family and I having to clear our own table whilst the staff behind the bar just watched- The service throughout was beyond poor! Our meals arrived and were either over or undercooked. The battered fish was hard, the noodles were swimming in oil and the salad had what I can only describe was an ‘ice cream’ flavoured chunky dressing with no freshness at all! The food was massively overpriced for the quality. I’m summary I won’t be returning for food and would advise that Barton’s Mill is now purely a pub (boozer) as opposed to a restaurant too. Overall a disappointing and embarrassing meal out!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, General Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your review, apologize to hear this, If like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me directly. Kindest Regards Colum Ryan General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you so much to all the team, especially Flo who made today a day to remember! Cannot recommend Barton’s Mill highly enough. Excellent preparation, food, service and venue! Thank you again for making today so special!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent venue with good food and pleasant staff. Good car parking facilities.An easy walk afterwards to view the remains of Basng. House.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, Digital at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Grandtour303212, Your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Iwona

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazingly beautiful place. Room was excellent and not pokey and small like a lot of places. Food at both dinner and breakfast was good. Service friendly and efficient. I stayed for business, I'm likely to take my wife for a night away soon so we...can explore the local area.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, Digital at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Say_cheese1981, Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bartons Mil. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Iwona

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a weekday lunchtime, didn’t book but got a table fairly quick inside as it was a bit chilly! Those the outside is lovely with a covered area and pub benches as well. We ordered sandwiches which came with chips and of good size....We ordered the kids meals which again was of good size and came with a pudding. All in all good quick service and a nice lunch.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, Digital at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hollyreadingberks, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bartons Mill, Old Basing! Kind Regards Colum

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for organising such a great egg hunt for Easter. Kids absolutely love it We also had great time as always. Lady called Iwona was really nice and organised. Rest of the team was great as well. Thank you!

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, Digital at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Maggiegr4822im, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am not the kind of person to write review but after what I have witnessed today I thought I had to! I was in a que with my friends and we over heard a conversation between the 2 girls behind the bar and the...group of older people. We were shocked to witness how rude the group were towards them! We felt sorry for the 2 girls. To these girls you were absolutely amazing and the way you handled the situation was great! So calm! Which if that was me I would tell them where to go...!!! You are a credit to the company! Anyway amazing food, great place to go to and great service! See you soon!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
BartonsMill, General Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

2020loving_life, thank you for your kind review, I will pass your comments to my team. We're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

I visited the venue with my mum and daughter for a wedding. We got there early to have some lunch, and the food was very nice. The staff are also really friendly and helpful, and it was a beautiful venue for a wedding. Our room...was nice, we would def visit again.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
BartonsMill, General Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Sulli13, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bartons Mill, Old Basing! We're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! We hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Iwona

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Village Hotel Basingstoke
228 reviews
.94 miles away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke, an IHG Hotel
446 reviews
1.07 miles away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
538 reviews
1.54 miles away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke, an IHG hotel
551 reviews
1.78 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Teagether
47 reviews
.30 miles away
The Bolton Arms
371 reviews
.38 miles away
The Crown at Old Basing
608 reviews
.22 miles away
The Cromwell Inn Indian Cuisine
218 reviews
.31 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Basing House
106 reviews
.28 miles away
Crabtree Plantation
47 reviews
.71 miles away
Basingstoke Common
11 reviews
.45 miles away
Millfield Nature Reserve
11 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ivorl188
3 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Willow247 | Reviewed this property |
Yes,I think so, just a little ridge as you go in the pub. All flat access outside.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bartons Mill

Yes, Bartons Mill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Bartons Mill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5