We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Princess Royal

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Guildford Road, Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
441252782243
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only seconds from the A31 but in a quiet and rural setting, The Princess Royal delivers a country pub feel with an excellent menu. Meeting a friend for lunch we chose it as a convenient midpoint venue. We were both impressed by the location and the setting. The service was friendly and the menu choice good. I would definitely visit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank weener2015
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good morning I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the location and setting and found the menu to have a good choice. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager More 

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As part of a 40th birthday celebration weekend we booked a table for 18 people for Sunday lunch. This was booked in advance and the numbers were known to the staff. It was meant to be a special occasion as some members of the party were coming to surprise the birthday boy. We had a large table arranged in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheep_green
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologise that did not have a pleasant dining experience with us recently. It appears that there was a break down of communication when you were all ordering separately which has lead to your food being delivered at various times along with the confusion with some of your... More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Meeting a friend in Farnham I wanted somewhere that if one of us arrived early we wouldnt mind sitting alone in a pub. We chose the Princess Royal for that reason. We had a very nice meal, I am quite difficult to please and often leave a restaurant thinking it could be better, so though I cant say it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill S
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good morning Gill, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to our pub. We do pride ourselves with how welcoming and the standard of customer service the staff have. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards Molly Deadman Assistant Manager More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

If you are staying or eating in the Farnham area, don't look further than this place! Food was good and hot. Good range of beers too.

Helpful?
Thank TudorEdward
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good morning Edward Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal whilst dining with us recently and found us to have a good range of beers. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic room...lovely staff...lovely food...lovely setting...bed very comfortable. Room very modern and clean...well organised...defiantly recommended and will be back 💞

Helpful?
Thank amanda l
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good morning Amanda Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us about your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you had a lovely stay and that you found the rooms to be clean and modern. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017

From past experience I thought it would be worthwhile travelling 35 miles to meet up here with a friend for lunch. But I was wrong. Firstly they'd run out of crisps and other packet snacks. How can a large pub in a national chain run out of snacks? Does the manager not notice stocks getting low and, if necessary, can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olefart1
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at the Princess Royal. We have had to change supplier for our crisps down to Fullers demand, meaning all the pubs also have to do this. We were allocated the delivery time for today (Friday 10th,) so we could not change the date. I am sorry we didn't... More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We visited as a party of 6 on a Monday evening. Large dining room to ourselves though the pub part was busier. We appreciated the friendly and attentive service and lack of any rush or "pushiness". The food was very good, portions generous and delivered quickly enough to prevent any moaning from the younger members of the group. I wish... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeSurreyLife
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mike, Thank-you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Princess Royal. We do pride ourselves in the standard of our food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Molly Deadman Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Staff are always helpful and food is good. Popular pub, always gets busy so I would recommend making a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank J M
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank-you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Princess Royal. It is always advised to make a reservation, especially at weekends, to avoid disappointment. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Molly Deadman - Assistant Manager More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Had a bad Sunday roast beef last time we came in the summer, they kindly send a voucher encouraging us to have another go, so we did and nothing has changed, they roast sirlion beef on the menu at £15.95 so not especially good value, however that does not matter if you get what you pay for, I even asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank swoody_11
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your roast. We do pride ourselves in the standard of food we send out and always like to make sure the customer enjoys it. With the roast beef we always cook it to medium, so it doesn't turn tough. This way we can make sure all customers are... More 

Frensham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I visited this restaurant with a crowd of friends. The food appeared to have been rustled up straight from the microwave. The mashed potato was suspiciously smooth and the ox cheek, which I ordered, turned up on my plate looking like a heap of stewed steak. Most of us complained that the food was too highly salted. However the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickie K
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this review

Good afternoon Vickie, Thank-you for your review firstly, however I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. I can ensure you our food is all cooked to order and we use fresh produce. I am sorry that the ox cheeks came out not looking how it should, as I do like to think we pride ourselves in... More 

Travellers who viewed The Princess Royal also viewed

 
Tilford, Farnham
 

Been to The Princess Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Guildford Road, Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Farnham  >  Runfold
  • Phone Number: 441252782243

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Princess Royal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?