We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Princess Royal

) #3 of 3 Restaurants in Runfold ££ - £££ , British,
Guildford Road, Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
+44 1252 782243
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (4 reviews)
“fries” (2 reviews)
“ice cream” (2 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 20:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Guildford Road, Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

Staff are always helpful and food is good. Popular pub, always gets busy so I would recommend making a reservation.More

Thank J M
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Good Morning, Thank-you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Princess Royal. It is always advised to make a reservation, especially at weekends, to avoid disappointment. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Molly Deadman -...More

Reviewed 23 January 2017

Had a bad Sunday roast beef last time we came in the summer, they kindly send a voucher encouraging us to have another go, so we did and nothing has changed, they roast sirlion beef on the menu at £15.95 so not especially good value,...More

Thank swoody_11
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Good afternoon, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your roast. We do pride ourselves in the standard of food we send out and always like to make sure the customer enjoys it. With the roast beef we always cook it to...More

Reviewed 18 January 2017

I visited this restaurant with a crowd of friends. The food appeared to have been rustled up straight from the microwave. The mashed potato was suspiciously smooth and the ox cheek, which I ordered, turned up on my plate looking like a heap of stewed...More

Thank Vickie K
Tania Irwin I, Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Good afternoon Vickie, Thank-you for your review firstly, however I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. I can ensure you our food is all cooked to order and we use fresh produce. I am sorry that the ox cheeks came out...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Meet a few friends here for a drink before going elsewhere for dinner. What a great pub, nice atmosphere and friendly staff.More

Thank Linda M
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Good afternoon Linda Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit with us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your drink with us and found the atmosphere nice and the team friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for the first time this year, had a very good pint of fullers HSB beer, the fire was alight and the atmosphere was warming and very pleasant. Although we did not eat the food coming from the kitchen looked delicious and smelt incredible....More

Thank stevedonkey62
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Good morning Steve It is lovely to hear that you had a pleasant visit with us recently and found the staff and atmosphere welcoming. We hope to see you again soon and that you dine with us next time. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights. Building is old but they renovated it well. Airco was making lots of noise but for the rest it was ok. Only milk in mini fridge but the pub is only few steps away. Kitchen is ok but don't expect...More

Thank Christophe L
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Good evening Christopher Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. Apologies that you found the air con to be making lots of noise as they were all recently serviced and should be no louder than a standard unit....More

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Booked a table for 4 in bar area, on arrival had to ask for menus nobody informed us we had to order at the bar. When the starters arrived two soups ok but the pate arrived without butter and quiet small. Our friends ordered mussels...More

Thank Richy19S
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Good evening Richard Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us about your recent meal with us. I believe I have already responded to the same review but if you would like to contact me on princessroyal.manager@fullers.co.uk if I haven't I...More

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We meet friends twice a year half way between where we both live for a good meal and a catch up on all our news. Our Pate started must have come from a local supermarket, very tasteless and no butter with the toast. What a...More

Thank Adrian B
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Good afternoon Adrian Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologise that you found your recent dining experience with us to be disappointing. Myself and my chef have had regular comments about how nice the mussels and the pate which is...More

Reviewed 19 November 2016

Breakfast is included with a hotel stay. There was a large choice of hot and cold items, I chose the full English and it was superb. The evening meal offered choices I was unaccustomed to (Ox cheek !!!) was one, but there were plenty of...More

Thank Larry W
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Good afternoon Larry I am pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us recently and that you enjoyed your meals with us. We hope to see you again should you be in the area. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Met family here for late lunch. We just had coffee, nice and hot,pleasant quiet secluded atmosphere. Ideal for private conversation. Will return to try food menu soon.

Thank TableCrow
Tania Irwin I, General Manager at The Princess Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Good evening I am pleased that you enjoyed your coffee stop with a recently and that you found the atmosphere pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again and to you sampling our menu. Kind regards Tania Irwin, General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bears at Packhouse
150 reviews
.54 miles away
Kei's
203 reviews
.36 miles away
Cafe Fig
78 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Crown Inn
9 reviews
.55 miles away
The Packhouse
114 reviews
.52 miles away
The Antiques Warehouse
51 reviews
.30 miles away
Bourne Mill Antiques Centre
61 reviews
.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Princess Royal staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Guildford Road, Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Farnham  >  Runfold
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 782243
  • E-mail
Description
The blissful break away you deserve, The Princess Royal and its 27 sumptuous bedrooms will provide you with the perfect place to unwind in leafy Farnham. So whether you’re dropping by for a short stay or a long lunch, you’ll drink, dine and even doze in welcome comfort.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing