We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cumin Club

95 Hambalt Road, Clapham, Bedford SW4 9EQ, England
+44 20 8675 2337
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good8%
  • Average0%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible43%
1 Jul 2017
“Excellent take-away!”
15 Apr 2017
“tasty stuff”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Fast food, Asian, Grill, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Halal
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
95 Hambalt Road, Clapham, Bedford SW4 9EQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I ordered takeaway from Cumin Club last night and it was excellent: * Food arrived earlier than anticipated * Food was hot * Free poppadoms * Rich and tasty chicken tikka masala * Interesting (in a good way) lemon and cashew rice...More

Thank LilyE79
SaifChy, Manager at Cumin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi LilyE79, Thank you for your comments, means a lot to the team. We are only a small local family run takeaway and can't afford to make mistakes. ( we will work on the soggy somosa's). Ask for Raj next time you call/come in and...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

I don't know whether they've changed their chef but we've really enjoyed the last 2 takeaways we had. We'd been disappointed a couple of years ago but this time it was lovely. Chicken dhansak, chicken tikka and nan all tasty and satisfying.More

Thank dadmum2kids
SaifChy, Manager at Cumin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi DadMum2Kids, Thank you for your comments. We have made changes to our staff and kitchen equipment in the past few months. We Could see that the standard had dropped and our chef was not with it anymore but was tough trying to get good...More

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Just ordered BUTTER CHICKEN which is one of my favourite Indian Dishes, it was really disappointing, except the coconut you cannot feel any other taste. The white rice was sticky and not fluffy. Only the Aloo Sag was not too bad specially when i added...More

1  Thank mostafa l
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Really bland and tasteless food. Seems the chefs haven't been taught about basic seasoning, let alone how to use spices to flavour a dish. The vegetables in our biryani were frozen peas and carrots (couldn't stretch to chop up fresh veg) and one potato -...More

Thank Anna C
SaifChy, Manager at Cumin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Anna, we have taken on board what you had said and made the relevant changes. We could see that our standards had dropped and needed to make changes quickly. At that time of year and trying to get the right staff was not easy....More

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway from Cumin Club last week - it arrived fairly quickly and was still warm when I opened it. While the portions were generous, the curry was an extremely odd colour and was rather bland. Wouldn't use again.More

Thank CastleRanger
SaifChy, Manager at Cumin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Castle Ranger, we have taken on board what you had said and made the relevant changes. We could see that our standards had dropped and needed to make changes quickly. At that time of year and trying to get the right staff was not...More

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Possibly the worst Indian takeaway we have ever had. We ordered meat and veg samosas, both were soggy and undercooked and under seasoned. The tandoori, the paneer especially which is purported to be marinated in spices was so bland it lacked salt, it was supposedly...More

Thank CathKumar
SaifChy, Manager at Cumin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cath, we have taken on board what you had said and made the relevant changes. We could see that our standards had dropped and needed to make changes quickly. At that time of year and trying to get the right staff was not easy....More

Reviewed 30 November 2015

The food (chicken korma and nan and chicken biriani) arrived cold. The nan was tiny but the other portion sizes were generous. The chicken korma was a very unappetising toxic yellow colour like artificial custard and was bland and tasteless. The biriani was similarly bland...More

Thank Mikepettet
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Found the Cumin Club quite by chance through using the Just Eat takeaway website over the past three years. The cumin club has become our first place of choice now for anything Indian. I have become completely addicted to their wonderful King Prawn Jalpai Curry....More

1  Thank Steve A
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This place is really good. The locals said there was only one indian in the area so i had no choice but it was one of the best currys ive had. I will recommend to try the goan fish curry and the murgh masala. Found...More

1  Thank SadekChow
Reviewed 7 April 2015

One of the worst Indian takeaways I have had the misfortune to eat. Ordered a prawn curry - it was cold, had only three prawn and was the bland tomato-based masala used for all their curries, just with added desiccated coconut. Also ordered a hot...More

Thank Leila F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Bonne Heure
187 reviews
.10 miles away
May The Fifteenth
143 reviews
.07 miles away
Pizzeria On The Green
179 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clapham
22 reviews
.46 miles away
Venn Street Market
5 reviews
.56 miles away
Cactus Kitchens
43 reviews
.56 miles away
Tour de Force London
45 reviews
.35 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul M
26 March 2017|
Answer
Response from SaifChy | Property representative |
Hi Paul, we get really good orders from Justeat and repeat customers. Customers that order through Justeat can leave a review but on TripAdvisor you can leave a review regardless if you order or not. What you get is your... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Cuisine
Indian, Fast food, Asian, Grill, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Halal
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95 Hambalt Road, Clapham, Bedford SW4 9EQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford  >  Clapham
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8675 2337
Description
In the last eight years since opening, Cumin Club has established itself as one of the finest Indian takeaways in South London, wining accolades for its delicately spiced and aromatic dishes, fresh ingredients (free from artificial colourings or preservatives) and friendly service.
Our diverse menu reflects all the major regions in India; however its defining characteristic is the use of fresh herbs.

EVERY ORDER COMES WITH FREE COMPLIMENTARY POPADOMS AND CHUTNEY
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing