We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
This year we have the unique privilege to be THE ONLY pub in England in the National Garden Societies Yellow Book. We welcome you to enjoy our fares and beautiful gardens.
PRICE RANGE
£4 - £15
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (237)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
99
80
28
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
99
80
28
17
12
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

Just had lunch at the Blacksmith’s Arms and it was faultless. Pleasant, attentive staff with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I had Scampi & chips which was cooked to perfection, in fact it was the best I’ve ever had. I highly recommend the lemon roulade for...dessert too. Will definitely be returning again in the future and hopefully the sun will be shining next time to sit in their beautiful garden. This was a great pub when I used to go there 30 years ago and still doesn’t disappoint.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

7 of us went here on Saturday, 2 kids and a 1 year old. Emily and Chloe were incredible, not just as servers but with the kids as well. On top of that the food was delicious, all of the meat fell apart without being...cut and my lasagna was perfect both in portion size and taste. Very reasonable prices for all the meals, around £14. Can’t wait to go againMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

We booked a table and we arrived on time. We ordered a drink then sat down. We were given the menu which had very little choice on it. I noticed on their website the prices have gone up in price. The roast dinner was advertised...at 13.00. The menu I was given the roast was 16.00. It wasn't mentioned that the prices had changed. I was hungry so decided to just order. We waited a very long time for our meals to arrive in fact we had to order another drink. I chose turkey roast which said red cabbage and cranberry sauce. I was looking forward to it, thought at 16.00 it will be amazing. After waiting a very long time my dinner came out. It wasn't what was described on the menu. It had completely different veg to what the menu said. There was no explanation. I cut the potato which wasn't cooked I touched the inside of the potato and it was stone cold. The rest of the meal was also cold. Couldn't believe id waited so long to be served a plate of cold food. I sent it back got no apology just another one which came out within minutes , peas missing but peas were on the first meal. I certainly wasn't impressed By this time I was starving I just wanted to eat and go. I wouldn't reccomend this pub the food isn't anything special and it's very expensive. I was shocked that a plain jacket potato cost 6.00 absolutely priced too high.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2022

I have never done this sort of thing before,but I felt I must. Myself and 5 friend s with our partner s decided to visit the Blacksmiths on Sunday. We duly arrived and was greeted with big smile and taken to our table. My husband...ordered a round of drinks plus wine for dinner for our friend's, this was executed relative ease and in a timely manner. We all ordered roast dinners as we are all matured adults ...in other words OLD AND SET IN OUR WAYS !! We had a mixture of Beef and Lamb, across our table with an allotment of vegetables. We couldn't fault it !!! YOU COULD TASTE HOW FRESH IT WAS !!! Four individuals decided to have desserts, of which our very attentive waitress by the name of Hedi gave us the choices of the day. My husband and I opted for the chocolate orange cheesecake along with my close friend , her husband had the apple strudel either custard. The young lady returned, to the kitchen to what I can only describe as a rapturous applause , cheering some booing and a lot of laughter was herd . When she returned to our table to I felt compelled to ask her what the applause was for, she told us that two chefs had decided to have a competition and who ever sold the most of the dessert they had made would be king of the desserts for the day . So we had chef strudel and chef cheesecake and with the purchase of our 3 cheesecake s on table chef cheesecake was the winner. Well we can honestly say that the cheesecake was one of the best I've ever eaten , you can tell when these are bought in and this was clearly HOME MADE as well as the apple strudel !!!! This was our first visit but will most certainly not be the last. My husband and I have decided to bring our older children for a family meal and can't wait to return. Keep up the good work Mr Owner whoever you are, and as for your chefs please keep the competition healthy , as for chef cheesecake simply the best . A big thank you to you all for making our first time at the blacksmiths a remarkable and enjoyable one.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2022 via mobile

Due to an influx of larger groups just before we sat down, the service was slow and not all of the menu was available. The food was typical of a pub and a good standard although pastry on apple pie was seriously undercooked.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2021

Hi went yesterday with The Ryes and it was brilliant. Its the best pub around 2 lovely menus and the menu and the food is amazing. Staff always smiling in this difficult time. Been to quiet a few old pubs in the area and Blacksmiths...is the best by far. Nigel Farage lives locally and frequents now and again [don`t let that put you off ] George and his wife had been there years and left about 3 years ago but the new owners are every bit as popular and friendly and helpful. Beautiful Gardens too and a amazing floral display in summer for which they have won many prizes !!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

This is lovely country pub with friends/family. We have been many times over years for a drink. We went for Sunday roast. £15 for what I can only describe as a tiny, tasteless meal. Tiny frozen Yorkshire. A slither of meat. Tiny portion of vegetables...and gravy. All seems out of a packet. If it was £9, I could get it but £15? A lot better places around for Sunday lunch for that money and less.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

Even with a confirmation email, our online reservation wasn't in the book. The young lady didn't fret but fitted us in (had we arrived an hour or so later we wouldn't have been so lucky) but I felt we'd been squashed into a corner seat....Oddly starters aren't served on Sundays (surely thats when you want a 3 course meal?) which was a shame because we'd been looking forward to the pate starter we'd had previously. My husband had the roast lamb but neither of us could decide if it was infact lamb or beef. He wasn't given mint sauce and we both thought the portion was a little on the small side. Online it says the roast is £13 but it was £14.95 I had the crab topped with grated egg. The crab and the salad was very nice but the egg didn't really work. The lemon cheesecake dessert was average. My husband enjoyed his chocolate fudge cake with custard. The staff were friendly and the food was nice but in future we'll ring to make a booking and go during the week so we can have a starter.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Had a lovely time this evening. Well looked after by the bar staff and felt very covid safe. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

this is a lovely pub with beautiful outside surroundings. The food we ordered we were a little disappointed with, the ham and cheese omelette was greasy so was the hunters chicken. How ever the salmon parcels for starters were lovely, the fish and chips were...good.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces796686, Marketing at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

I am sorry your omelette was greasy but are you certain you have the right pub. As we don’t serve Hunter chicken??

Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

It is difficult to believe the delightful rural village of Cudham with its cricket ground and ancient churchyard is only 14 miles from the centre of London as the crow flies and is within the boundary of Greater London. At its heart is The Blacksmiths...Arms, a fine seventeenth century pub. Standard pub menu with efficient waitresses serving at the speed of Novak Djokovic, food well cooked and presented and VFM. Friendly and unpretentious. Has its own car park plus there is free parking along the road at the Recreation Ground. Highly recommended but unsurprisingly popular, so booking at weekend lunchtimes necessary.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Booked in for lunch with friends on a cold and miserable midsummer’s day, but the welcome was anything but. We all had the well-kept Harvey’s best bitter and the haddock ‘n’ chips. The fish was cooked to absolute perfection; beautiful quality fish and a superb...light and flavoursome crispy batter. No skimping on the portions either! It really cheered up a miserable day. Great to see the staff taking such a pride in their local pub.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Came here for lunch, nice friendly staff, service was ok, food was nice, I was paying my bill by card and had got some cash out ready for the tip, however I then saw on the bill that service charge had been added already, I...didn’t have an issue with this at the time but it wasn’t until later I realised this was way over top, my actual food and drink bill was around £42 but the actual bill I paid was £54 service charge was just under £12 I make this almost 30%!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces796686, General Manager at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Hi The bill in question was put to one side as the manager thought this might be the case. Your bill was £48.80 with 10% service charge as the staff are going above and beyond the call of duty at the moment we don’t think...More

Reviewed 27 April 2021

I bet you’ve found like us that too many pubs even after several months when they could be preparing for reopening have failed spectacularly to deliver any kind of service. Not so with the Blacksmiths Arms. This is a traditional pub with no frills located...in a rural part of Bromley. However, the landlord has used the time to plan and prepare to ensure that he gets things right when the pubs reopened. He has fully utilised the large garden by setting up plenty of seating (some under cover) and installed a decent sized and well stocked outside bar. Add to the mix plenty of well trained bar staff during a busy Sunday lunchtime you have a winning formula. Good basic pub food is available including all the favourites such as fish and chips, roasts and sandwiches. We ordered sandwiches and within 20 minutes they arrived. Our food was great and from the reaction we saw from other dinners, so was theirs. Finally, the pub had a good mix of people and a nice welcoming atmosphere, but I guess the sunny weather may have helped! Well worth calling in after a countrside walkMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

I’ve always loved the Blacksmith Arms, but haven’t been for a couple of years Popped in today for a late lunch after a long walk, I had cheese and bacon burger , hubby had fish and chips and kids had chicken nuggets , chips and...beans. 4 empty plates and 4 very satisfied tummy’s Our waitress was wonderful, friendly and helpful. We will be back soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Days Inn by Wyndham Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
193 reviews
3.62 miles away
Donnington Manor Hotel
750 reviews
3.96 miles away
Best Western London Heathrow Ariel Hotel
88 reviews
4.89 miles away
The Manor at Bickley
325 reviews
5.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Aperfield Inn
851 reviews
1.47 miles away
Dakshin Indian Cuisine
96 reviews
1.49 miles away
Queens Head
213 reviews
1.45 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Blacksmith's Arms Bar
5 reviews
.10 miles away
Home of Charles Darwin - Down House
779 reviews
1.21 miles away
Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
1,049 reviews
1.72 miles away
Willows Bird of Prey & Wildlife Trail
166 reviews
1.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
johnsusan2016
14 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SevenoaksSinjun | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I believe they're open Monday evening.
0
Votes
Karen J
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from gillians216 | Reviewed this property |
Yes. There’s also another car park at the recreation ground just a few steps from the pub if it’s full.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BLACKSMITHS ARMS, Cudham - Cudham Lane South - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Blacksmiths Arms

The Blacksmiths Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4