We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thai China - CLOSED

- Best Western Roker Hotel Roker Terrace | Best Western Roker Hotel, Sunderland SR6 9ND, England
+44 191 567 1786
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible7%
19 Oct 2015
“Poetic Licence - Substandard experience”
18 Oct 2015
“shocking food and service”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Brew Pub, Pub, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
- Best Western Roker Hotel Roker Terrace | Best Western Roker Hotel, Sunderland SR6 9ND, England
All Details
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2015

Service and hospitality terrible. Table wasn't ready despite it being a week day night. Kebabs a let down, lamb tough and fries dripping in grease. Table far too small for 7 people. No skill to the cooking. It's simple food done badly.

Thank RUTH71_12
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Not sure what's happening with the Roker hotel & the management of their restaurants, but we tried Let their be Crumbs when it first opened and it was lovely, went back this year & it had really gone downhill, and it seems the same has...More

Thank dawn_chorus1
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This place has had a few names and a few revamps but this time they may have hit on a winning formula. Both the food and drinks menus have good choices with everything from burgers to pasta and pizza and beers to cocktails. Find a...More

Thank Emma A
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Many times I have used this hotel and restaurant until this week being a disaster. Tuesday on pasta night we ordered a spaghetti bolognaise which we were told the chef maybe too busy to cook it. Eventually we were told yes we can do it...More

Thank David C
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I visited with my partner and need I say the least it was terrible I received the wrong starter The waiter just blanked us throughout the night. I don't know if it was cause we were young or same sex couple but the blank looks...More

Thank Memery1991
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The place has a high finish of decore , a really classy feel. service is quiet good but the standard of food lets it down. A lot of catching up on its neighbour restaurant Italia.

2  Thank Damian R
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This was my favourite Thai food I had tasted. The portions were huge and the price was well affordable. I'm gutted it's closed, we have enough Italians in Sunderland but not enough Thai places to eat. Bring it back I say.....More

Thank livelifetothemax1
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry for your disappointment. I must agree with your comments, however, we took the decision to close Thai China and revert the space into a function suite. The demand for function space has intensified and we...More

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Booked a table for 5 of us as it was my sons birthday. Arrived promptly at 7 pm. We ordered a mixture of banquets and meals. Soups arrived, the hot and sour prawn soup contained 1 prawn per bowl! Starters of thai fish cakes, rather...More

1  Thank Mumski_13
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the experience that you encountered. We pride ourselves on the high level of food standards and customer service we provide all of our guests. Sadly it appears that we have failed to achieve...More

Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Thai China Restaurant closes it’s doors 18th Feb 2013. My husband and I have spent the last 2years dining in this superb restaurant. Also taking advantage of the fantastic Dinner B&B deal. However, Im afraid we won’t be returning as we only ever booked...More

Thank JoseyJosey
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such kind words about our restaurant and also for your loyal custom over the last two years. The demand for smaller functions within our business meant that we could not facilitate these due to only having one larger function room....More

Reviewed 3 February 2013

We've just had another very good roast dinner as always, would definitely recommend this restaurant, it was very busy but the staff were efficient and friendly

Thank Angela T
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have had another excellent visit to our restaurant for our Traditional Sunday Carvery. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kindest regards Mr Keith Donkin Director Tavistock Leisure Ltd

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cliff
141 reviews
.30 miles away
The Mad Hatter
150 reviews
.59 miles away
The Scullery Pier Point
213 reviews
.26 miles away
Bistro by the Sea
78 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Roker & Seaburn Beaches
624 reviews
.07 miles away
National Glass Centre
661 reviews
.80 miles away
Roker Park Conservation Area
71 reviews
.20 miles away
St Peter's Church
48 reviews
.83 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Cuisine
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:59
Monday
17:00 - 23:59
Thursday
17:00 - 23:59
Friday
17:00 - 23:59
Saturday
17:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: - Best Western Roker Hotel Roker Terrace | Best Western Roker Hotel, Sunderland SR6 9ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Sunderland
  • Phone Number: +44 191 567 1786
  • E-mail
Description
This Modern Pub, serves a blend of street food and traditional soul food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing