We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prior sunderland

) #167 of 348 Restaurants in Sunderland ££ - £££ , British,
1 Moorside Road, Sunderland SR3 2SW, England
+44 191 528 0098
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Moorside Road, Sunderland SR3 2SW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We live nearby so have visited here a few times with and without the kids - the children's menu goes down very well! No kids today so we decided to walk over for a couple of drinks and a peaceful Sunday dinner. My husband ordered...More

Thank Marie S
Reviewed 18 February 2017

As much as i would like to support local eaterys unfortuneatlythis one falls short .I had fish & chips , which is the special on a friday & my fish batter was under cook & the chips looked tired . I left the batter open...More

Thank Edward-Mitchinson
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Came here to try it and will definitely be returning. Staff were friendly and prices are very reasonable! Me and my partner got "2 Courses for £6.95" I had Nachos to start which was more than enough for one person so we shared. As mains,...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Decided to call in the pub as we were passing. The food is proper pub food and the portions are a good size. Food was excellent. The fresh chips were cooked just right and were a lovely golden brown colour. The fish was cod, not...More

Thank dezplews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I love The Prior as it is my local pub and the staff are so friendly, but it really bugs me that the chef just can't cook chips! They are a lovely golden brown, but rock hard potato inside! I even ordered sweet potato chips...More

1  Thank Nicola C
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We ve moved near here and decided to pop in with family after a christening. .glad we did...lovely friendly pub..staff are a credit to the place,very welcoming..food is lovely and so reasonable...food is served quickly and piping hot and the place is spotless.. we enjoyed...More

1  Thank joanne2724
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and me decided to pop out for our tea and thought we'd go to the Prior. I ordered a beef burger called "Chill Chill Bang Bang" and my wife ordered fish and chips. Arrived quick, hot and really tasty. Cost just under £20...More

2  Thank jason h
sweir24, Owner at Prior sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Prior. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Very average pub food. Quality of food is poor. Everything appears to be frozen and pre prepared by outside companies. On the plus side; the chips are home made.More

Thank Ivor L
sweir24, Owner at Prior sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Thank you for your review, I am however unsure where you have got your information from regarding our food. Over 90% of our dishes are not frozen and are fresh. Our meat is fresh from a local butcher, our veg is fresh from a local...More

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We decided after all not to eat here as it looks a little scruffy and has most definitely seen better days. As you walk in from the car park you see the garden of cigarette ends next to the loose decking and badly painted exterior....More

Thank Expatmackem
sweir24, Owner at Prior sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for your recent review, however, I must disagree with you regarding the pub exterior looking scruffy & the interior looking sad. I have uploaded some photos that I took today (05/07/16) to show that the pub is not as you describe.

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Two course for £6.95. Great simply pub food that does what it says on the tin, and doesn't break the bank. Not a lot more I can say. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Nigel O
sweir24, Owner at Prior sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Nigel, thanks for your recent review - glad you enjoyed your visit to the Prior and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Deli & Dips
88 reviews
.94 miles away
Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill
235 reviews
.90 miles away
Oak Tree Farm Pub Restaurant
762 reviews
.40 miles away
Santa Maria's
111 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Penshaw Monument
281 reviews
2.63 miles away
Down at the Farm
202 reviews
1.16 miles away
Herrington Country Park
474 reviews
2.50 miles away
Sharpley Golf Club
19 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Prior sunderland staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Moorside Road, Sunderland SR3 2SW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Sunderland
  • Phone Number: +44 191 528 0098
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing