We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Plough Lane | Downside, Cobham KT11 3LT, England
+44 1932 589790
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good23%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (52 reviews)
“wagyu” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Plough Lane | Downside, Cobham KT11 3LT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Not much more to add to the title. The food is fine. Nothing special. The prices are far too high. Better food and places nearby.More

Thank Journeyman78
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Journeyman78, Thank you for providing comments on your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear your experience was not up to the high standards our customers have come to expect and regularly enjoy. We are known for our quality food in the local and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delightful pub, tucked away in Cobham. Friendly staff, a decent gin and some delicious cocktails. However it's the steak that makes this place. Our table had fillet, t bone and ribeye all equally delicious, cooked to perfection. Only things that let it down were 1....More

Thank Bombay_and_tonic2014
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Bombay_and_tonic2014, Thank you for providing this review of our restaurant I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. My sincerely apologies on the lack of elderflower tonic, I am unsure as to why this has...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here recently with my husband for a rare date night after being recommended by a friend. We were not disappointed. Service was top notch, the T-Bone steak was amazing, and the cocktails were excellent. We will definitely be returning and recommend to all.More

Thank taylapilgrim
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi taylapligrim, Thank you for your recent review of The Plough Inn. I appreciate you and your husband choosing us for your date night location and am glad we did not disappoint. Our T-Bone is one of our most proud dishes and never fails to...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start......starters were appalling, ale was off, wrong wine put on the table, fawlty towers style table service! Main course very average. Overpriced and under performs. Even wanted to put 30 pounds on the bill for service charge! Avoid in my opinion! Others...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for providing a review of our restaurant. I have recently taken over as General Manager at The Plough Inn and am very disappointed to read about your experience; for me nothing is worse than an off ale, or the wrong wine!...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked The Plough Inn for a large table of 16 people on a Monday lunchtime. As there were so many of us we had to pre-order, which was no problem. The food surpassed all expectations and was delicious!! The service from the waiting team...More

Thank timefortea2017
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Timefortea2017, Thank you very much for letting us know about the enjoyable time you and your 15 guests had with us when you visited a few weeks ago. I am happy to hear you had such a wonderful time with us and that the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in here for lunch after looking online for local pubs that looked nice. The Plough fitted the bill so we too the gamble and I'm glad we did. The interior is very warm and welcoming, much like the staff. More importantly, the food...More

Thank RichardMPeters
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear RichardMPeters, Thank you for providing this review, we are very happy to hear that you consider us a unique pub and that our food left you more than satisfied. We are very proud of our cleanliness and are very appreciative that you noticed the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered bottle of prosecco as thought the English sparkling wine was expensive Didn't find out till the bill came that it was exactly the same price If I had known that or it had been pointed out I would have chosen that Outrageous I wasn't...More

3  Thank Jane B
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jane B, Thank you for providing a review of your experience at The Plough Inn at the beginning of September, I have recently taken over as General Manager here and have been analyzing recent feedback and TA reviews to help me in developing the...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Interesting to read the negative comments and I guess that sometimes, everywhere has a bad 'night/day'. However, not for us! We arrived around 8pm on a Tuesday evening and there was a table available. Sam who clearly is magical and a great asset to the...More

5  Thank Shelley G
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a table at the Plough Firstly it took 30 minutes to park When we were shown to the table the noise was ridiculous There was a door left open to the outside bins, the draught was terrible We asked for the door to...More

Thank 42holiday
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This sleek smart restaurant is hardly a pub at all. The décor and furnishings are almost too good to be true, however much I loved the old pub there is no going back. Four of us plus a small boy had an excellent lunch. Each...More

Thank lizandianp
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ivy Cobham Brasserie
197 reviews
.37 miles away
The Cricketers
342 reviews
.68 miles away
Fego
171 reviews
.54 miles away
The Running Mare
339 reviews
.51 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Painshill Park
404 reviews
.85 miles away
Medicine Garden
148 reviews
.07 miles away
Cobham Mill
10 reviews
.45 miles away
St Andrews Church
7 reviews
.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elis D
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hanesor | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the late reply. There is a small garden.
0
Votes
Eileenbrown
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from mazzzzza | Reviewed this property |
Yes, dogs welcome outside, and in bar area(where you can eat as well) but maybe not in actual restaurant part inside. Staff like dogs very much, actually!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$73
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Plough Lane | Downside, Cobham KT11 3LT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Cobham
  • Phone Number: +44 1932 589790
  • E-mail
Description
Founded by four friends from Surrey, we are passionate about creating exceptional dishes and cocktails with British produce and serving the best of British wine and ale in a relaxed environment where you feel at home. The Plough Inn forms the culmination of much dreaming to bring something special to our local area with a team from some of London's top venues including Head Chef John Sparks from Mayfair's Dunhill Club and General Manager Axel Murrle to bring a fresh new pub to Surrey. We look forward to welcoming you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing