We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Claimed
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Lying at the edge of historic Wokingham, you’ll want to make sure you drop into The Ship Inn whenever you’re near. Our fantastic Sunday roasts, well-stocked bar and welcoming pub garden ensure that we’re the perfect port in any storm - and any sunny day for that matter.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Parking Available, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
87
40
11
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
87
40
11
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger pie sunday roast chicken great pub fullers pub nice historic building beer range watching the football nice pint pub food cooked perfectly nice atmosphere pubs landlord beers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To start i\we love this pub and use this quite frequently, generally to watch sport and the great Fullers Ales. I’ve eaten here before and it’s always been nice but have eaten the last two nights whilst watching the football, the results may have not...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Global-Food-Tastic
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

The Ship is, in my opinion, is the best pub in Wokingham. It's always been one of the best, but where as standards at others have slipped The Ship remains consistent. A nice pub which has a good atmosphere both when it's quiet and packed....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Montyf1
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

It is always great to receive a review like this. if you like the range of ales and craft beer at the minute, then just wait and see what new ranges we have for you this year. \We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 12 December 2018

i went to my staff party at the Ship on Friday evening 7/12/18 and although it was a pleasurable evening, i sent 3 previous emails and telephoned to ask for a price list of lagers both draught and bottled and was not contacted by staff...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Paul C
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Still one of the best pubs in Wokingham. Pleasant staff and well looked after decor and garden. The beer range could change more often and keg guests could be more adventurous, I have seen this in other Fullers pubs. The Ship isn't the cheapest pub...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Montyf1
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times now (not through choice) and feel compelled to add review. Drinks well over priced for the area (£5.40 for pint of Peroni) and even the bar staff were apologetic. If unfortunate to go in when there is a football match...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jamie S
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

We’re so sorry to hear that your time with us was unsatisfactory. If you would like to be contacted by us to discuss your experience, please privately message us with your contact details and someone will get back to you as soon as possible.

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I cant say enough good things about this place. We had a party of 8 and everyone ordered the fish and chips with the exception of one of us. They ordered the chicken snitzel. Everyone was very pleased with the food. The service was even...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank dougsW1616VB
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your amazing review. I remember your group and you were just as much fun to be around. I will let the team know what you said as we all work hard here to get the kind of feedback that you gave us....More

Reviewed 28 August 2018

I gooccasionally with local friends on a Friday night. There is pub food and beer with good bar service. A little crowded but that is because it is a good pub!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Rick M
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit here. In regards to how busy it can be, you are always welcome to reserve yourself a seat here.

Reviewed 27 August 2018

have been here several times over the years and never disappointed with the food, service and drinks.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Ron_Charity
Dave J, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you soon

Reviewed 25 August 2018

The parking behind the pub can be tricky if it's full during the rush hour. However, there are plenty of rooms to sit and walk around. I went there when I had my interview for the care homes around the corner from the pub and...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MartyMcFly2011
Dave J, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Parking can be a bit tricky here on occasion as we don't have a particularly big car park. But we are very happy you had a nice time here. Come back and see us again soon.

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Last time I was here was about 34yrs ago 😁 oh how it's changed ( a lot ) for the best . 👍🍻 I'll certainly not leave it as long for a returne visit

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank martin_wood16
Dave J, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It’s always great to hear that we are keeping our customers happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Cantley House Hotel
720 reviews
.69 miles away
The Emmbrook Inn
58 reviews
1.29 miles away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2,066 reviews
1.34 miles away
Coppid Beech Hotel
1,297 reviews
1.73 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 154 nearby restaurants
Piccolo Arco
332 reviews
.21 miles away
Ruchetta
490 reviews
.17 miles away
The Tamarind Tree
302 reviews
.09 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Wokingham
666 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 56 nearby attractions
Wokingham Theatre
9 reviews
.75 miles away
The Victoria Arms
16 reviews
.08 miles away
The Redan
25 reviews
.14 miles away
Escape360
15 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing