We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ristorante Casalta

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Giacomo Matteotti 22 | Località Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
+39 0577 301171
Website
Today
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu - Tue 20:00 - 21:45
Fri - Tue 13:00 - 14:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Great creative food in a nice and clean authentic restaurant run by the owners. Local ingredients are used with the finesse of an international chef. Great wine list at affordable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
Oxford, U.K
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2015

Once again we visited this excellent, husband and wife-run restaurant and had a superb dinner. We do not understand why this place - long established - where we have eaten at least 6 times - does not rate a Michelin star, when so many inferior places have one; and we have considerable experience of Michelin starred places in Italy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank tappi
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived at 7.45 having booked for 8.00 thinking it would be nice to have a leisurely drink first. We were rudely told the restaurant did not open until 8 - no question of being allowed to sit for 15 minutes or explain ourselves. Extraordinary behaviour from the owner which unfortunately for her rings true with some of the previous... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
bipi71, Proprietario at Ristorante Casalta, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Tim, al suo arrivo vi ho semplicemente e garbatamente detto che il ristorante apre alle ore 20,00 come da... More 

Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
163 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2015

Dining in a Italian courtyard on a summer evening is nice. The food was not much beyond average and could not meet the expectations for the price. But if you happen to be in the village there are not really any alternatives.

Helpful?
Thank A S H
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
348 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2015

Let's start off with the fact that the food is good to excellent. The tortelloni was excellent, while my partner's pasta with meat sauce was just good. The chocolate mousse for dessert was fantastic. But I know what the others mean about the service. I thought maybe we were just unlucky - there was a group outside that was taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith R
Paris, France
Level Contributor
223 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2015

The manageress, (whether the owner or someone else ) didn't even acknowledge we had arrived despite the fact that we'd booked a table and had been sent there by the hotel that belongs to the cook’s brother in town. It is the worst service we have ever experienced in Italy. The menus are in Italian and as I did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ParisandVenice
bipi71, Proprietario at Ristorante Casalta, responded to this review

21 years that I manage with my husband chef and owner of the Restaurant Casalta, and it gets you and dare you to advise you not to come to us until it is changed the service ????? .... A little too presumptuous. However, "Battuta Scottona" translated in a more simple tartar beef very common to find on the table in... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Food is clearly of good quality, and believe the chef is experienced in traditional and simple Tuscan dishes. However, we did face a few issues that should not happen in any restaurants, especially with these kind of prices (menu > 50 euros excluding drinks): - wine requested was not available but then I was "highly recommended" a wine which clearly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyCritics
bipi71, Proprietario at Ristorante Casalta, responded to this review
Google Translation

Probabilmente non era la serata giusta ... Il mio inglese non è dei migliori come non lo è neppure il... More 

Oxford, U.K
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2014

We have been visiting this restaurant for some years and have always had delicious regional cooking with many creative touches. The restaurant, which also has a few rooms attached, is run by a throughly professional couple of charm and knowledge. Barbara is the maitre d' and also gives very dependable advice on their excellent wine list. We drank the great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tappi
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Having booked into the hotel attached to Casalta for 2 nights to go to a wedding, we were completely unaware there was a) a restaurant or b) how amazing it was. The second night we didn't want to travel, and having then found the reviews on trip advisor were very surprised. The food was delicious and freshly made (we listened... More 

Helpful?
Thank FS82551
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went with my fiancée a couple of days ago and we left wishing we lived closer to treat ourselves with one special meal a week at Casalta Restaurant; we had a lovely time with excellent local food. Expertise and passion work together in this family run business and we are looking forward to enjoying chef Lazzaro and his team... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Casalta also viewed

Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Casalta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Monday
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Thursday
20:00 - 21:45
Friday
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Saturday
20:00 - 21:45
13:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 22 | Località Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Tuscany  >  Province of Siena  >  Monteriggioni
  • Phone Number: +39 0577 301171

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Casalta staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?