We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basset Hound

££ - £££, British,
107 Barnston Road, Thingwall CH61 1AS, England
+44 151 648 2223
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“fish and chips” (16 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
107 Barnston Road, Thingwall CH61 1AS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently visited The Basset Hound with my daughter and my elderly parents for a late lunch. We ordered fish and chips for two, steak and kidney pudding and rump steak from the lunch menu. The steak requested was medium however it was delivered more...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Linda W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I popped into this local pub for a Rump steak meal which was cooked perfectly. I must admit Jade who served me did an excellent job, she was very polite and attentive. Keep up the good work...I will be back very soon.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RiadhA_13
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just passed the Bassett Hound on many occasions we finally stopped at lunchtime. We were promptly greeted and given a table. The lunch menu was good and competitively priced and when our food arrived we were not disappointed. All the staff were friendly and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GrandadPrenton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having visited the Basset Hound regularly for many years was so, so disappointed on my visit yesterday. Menu has changed offering less choice and we certainly were not offered any 2 or 3 course deals but told firmly that there was only 1 menu from...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Della34
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely looking pub, easy to get to great for locals and those travelling and through. good parking and good to meet up over a pint for a chat and a bar snack , but it also is a restaurant. The staff are always friendly and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Peter T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visit here regularly and have never been disappointed. I had the fishcake yesterday from the saver menu which was amazing, great value too !! The atmosphere at the Basset is always so friendly, had a lovely little chat with Jade and Michelle yesterday. The...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Angela800900
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much Angela, we're glad you love it here as much as we do and great to hear you like our Christmas decorations. We'll see you soon !! Michelle

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had another amazing meal at the Basset hound as usual staff where lovely and every meal cooked to perfection

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank redgrift4
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon !!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Consistently high standard food and fast service. Good portions. Cannot fault. Great pub. That Cath is fabulous too.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank RachLM89
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the Basset, it's great to hear you found everything so enjoyable. We will pass your comments to Cath, she is indeed a great asset to us !! Many thanks again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to a roast and was informed that this was the best on The Wirral. The meat was tasty but the rest (veg, yorkshires, gravy crackling) was disappointing. The meal wasn't very hot and seemed like it had been re-heated or left...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ursulaey
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will speak with our head chef to resolve these issues. Great to hear you found the service good and enjoyed your Peroni. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We picked this place to eat Sunday lunch as in fairness we have eaten here many times before from the weekday menu and have been very pleased with the service and food. My husband chose roast beef and pork, which appeared to be of poor...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sue K
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

We're so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your roasts. We have been receiving a lot of positive feedback regards to our Sunday roasts lately, especially the new chicken breast wrapped in bacon, it's one of my personal favourites. We never ever reheat any...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
688 reviews
2.16 miles away
Riverhill Hotel
304 reviews
2.23 miles away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
456 reviews
2.28 miles away
Hillbark Hotel
324 reviews
2.37 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kismat Balti Wirral
87 reviews
.44 miles away
Ambuja Indian Brasserie
50 reviews
.43 miles away
The Fox and Hounds
231 reviews
.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Prenton Golf Club
9 reviews
1.87 miles away
Blind Pig
15 reviews
1.90 miles away
Brimstage Maze
148 reviews
1.91 miles away
Chokie Massage and Beauty Therapy
36 reviews
2.27 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Susan Q
18 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MartinB8846 | Reviewed this property |
Have only been there in groups of two or three, but looking at the size and configuration of the Pub Restaurant, I would suggest you give them a week in advance. I suppose it also depends on when in the week. Got the... More
1
Vote
Clairerye
2 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mfd200 | Reviewed this property |
I don't know I not ate there I don't run it,sorry but best to book
0
Votes
G6026FFhannahc
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Mal2911 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a bowl outside with drinking water for dogs!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 107 Barnston Road, Thingwall CH61 1AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Thingwall
  • Phone Number: +44 151 648 2223
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing