We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Broom Inn

££ - £££, British,
Uttoxeter Road | Checkley, Checkley ST10 4NB, England
+44 1538 528121
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (13 reviews)
“burgers” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Uttoxeter Road | Checkley, Checkley ST10 4NB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Disgusted to find no disabled toilet or baby changing area in this pub! Basic facilities for your customers NEED to be provided! how this is still acceptable in 2017 I do not know!More

Thank Sophie G
Aaron M, General Manager at New Broom Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Sophie G. Unfortunately due to the age of the building not all buildings can cater that way for disabled toilets as much as we would like to. To do this work would take months on planning permission and months of the pub being closed....More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had the carvery. Lots of choice and good quality food. Only £5.95 each , so very good value too. It was a bank holiday so no surprise that they were a little stretched.

Thank Derek P
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Called with the family today for lunch, the new owners have really put a lot of effort into the decoration and great play area for children also had lots of board games inside. Unfortunately the carvery was not enjoyable, the casserole meat was tough, roast...More

Thank Michael S
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

2 x burgers & 1 x lasagne - burgers are rather salty but filling. Lasagne was very nice. Chips are divine. Need more coleslaw. Deserts - beautiful for £3. Coffee was lovely.

Thank MoreCriticalwithAge
Aaron M, General Manager at New Broom Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your feed back.

Reviewed 5 August 2017

We have avoided this pub for a long time now , when the previous owners took over we gave it a try . Sorry, they seem to be acting at being a Restaurateur / Publican . The food was, to my recollection dry and tasteless...More

Thank ivorbrickles
Aaron M, General Manager at New Broom Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you.

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Just been here! Food was awful!! Had the carvery the cauli cheese was gross with a packet sauce thrown on it, the roasts were frozen, gravy runny in fact it was just awful! Mum had scampi that was rock hard to eat! Daughter had over...More

2  Thank Sheila J
Aaron M, General Manager at New Broom Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Good Afternoon Shelia, Firstly we would like to apologise for the experience you had when visiting one of our sites. Id like to start off with the fact you are the first person to complain about our food since we opened three weeks ago and...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

The quaity of the food is always to a high standard and excellent value. We had the mother in laws funeral meal here and value for was better value than a sandwich buffet and universally considered to have been the best ever after funeral meal.

Thank KingstoneKid
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We booked a meal for 7 pm on Thursday 16 March, for 4 people, we arrived about ten two seven we tried the door and it was locked and no one was about at all we looked though the Windows,new waited till nearly seven o'clock,...More

3  Thank patricia d
Reviewed 20 November 2016

had mixed feeling about going here heard bad reports etc and myself have had not to good food here,but the new owner dave and his team are doing their best to turn it around,and by golly they did tonight,the table decs were awesome,the hot/cold buffet...More

1  Thank crazygit
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

My wife treated me to a meal and Michael buble' tribute night at the new broom on Friday night. The food was very good, pleasant atmosphere and the tribute was outstanding and interacted with the guests. Great night thank you. We will return.

Thank Dave S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Checkley Hotels
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
148 reviews
3.31 miles away
Alton Bridge Hotel
159 reviews
3.80 miles away
Splash Landings Hotel
2,519 reviews
4.59 miles away
CBeebies Land Hotel
134 reviews
4.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Raddle Inn
247 reviews
1.80 miles away
The Ship
207 reviews
2.25 miles away
Queen's at Freehay
247 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Croxden Abbey
21 reviews
2.42 miles away
Llama Adventures
9 reviews
3.34 miles away
St Giles Catholic Church
52 reviews
3.53 miles away
Alton Towers
13,702 reviews
4.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Annievan13
2 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Maddie C | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I believe not but its worth ringing to check, they are allowed on campsite and the beer garden.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Uttoxeter Road | Checkley, Checkley ST10 4NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Checkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1538 528121
  • E-mail
Description
Open from 12 noon to 11pm, serving carvery menu and main menu from: Mon - Fri: 12pm - 3pm & 5pm - 9pm Sat: 12pm - 9pm Sun: 12pm - 7pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing