We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Restaurant

Is this your business?
Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
+44 1308 422011
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“turbot” (27 reviews)
“seafood” (73 reviews)
“summer pudding” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

In common with other reviews posted on here we have eaten at The Riverside many times in the past. Our most recent visit will be our last. Service was very poor ,my daughter had to ask for the table to be cleared before we could...More

1  Thank thechickenman10
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yet again a wonderful meal here at The Riverside. We went with two young children and the staff were very welcoming. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food. Also not expensive for the quality of the food and the brilliant service. Thanks.....we'll be back!

Thank willlongman
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you next time Best wishes The Riverside Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes lot of seafood here as title suggests but does offer a few non fish dishes. I had moules mariners as as starter great sauce full of flavour and my mussels were nice and plump, very meaty. Next course was dressed crab amazing not watery...More

Thank Jim F
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us We look forward to seeing you again Best wishes The Riverside Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were pleased to find a car park space and then a table on a very busy day in West Bay, on a Thursday lunchtime after Easter when the sun came out for the first time in a long while. Pleasant setting and a good...More

Thank SomersetGMB
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we look forward to your next visit Best wishes The Riverside Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for Good Friday fish dinner, just the two of us. We'd been hoping to come here for a while and it didn't disappoint. I had mussels to start and my bf had fish chowder. We shared the hot shell fish platter which includes...More

Thank BiancaC1990
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

A big thank you for your lovely comments, the staff really appreciate positive comments after working so hard to give everyone who visits us the best experience we can We look forward to you next visit Best Wishes The Riverside Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant is very dated and service was very amateur. Its a nice spot for lunch though with a nice view. Food was very overpriced for what it wasMore

1  Thank jonny W
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. The restaurant was refurbished 12 months ago with new furniture and decoration so we are a little surprised by your comment. The prices are in line with other restaurants of our caliber so again a...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

This has always been in our experience a very good restaurant. However went for lunch on Mothers Day and whilst the food was to its usual standard the service was down right appalling. To make matters worse when we mentioned this we were fed a...More

1  Thank andrewdS2130PP
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear that you will not be coming back, but thank you for the kind comments regarding the food. Regarding the service, it was mothers day and we served over 100 people, with all our staff working flat out, I could not have asked...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoying a long weekend staying just outside West Bay and booked my birthday celebration meal at this restaurant. Very friendly welcome on arrival, drinks served quickly while we considered the menu. Food was delicious,staff and management attentive without being intrusive and we found the...More

Thank Lynne W
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit best wishes The Riverside Team

Reviewed 17 February 2018

Riverside is a genuine local treat for seafood, and a favourite restaurant of mine. So I was delighted today when my parents kindly treated us all to a meal there. The service was excellent and the main courses were all stunning, and the delicious gathering...More

Thank Julie T
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate it and look forward to your next visit Best wishes The Riverside team

Reviewed 17 February 2018

I think my first mistake was booking so early after they reopened following their winter break on 10th February. £87.00 for a cold seafood platter would have been acceptable had all the components been fresh. I am sure that some of the crab had been...More

Thank John N
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. i find this a very strange review and always wonder if there is another agenda when other eating establishments are mentioned. I will however do my best to reply to all your points. £87.00 is...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Bay Hotels
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.12 miles away
Haddon House Hotel
530 reviews
.13 miles away
The West Bay Hotel
307 reviews
.16 miles away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
390 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rachel's
828 reviews
.12 miles away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
128 reviews
.04 miles away
Seagulls Restaurant
394 reviews
.13 miles away
Snack Shack
126 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
156 reviews
.07 miles away
West Bay Canoes
104 reviews
.04 miles away
West Bay Harbour
1,001 reviews
.07 miles away
The Customs House
60 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Falak A
13 June 2017|
Answer
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Not being a follower of Islam myself I have researched this a little and as I understand it all meat from the sea is halal but, as we cannot confirm all of our ingredients are halal we would have to say no. I am sorry the... More
0
Votes
L-A S
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry and thank you to our customers for your answers. Yes we do have a disabled toilet, and good access to the building
1
Vote
Susan H
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Bob A | Reviewed this property |
Yes, not beach gear, but smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$72
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 422011
  • E-mail
Description
the Riverside Restaurant enjoys a prime location with large picture windows overlooking the river Brit, but that is just one element of it's charm. It's also a pioneer in it's use of local produce to create truly special fish and shellfish dishes - along with alternative meat and vegetarian options which change on a daily basis.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing