We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murgatroyds

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$49
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (2,000)
Filter reviews
1,985 results
Traveller rating
1,179
462
162
88
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
462
162
88
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips murg three course meal bread prawn cocktail ice cream potatoes pudding senior citizens crispy batter great fish curry sauce take away leeds bradford airport large portions billy pensioners
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love Murgatroyds: had a lovely light lunch with calamari and King prawns. Excellent portion. Great value. Like the new plates etc. Lovely waitress today: Sandra always smiling, and nice to see others, such as Sharon. Only one downside: who is the guy showing people to...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review Chris, I'm so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us on Wednesday. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments about Sandra and Sharon! They have been with us many years and we appreciate how welcome they make...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

As always the quality of the fish and chips is high and we enjoyed our meal immensely except for one thing we have noticed in the last few times we have been both before and after lockdown. Whoever butter the bread believes in bread and...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Carol, I'm glad you enjoyed your fish and chips with us! I'm sorry you felt like the bread and butter wasn't buttered enough, in future if you feel like there is not enough on the bread, please ask your server...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The usual excellent standard of food , never fails there , however was surprised to see the plastic shields down in the takeaway area also very little organisation in that area unlike a few weeks when I last visited, just meant a lot of people...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Danny. I'm so glad you enjoyed your food from us! In regards to the takeaway serving area, you are correct; we have removed the plastic shield's. We did this when we re-opened on Monday 17th May as we reverted back...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great place my husband and I had the pensioners special menu 3 courses inc tea or coffee. Absolutely fantastic so fresh and the place is spotlessly clean the service was second to none

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Owner at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review Janet! So glad you enjoyed your visit to us and loved the Senior Citizen 3 course meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to Murgatroyds hopefully in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food well prepared and efficient service Good value with the senior special and the portions were good They need to look at he COVID 19 precautions as this was not followed Knives and forks out on table condiments not single use. Not compulsory to...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and you enjoyed your visit to us. I believe I may have responded to your email regarding Covid precautions. I can assure you, our tables are thoroughly sanitised in-between sittings and set with clean cutlery and crockery and bottled condiments...More

Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Not bad but hard to judge when you are staying in the hotel opposite and (chose) to eat outside in the cold. Can’t fault the portion size and was a decent bit of haddock but cot cold a bit too quick. My fault entirely however...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thank you so much for your review, Rob. We're so glad you enjoyed for fish! I'm sorry it got cold a bit too quick, but certainly do try us in the near future in either our Restaurant or Take-Away, we wont disappoint you! We look...More

Reviewed 4 May 2021

As expected the food was incredible and this time tried the click and collect service. Worked a treat, won’t be going anywhere else for fish and chips.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

So glad you enjoyed your visit to us, we are finding the click and collect system really efficient so I'm glad our customers are loving it too! We look forward to seeing you again soon Jack!

Reviewed 4 May 2021

Called in here yesterday for Fish and chips, had a bit of a wait as I should have click and collected but I wasn't turning back. I got the fish and chips for £6.95 perfectly cooked fish and awesome chips. We also got some peas...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Jodie, Owner at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm sorry you had a little bit of a wait receiving your fish and chips, but I'm so glad you enjoyed them along with your mushy peas! We do look forward to welcoming you back soon! :)

Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

I will rate this fish and chips 1 out of 5 become it was Burnt and dry I willl go else way next time. Don’t know why people big it up and Was behind On Click and collectMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience with us Daniel. If you are ever unhappy with your food please do let a member of staff know as soon as possible so we are able to rectify the issue for you. If you had already left...More

Reviewed 30 April 2021

Fish was scrappy and dry ... not great value.... went because I’d read good reviews, I must have got them on a bad day. Long drive, waste of moneyMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Jodie, Front Office Manager at Murgatroyds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience with us Trisha and your fish wasn't up to our normal standards. If you are ever unhappy with your meal please let a member of staff know as soon as possible so we are able to rectify the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
1,300 reviews
.05 miles away
Travelodge Leeds Bradford Airport
658 reviews
.89 miles away
Leeds Trinity University
1 review
1.41 miles away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2,442 reviews
1.88 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sweet Basil Valley
407 reviews
.74 miles away
Fikos Mediterranean Kitchen
247 reviews
.06 miles away
Yeadon Stoops Beefeater
651 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Yanki Doodlz Playzone and Diner
10 reviews
.22 miles away
Guiseley Well
13 reviews
1.65 miles away
Guiseley Retail Park
37 reviews
1.59 miles away
Emsley's Farm Shop
49 reviews
.92 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Barry F
15 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from George B | Reviewed this property |
A takeaway is about £7.00, to eat in with tea bread and butter £12. Hope this helps!
0
Votes
Barry F
15 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jane W | Reviewed this property |
We sat in the busy restaurant but it was before lockdown so can't remember to exact prices, but I remember it was very good value for quality fish and chips. Great and prompt service too. Don't hesitate to book if they're... More
0
Votes
paulafreeth123
9 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Passenger66416110830 | Reviewed this property |
It is about 1.5 miles and is NOT near the Travelodge (its opposite the Premier Inn ) If you just want to walk somewhere nearer, there is a pub on the roundabout that does meals about 800m (approx). Not tried it but was... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Murgatroyds

Yes, Murgatroyds offers takeaway services.

Yes, Murgatroyds offers delivery services.

Yes, Murgatroyds is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Murgatroyds is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4