We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown at Whitchurch - CLOSED

The Croft Old Ross Road | Symonds Yat, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DD, England
+44 1600 890010
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (2 reviews)
“nice ambience” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
The Croft Old Ross Road | Symonds Yat, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DD, England
All Details
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Good food and friendly service, enjoyed back ground music! Ate early evening when quiet. Menu has something for everyone. Would eat there again.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 212Stag
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The Crown at Whitchurch is again under new management, and they have certainly hit the right note with their Sunday lunch today (30.7.17). The food was freshly cooked with local ingredients. The beef was tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection, and all for...More

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Bibliophile8
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

My husband & I have just eaten at the Crown - food was below average for us - cook better myself at home / this had been recommended 2 us but I would not recommend it myself - I believe this establishment has recently undergone...More

Date of visit: July 2017
3  Thank cja2017lancaster
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Called in for a pint on my own a couple of times. Beer was good and the barmaid friendly. But, could have done without passing through clouds of cigarette smoke as I approached the entrance. This was because some tables on the covered terrace adjacent...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank 896badmaldu
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I went to the crown on Saturday evening for an impromptu meal with my partner and my granny. I have a dog so I wanted to find somewhere that would welcome her too. We had to eat in the bar area, and as you expect...More

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank 240hayleyh
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

HI and thanks for your review. Apologies for the mix up in your meal but Im pleased to hear you enjoyed it all the same. Yes,, we were very busy and very noisy on Saturday as there was an Army reunion which was great and...More

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We went as a big group for my dad's 70th birthday as we were staying in a house nearby. We pre ordered so nothing should have been a surprise or problem. I ordered the salmon, and when it arrived I cut it and it was...More

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Caz T
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi -can you please advise when you ate with us as none of our staff have any recollection of a recent event as you describe. Thank you Nicola

Reviewed 26 August 2016

Very hospitable establishments where dogs are welcome ,and in fact we even took our cat into the bar in her basket. It is more than obvious that the staff are pet lovers. We booked a table for nine and as the weather was so good...More

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank solwaysue
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Hi and thanks for this review - love the thought of the cat - wish I had seen her!

Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Crown at Whitchurch is a typical English Inn, mixing bar, restaurant and accommodation. They are happy for you to have a dog (at a small fee). Located just to the side of the A40 the Inn is ideally located for access and it's within...More

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Paul D
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 22 August 2016

A rather large eatery where the decor was rather amateurish and scruffy. However, we only wanted a supper to fill us up until morning. Sadly, that was not to be. I was very disappointed at my gammon which was rather like a portion of back...More

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Lay-By-Lil
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - what a shame you didnt speak to any of the team during your visit as they could have tried to rectify your complaints.

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We rang to book a table for four,while on holiday. We were booked in for 7.15. After arriving we were showed to our seats and immediately told at least two things were off the menu. We placed our orders, the food came, which was average....More

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Boosar3
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thanks for taking the time to make this review. Im grateful that you are concerned about us losing business- sadly staff do fall ill and obviously we do not want to risk the welfare of our guests - hence not insisting they work. The impact...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Old Court Hotel
612 reviews
.18 miles away
The Paddocks Hotel
385 reviews
.66 miles away
Glewstone Court
699 reviews
3.08 miles away
Riverside Hotel
202 reviews
4.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
156 reviews
.21 miles away
Jo's Diner
45 reviews
.58 miles away
The Crown Whitchurch
18 reviews
.00 miles away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
391 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
23 reviews
.64 miles away
Canoe the Wye
450 reviews
.64 miles away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
260 reviews
.70 miles away
Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo
505 reviews
.23 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$13 - US$18
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Croft Old Ross Road | Symonds Yat, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Whitchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1600 890010
  • E-mail
Description
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as of 14/02/2017 Everyone is welcome to come visit us for drinks or food. We have done some renovation to the inside of the pub and in the near future we willl be refurbishing other areas of the crown. Our accommodation will be reopen in march as we have some ongoing work in them at the moment. Please do check Out our Facebook page for all the latest information
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing