We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Race

££ - £££, British,
Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
+44 1989 562891
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (32 reviews)
“pizza” (15 reviews)
“pudding” (27 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 544 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a wonderful time here with family. The food and the staff were both outstand. Would recommend a visit.

Thank DelorF1
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are looking for an average pub meal come here. It is not bad it just does not shine. When we were there all the table tops were sticky. We were assured that it was an 'overdose' of cleaning fluid, not dirt. A good...More

2  Thank MiDiFr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awful experience shockingly over priced "gastro" food that was horribly put together. Had to request menus which at an eatery seems odd? Also had to request to order drinks, again odd. When no further table service was forthcoming we had to chase down a waitress....More

1  Thank Go277362
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, I am sorry but I am struggling to take this review seriously. There is no way our food is overpriced, in fact, most people comment how reasonably priced it is for what we produce. Also, horribly put together???? No, I'm sorry but it just...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a family Sunday lunch with one of our guests having dietary/allergy requirements. We phoned ahead to enquire if a meal could be provided for her & was told this wouldn't be a problem. The Chef returned our call to talk through the requirements...More

Thank AngieWangie2018
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has become a favourite of ours, the food is delicious and the staff friendly and attentive. They also display food mileage showing the sources of their producers. It's set in a beautiful location too, can't fault the place

1  Thank Robert B
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, Nice to be appreciated and liked!! Thank you. Best Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here on Tuesday evening. We were made very welcome, staff was very friendly. We had the Tuesday night special 2 steak meals with a very nice bottle of wine. We will be going back very soon.. Thank you Mill Race...

Thank Joan F
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you soon. Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we'd enjoyed a lovely walk at Yat rock and popped in for a very late lunch.....and our hosts were most welcoming and lunch was great......the burgers were especially nice....thanks so much...

Thank Christian M
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Glad you enjoyed your visit, we will always try to accommodate everybody if at all possible. Best Regards, Mark

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been staying on holiday locally and have had two excellent evening meals here. Generous portions of excellent food and a really interesting and varied menu which is so nice when so many places serve the same old things. Staff were very pleasant, would thoroughly...More

Thank helenthejewitt
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for appreciating our efforts. Best Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with some friends when staying down the road at the YHA in Goodrich. Our friends are regulars, eating here whenever they head down to the Forest of Dean to go mountain biking. We shared a big plate of nachos to start and followed...More

Thank Tabes2
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, A few of our best features combining here to produce an enjoyable all round experience. thanks for the kind comments. Best Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start!! From the minute I walked through the door I felt very welcomed! The bar staff including Erin and Charlotte were very very helpful and extremely quick with service! The food we had was superb so well done to the kitchen staff! I...More

Thank pat2020803
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Another good review from whilst I was away on holiday so well done to the team and thank you for your kind comments. Best Regards, Mark.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Glewstone Court
683 reviews
2.10 miles away
Chasedale Hotel
17 reviews
2.22 miles away
The Chase Hotel
563 reviews
2.61 miles away
The Royal Hotel
1,282 reviews
2.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Inn on the Wye
174 reviews
.69 miles away
The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant
241 reviews
.84 miles away
The Forge Hammer and River Spice
125 reviews
2.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Goodrich Castle
942 reviews
.88 miles away
The Malt Shovel Inn
6 reviews
2.45 miles away
Wye Valley Cruises
23 reviews
2.73 miles away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
260 reviews
2.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Judith W
27 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Robot72 | Reviewed this property |
Thanks
0
Votes
Louise A
29 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 747jap | Reviewed this property |
I booked for lunch ona Monday last October- the Mill Race had decided to close on Mondays for the Winter. Therefore I doubt at present that they will be open on Mondays - but would suggest that a call to the Restaurant would... More
1
Vote
Barbara T
7 August 2015|
Answer
Response from rich k |
Hello, yes we do have vegetarian dishes in the menu. Also most of our dishes can be adapted to suit vegetarian as we are cooking everything from fresh. Hope this helps. Regards, Ana Dumitrache General Manager
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Walford road, Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Walford
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 562891
  • E-mail
Description
A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about the freshest of produce and food, wine and fine ales - nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing