We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £60
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (828)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
359
158
131
101
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
359
158
131
101
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops fish and chips lamb peak edge hotel lovely evening food was lovely chesterfield
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a delicious Afternoon Tea which was fresh and tasty and the pot of tea the tastiest we have ever had. Thank you to all the staff who were friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate in coming back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us for afternoon tea. Our staff will be thrilled to hear your kind words. We all strive to create a welcoming and friendly atmosphere, and it’s...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for 10 people which was super easy and we had a great spot in the main pub. The surroundings were lovely, the staff were good, it's a beautiful place to stop and watch the world go by, however..... they forgot one...of our meals so a family member had to eat alone which was not ideal. The child's meals came out first and looked to be a average / decent size, although they were £9 so not cheap. The adult meals then came out but had less chips and veg than the kids meals. At £19 for a gammon or fish and chips I would have expected more. We asked for some more chips to match the kids meal so they brought a small bowl of chips out which we then had to share between 4 of us which weas a bit tight. (They then later charged us an extra £6 for these!) In addition to this poor service when we got the bill they charged us £32 for a salmon dish (it said POA on the menu so yes we should have checked but never thought it would be so expensive). They also charged us £2.50 for a small fruit shoot and £1.90 for a very small dash of lemonade to top up a drink. All these charges and lack of common sense left us feeling ripped off and it's such a shame as it's a beautiful place, we even looked into staying the night on another occasion but won't be doing now. We left with a very bitter taste in our mouths - and it wasn't down to the food!More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I wanted to address your recent review of our restaurant. While we appreciate feedback, there are some important details missing from your account. Firstly, the missed dish you mentioned was fully taken off your bill. It's disappointing that this wasn't acknowledged in your review. Additionally,...More

Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

Decided to pop in for Lunch on our Anniversary. Been meaning to visit for some time. First impressions were good; nice environment and friendly professional staff. I ordered soup to start and this was followed with a Chicken Cesar Wrap and my wife also ordered...a wrap with sides. Both the soup and wrap were enjoyable. My wife ordered a sticky toffee pudding for desert. The pudding was burnt and so hard that her spoon wouldn't go through it. It was indelible, so we returned the item. It's fair to say that the waitess wasn't that shocked as the couple sitting next to us had already returned their camembert starter twice - repeatedly saying that it was cold in the middle and stodgy. All in all a disappointing experience and we definitely won't be back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, albeit disappointingly. While we value all feedback, we are compelled to address some of the points you've raised. Firstly, we appreciate your acknowledgment of our pleasant environment and friendly, professional staff. However, we...More

Reviewed 25 March 2024

We went to the Red Lion restaurant for a belated Mother’s Day Sunday lunch. Both the food and staff were excellent but particular credit goes to front of house who were exceptional. Will definitely return as soon as possible and would recommend to others without...hesitation. Thank you!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Red Lion Restaurant. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your belated Mother’s Day Sunday lunch with us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed your dining experience! We're especially pleased to hear that...More

Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

Visited in March 2024 with friends for dinner. Bar and restaurant was lovely. Extensive drinks menu as well as wine choices. The food was very good. Side dishes were very very small , approximately 6 tiny chips to go with chateaubriand (to share) was very...poor. But the food quality and flavours were excellent for all 4 of us. Service was little slow and lacked warmth or friendliness . Would visit again if in the regionMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our lovely bar and restaurant ambiance, as well as our extensive drinks menu and wine choices. It's fantastic to know that you found...More

Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Having been going here for a number of years, I have to say that the service has seriously gone down hill! Booked an afternoon tea for 4 people, one of which a child who requested tuna sandwiches and my mum who is gluten free. On...tray on arrival we were served one with just tuna sandwiches (x4) for one person, and the other tray of afternoon tea for 3 people all gluten free! We understand there may have been a communication mishap so asked for this to be resolved as 2 of us did not want gluten free. On return they then brought out two more trays with a selection of the most basic sandwiches…plain ham, tuna mayo and cheese and branston pickle, and some extra bits of cake literally thrown on the top as the original was only enough for 2 people!! I questioned this menu as the one on the website suggested goats curd and pickle, smoked salmon and cucumber, ham and mustard mayonnaise etc and the reason I booked in the first place! They proceeded to tell me the menus online aren’t updated and the actual comment from the manager was ‘it’s about 500 years old that menu’ and they are only sample (despite this not suggesting it on the website). For £30 per head I was expecting something better than I could have knocked up in 5 minutes at home. I’ve never been to a restaurant that would expect that if one guest is gluten free, that the rest of the people are expected to eat the same. The booking was clear which they agreed but it was just easier for them to do all gluten free than not! Absolutely shocking… No apology from management just more interested in telling us that he’s worked in Michelin star restaurants etc…I question that as I wouldn’t employ him as his customer service skills were absolutely shocking. We didn’t eat the tea and left, completely ruined a belated Mother’s Day and birthday celebration!!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Please note, this review has been flagged and reported as being against Trip Advisors advisory policies which details the customer did not experience the business, which in this case you did not.

Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

We have lived in the area for about a year and a half now, and have only just discovered this absolute gem of a restaurant. Absolutely wonderful food, the finest steak I've had in sometime, preceeded by the katsu crab which was delicious. Beautiful surroundings,...welcoming and friendly staff, and an enormous wine list! Can not wait to pop up for a drink in the Summer so we can take in the views.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to have been discovered and that you enjoyed our wonderful food, especially the steak and katsu crab. We're delighted you found the surroundings beautiful and our staff welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back for a...More

Reviewed 2 March 2024

Mrs. Pubtesterx and I came here with our two kids and her parents for a birthday treat and we weren't disappointed. Excellent attentive service. I had the blade of beef for my main and it just melted in the mouth. Really well presented too. The...atmosphere is great as well. I didn't have a desert but Mrs. Pubtesterx said they were beautiful. I recommend getting extra vegetables as the food is quality over quantity. If I could offer any constructive feedback I would say, lose the large low lamp shades in the middle of the tables. They obstruct your view to your party. An easy 5 stars. It's pricey and we couldn't dine here on a regular basis but for a treat you can't go wrong.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Mrs. Pubtesterx and family, Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your special occasion. We're delighted you enjoyed our attentive service and the quality of our dishes, especially the blade of beef. We take immense pride in our ability to serve produce from our...More

Reviewed 31 January 2024

I live locally and a friend had suggested meeting here for lunch, as it’s roughly a halfway point for us. Given that I was last here around forty years ago, when I’d come with my family for Christmas Day lunch, I wondered what changes would...have taken place whilst my back was turned! As it turned out, I barely recognised the place but it was all for the good. The dining room is lovely and bright, with nice decor as well as comfortable booth-style seating which gives a bit of privacy. The toilet was spotlessly clean and there was ample toilet tissue, hand wash and disposable paper hand towels. Our meals were good; fish, chips and mushy peas for my friend whilst I opted for the gammon which was served with two eggs and, at my request, salad rather than chips. However, although the gammon was thick, lean and very tasty, the portion size of the salad was extremely small, almost verging on miserly. Also, I was slightly disappointed that they don’t sell Fever-Tree tonic, although I was told that they had another premium tonic water. Despite the little moans, we had an enjoyable meal and I’m sure I’ll return in the not too distant future.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your lunch meeting and taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the changes in our dining room decor, finding it to your satisfaction. Your positive remarks about the cleanliness...More

Reviewed 29 January 2024

Having this on our doorstep used to be something we were really proud of but it's evident this establishment is now only interested in diners and hotel residents. They have now enforced a tap room and rather bizarrely, table service for drinkers. The charm of...the Red Lion was the bar area with the large sofa and chairs and 'library'. This area is reserved for diners only now. Don't quite understand the logic for it other than they now no longer want drinkers only. We were frequent regulars, found the space a safe environment with a new born, somewhere lovely to host visiting friends and family, always a nice selection of drinks and helpful staff. Unfortunately, they have lost their way. Those visiting for just drinks don't want to be shoved around the corner to be made to feel that they're out of the way. The tap room is nice enough, a little cramped in areas and I know effort has been made to ensure it ties in with the bar area but quite frankly, shouldn't it be the customers choice where they wish to sit? Why do those dining need two designated area's to sit? Why do they need the restaurant AND the bar area? Take it back to how it was, let drinkers visit and purchase their drinks at the bar and sit where they please (obviously not in the actual restaurant) The investment in this place must have been huge in recent years, don't let it go to waste by carrying on with these silly rules. Please also do not reply to this review with the same lack of acknowledgement of the issue you have on other posts. I'm writing to you trying to help, not complain. As a regular who attended frequently and also dined occasionally, I won't be returning until these issues are resolved. All the best,More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

The Red Lion Lounge is for the exclusive use of our residents and diners, therefore if you desired to sit in these areas I would have suggested ordering from our A La Carte menu and dining in the restaurant as you have done previously. Our...More

Reviewed 16 January 2024

We've come to love eating here but each time we go the service gets worse. The food is excellent and the staff friendly, but it's clear they are either struggling for staff or just not employing enough of them. If you pay top prices, which...you do here, you expect top service. repeatedly asking for our drinks, our wine arriving half way through the meal and then hand waving in the restaurant to get service or even basics like getting our table cleared is not good. It's a shame, as I said we really loved the place and the food is fantastic, but it's expensive, which I don't mind if the service matches, at the moment it doesn't. I've had similar feedback from others who have been recently. Get it sorted or eventually wonder why no one's coming anymore!More

Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visits to our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food and our staff as a valued patron and your continued love for our food. We understand your concerns regarding the service, and we genuinely regret...More

Reviewed 7 January 2024

We had been visiting Matlock and ended up on a road in the middle of nowhere, when we decided we wanted something to eat. I searched for pubs on the map and were pleasantly surprised to find the Red Lion within half a mile. On...entering we found a warm and cosy bar and a very pleasant restaurant. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the lamb rump, cooked to perfection, and the apple and blackcurrant crumble was delicious, although we were a bit disappointed that they’d run out of sticky toffee pudding! It was quite pricy, but not unreasonable for the quality of food and surroundings. The only disappointment was that we’d been told to leave our coats where we’d been sitting in the bar and they would be hung up for us. We came back to find my coat still on the chair. Nothing valuable in it, luckily, and it hadn’t been touched, but still not what we were told would happen. Other than that, an excellent find, and we’re considering coming to stay in the future.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for choosing the Red Lion during your visit to Matlock. We're thrilled you enjoyed our cozy atmosphere, friendly staff, and award winning food. Apologies for the coat misunderstanding; we'll ensure this is rectified. Your feedback is valuable and appreciated. We'd love to have...More

Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Classy, calm, & so much better than most of its local competition, we really rated this place. Where else could you sit warm & snug on a cold & wet January day looking towards a moody Beeley Moor whilst comfortably enjoying great food? Easy to...book, we decided to have a last lunch out before returning to work. So glad we did. The team were friendly & just attentive enough. The place is comfortably cool. The food was above market but very much worth it! Can recommend the Haddock & chips and the Chocolate& cherry torte. It's rare that I wouldn't finish either course and would be both satisfied & okay about it. We'll definitely be back!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Thank you wholeheartedly for sharing your fantastic experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience. Your kind words about our team's friendliness and attentiveness truly mean a lot, and we're thrilled that you found the ambiance comfortably cool. We take...More

Reviewed 1 January 2024

We booked the 8 course taster menu for £100pp on NYE. Unfortunately the food just did not match the price. It was not worth that amount of money. It was actually 6 courses with a piece of bread and canapés. We stayed at the peak...edge hotel and we also ordered breakfast to our room which was delivered with no cutlery so we had to wait as our breakfast got cold. We then realised they’d forgotten the sauce, the toast & the pastries. At this point we cut our losses. Both our hot drinks were also cold. To top things off we were charged £5 to have a beer brought to our room on the evening. If we’d have known we wouldn’t have had it delivered. We expected this to be included in a high priced hotel. I hate leaving a bad review but we really wanted to treat ourselves for NYE and we spent a lot of money and just feel disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

We are disappointed to hear your feedback that your experience with the 8-course tasting menu didn't meet your expectations regarding its perceived value. Our team takes great care in curating a high-class, well-thought-out culinary journey for our guests, and we regret that it fell short...More

Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

We are here 2 nights on the trot, whilst staying in Peak Edge Hotel. The first night we ate off the Al a carte menu, all 4 of us throughly enjoyed our meals. On New Years Eve we have the 7 course taster menu, which...once again was first class. Thanks so much to Mark and the team, see you all again very soon.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Manager, Marketing at Red Lion Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Thank you for choosing to dine with us on your recent stay at Peak Edge Hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your culinary experience on both nights, whether it was the à la carte menu or the New Years Eve taster menu. It's...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Peak Edge Hotel
1,344 reviews
.01 miles away
Abbeydale Hotel
260 reviews
3.74 miles away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
1,088 reviews
3.78 miles away
Premier Inn Chesterfield Town Centre hotel
439 reviews
3.81 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Highfield House Farm Shop & Tea Rooms
171 reviews
.36 miles away
The Bull's Head
854 reviews
1.35 miles away
The Black Swan
386 reviews
2.53 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Holymoor Riding School and Hacking Centre
7 reviews
1.47 miles away
Little Monkeys Play Centre
44 reviews
2.59 miles away
Matlock Farm Park
1,345 reviews
2.47 miles away
Linacre Reservoirs
320 reviews
3.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
julianheawood
5 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jo S | Reviewed this property |
I've seen dogs in the bistro, mostly lounging by the log fire. X
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RED LION RESTAURANT, Stonedge - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Restaurant

Red Lion Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4