We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pilgrim Inn Restaurant

££ - £££, , British
Hythe Road, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
+44 23 8086 7752
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork loin” (3 reviews)
“trout” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hythe Road, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 271 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Laverstoke salad and frontier battered fish and chips with slaw for lunch! And a delicious combo plate for supper. We also followed up with some Buffalo icecream! The sea salt and Carmel and chocolate scoops completed this delicious meal! Also delicious breakfast as part of...More

Thank Karen P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good food, usually have a wide selection of gluten free food too. And of course great beer and cider selections.More

Thank amandajmgunness
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us with your comments following your recent visit to dine with us. We are now also stocking gluten free Peroni, which makes a great addition to our ever expanding gluten free produce. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Popped in for a Sunday roast. Service was brilliant as it always is and the roast pork was lovely. Love the atmosphere in this pub. So friendly and welcoming

Thank Charlie1376
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for leaving us with your comments following your recent Sunday visit. We you will consider returning to try our new menu, which has launched today Kind Regards Andy Deputy Manager

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Have had a few meals here over the last few months and the idea of eating here always seems to be better than the reality. The menu is ok, but a little pretentious. The food is served well but nothing to write home about and...More

Thank Lisa S
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review following recent visits to us. I am sorry to see that feel our food is overpriced. We are launching our new menu next week, with the desserts priced between £6-£7 Kind Regards Andy...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here as we were in the area, also we new it would be pet friendly. My husband ordered burger with chips and salad, I ordered spinach gnocchi. They took awhile but the food was good, we also had 15% voucher off from the...More

Thank Hotveggie
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us with your comments following your recent meal with us. I was pleased to read your feedback on the food, which is all cooked fresh to order, which is why it does occasionally take longer to come out of the kitchen...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

The Pilgrim is a typical country pub, fairly straightforward menu, with enough choices. We called by for Dinner and had a reasonable time, although I have to say that the Settle I sat on could have certainly done with a Steam Clean. Unfortunately, although what...More

1  Thank Maxcaddy
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments following your recent visit. We have plans in place to get all of upholstery steamed cleaned in the coming weeks, as we have noted that they are, as you mention in need of this....More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We were there for Steak night. While the steak was OK... overcooked, the value for money is definitely bad. At £23 per steak, we also had to pay for a very liquid tasteless pepper sauce made from either very low fat cream or . ???...More

1  Thank jpgermain45
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

I am very disappointed to read that your meal wasn't up to standard, I will ensure that our chef's don't send out overcooked food, as this is not something that we accept here. Kind Regards Andy Deputy Manager

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Disappointing visit. Slow service. Dirty seats and uninspiring food. Looks attractive from the outside. Look elsewhere. Special not available! Menu choices rather limited. Pleasant service but rather slow kitchen.More

1  Thank firrip
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I was disappointed to read that your recent visit wasn’t up to our usual standards, I will address the issues you encountered and ensure that if we do run out of our specials, that they are removed from the board when we sell the last...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Random stop resulted in great experience. Smashing room, comfy bed and a super breakfast with ample choice. Very friendly and attentive staff made the experience more so. Lovely!

Thank Jason H
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Many Thanks for your comments Jason, I pleased to see you enjoyed your impromptu stay with us recently, and hope you will consider us again in the future if you are in the area Kind Regards Andy Deputy Manager

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed opposite so of course we were going to eat at the pub. Our inclusive breakfast was great, although yourself plenty of time, as they cook everything fresh, but well worth the wait. Then we had a evening meal there as well. All really...More

Thank Sozlovesholisays
Andrew R, Manager at Pilgrim Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Many thanks for your comments, I will pass them onto the team to read. We hope you can visit again soon Kind Regards Andy Deputy Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
KJ's Cafe
7 reviews
.89 miles away
Bulthi Hut
6 reviews
.43 miles away
Bold Forester
208 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New Forest Platinum Day Tours
45 reviews
.54 miles away
New Forest Wildlife Park
994 reviews
2.08 miles away
Charterdays
19 reviews
2.23 miles away
Red Funnel Ferries
1,390 reviews
2.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DavidF1939
7 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jenny D | Reviewed this property |
I think there has been a misunderstanding.I visited the Pilgrim Inn last year when there was no closure of hot food in the kitchen.There was a full menu as I can recall.I have not returned to this Inn recently.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
08:00 - 10:00
Monday
07:30 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hythe Road, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Marchwood
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8086 7752
  • E-mail
Description
Set in 2 pretty thatched cottages, The Pilgrim Inn, Marchwood is a haven for New Forest visitors, amidst beautifully kept gardens. Winner of the Hampshire Dish of the Year award, The Pilgrim Inn menu offers freshly made British dishes using locally sourced produce. Specialising in traditional and modern pub favourites, The Pilgrim Inn also serves a hearty Sunday roast in this stunning, picturesque location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing