We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

bel cibo

Pandanus Plaza 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good35%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“cibo” (102 reviews)
“pasta” (141 reviews)
“pancetta” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pandanus Plaza 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 440 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived to an empty restaurant with a group of 16 and the waiter acted like it was too much trouble. Refused to leave a jug of water for the table, coming up with some excuse that there weren't enough jugs for all the tables...More

8  Thank Andrew V
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

It may come as a surprise to you but many restaurants wouldn't be able for a group of 16 that just walk in with no booking. Thankfully you arrived when we opened at 5pm so we knew it was possible despite having the restaurant close...More

Reviewed 7 January 2016

Was a lovely restaurant, great ambience, service excellent. Bit overpriced. My meal was so lovely and they catered for my food allergies. I had Moreton bay bug risotto, it was delicious. My friends had linguine seafood. Wine was really good quality. I would return again.

1  Thank JenandGazza
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Thank you for your good review. I'm pleased that we were able to cater for your allergies which isn't always possible & you enjoyed 2 of our most popular dishes. It's great that you would return, a compliment in itself. Cheers.

Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stayed in Port Douglas for 5 days, and ate here on two occasions. Quite pricey, I thought, but there was a pleasant atmosphere and we enjoyed the food. The restaurant was well laid out and the staff really friendly and eager to please.

Thank Ornsay
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Thank you for your good review & it is fantastic to read that you dined with us twice in 5 days & enjoyed the atmosphere & good food. Cheers.

Reviewed 6 January 2016

we stopped in without reservations, which did not seem to be a problem. The service was a bit slow but the food was great. The scallop dish may be my favorite from the trip.

Thank jjmm2016
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Thank you for your good review about our scallops. There is a long line of customers that have become regular diners just to eat more of this great tasting dish.Cheers.

Reviewed 3 January 2016

as most places in town you better reserva a table in advance. pizza was pretty good, service was ok and average price too

Thank mjoao1962
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thanks for your good review & I'm pleased you enjoyed your pizzas with us.Cheers.

Reviewed 2 January 2016

We were pleased on arrival to find we had been given a table on the balcony as requested. Attentive waitress took drink orders quickly however it took over 20 minutes for them to arrive. Menu looked great but unfortunately food didn't live up to expectation...More

5  Thank 1989SophieS
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

I always wonder about such a dramatic heading. Whilst we all like super fast service & I think 20 mins to wait for a drink is on the longer side but this length of time would surprise me. As for your food only being warm?...More

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Had a family dinner here on a Saturday night, and while we unfortunately arrived at the same time as nearly 20 other diners were welcomed, seated and looked after like we were the only table in the place! Service was only topped by a lovely...More

Thank Megan S
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you for a great 5 star review. We have had a very busy festive week & the bel cibo team has been doing their best to ensure our guests enjoy their dining experience with us. I'm glad to read you had such a wonderful...More

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Centrally located, right in the heart of Port Douglas, this restaurant boasts a very tasty, and affordable menu! All 3 courses, as well as the wine menu were top notch! Would definitely recommend a visit if you're in town!

Thank David N
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thanks for a great review & Awesome headline! Cheers.

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Very nice food, you'll need to book at busy times though. Service is a little slow and inattentive. I had to help myself to the water on one occasion. As I said, can't fault the food, menu is a little more up market. Still good...More

Thank Ianbyrne
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank your for your good review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. We have been extremely busy over this festive period & I'm sorry that the service staff didn't spend a little more time being personal with you, but as you can appreciate...More

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Bel Cibo overlooks the main road in Port Douglas via an open air balcony. We were greeted very quickly and overall the service was great. There is a good selection of entrees, mains & deserts. I'd highly recommend the scallops entree, wow, it's really good....More

Thank Chris H
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Thank you for your good review.I'm happy you enjoyed such a good time with us. Cheers.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Watergate Restaurant & Lounge Bar
1,931 reviews
.05 miles away
Cafe Fresq
903 reviews
.02 miles away
Mocka's Pies
538 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ngarru Gallery
24 reviews
.05 miles away
Des Spencer Art
14 reviews
.07 miles away
Port Douglas Tourist Information Centre
20 reviews
.03 miles away
ABC Scuba Diving Port Douglas
982 reviews
.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
HitchSlapp
Having reviewed the negative reviews of this restaurant it is clear the owner cannot take any criticism at all. Maheno - OCT 2015 wrote that she was unhappy as they were charged for a side dish that came after the meal wash finished and the owner stated she must be mistaken it cannot be his restaurant. Impossible for such a thing to happen in HIS restaurant. He then goes on to try and shift the blame onto ANOTHER restaurant!? I wrote a bad review for my experience at this restaurant earlier in the year and the owner attacks me for it. Even attacking my appearance in my profile pic! @ KiwiChef, people are entitled to write their opinions and complain if they have had a bad experience. Your response to those opinions and complaints reflects your customer service skills, your ability to take and handle criticism and just your general maturity. You attack every person who has a negative opinion about their experience at your restaurant. I'm sure if I go again I might have a better or even a perfect experience, but the time I visited I didn't and you shouldn't attack people who don't praise you, your food, staff and venue. Last thing, it's extremely low and scummy behavior to try and blame another restaurant for a bad review YOU received (as mentioned above). You actually say of the bad review "there is another Italian Restaurant in Port Douglas - Bucci, they seem to have many negative reviews on their TA page about food & service.I agree with you & just cannot fathom that happening here.Ciao" I notice it is not the first time you try to blame this restaurant. I'll be letting them know so they can report you. I'm sure you're going to have a charming and professional response ready for me after hearing some hard truth. I feel sorry for the poor staff member you're going to force to reply to this. I hope people catch on to you. Kiwi "Chef".
26 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kiwichef | Property representative |
You make me laugh Hitchslapp.
3
Votes
grimrater
18 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Janine J | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Apologies, this review was intended for Bel Cibo and has now been rectified by TA. Thanks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pandanus Plaza 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Port Douglas
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4099 6330
  • E-mail
Description
bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing