Locanda Restaurant & Public Bar

Locanda Restaurant & Public Bar

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+61 3 9635 1246+ Add website
Hours
Sun
6:30 - 23:00
Mon
6:30 - 23:00
Tue
6:30 - 23:00
Wed
6:30 - 23:00
Thu
6:30 - 23:00
Fri
6:30 - 23:00
Sat
6:30 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£3.00 – £22.00
CUISINES
International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Can a vegetarian person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
Locanda Restaurant & Public Bar celebrates Local Produce. With an uncompromised focus on the best Victorian and locally sourced produce, Locanda's menu honours local and sustainable ingredients in their abundance and showcases a fresh and inspired menu with a nod to Italia. Nestled in the heart of Melbourne's iconic East End Theatre district, Locanda Restaurant and Public Bar offers sophisticated but relaxed dining. Fitted with high ceilings, Italian marble, iconic round bar, natural timber & plus velvets, the furniture's contemporary design elements instantly set a luxurious and exciting tone. Executive Chef, Bas Van Uyen, started his career in Cookery at age 14. Before commencing at Locanda, he was the Executive Sous Chef at Crown & Operations Executive Chef for the Lucas Group. He joins Locanda ready to influence the team with wholesome, home-made and local produce. Getting the best out of simple ingredients and working with Victorian Farmers to showcase the very best produce.
PRICE RANGE
£3.00 – £22.00
CUISINES
International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles369 reviews
Excellent
132
Very good
122
Average
61
Poor
34
Terrible
20
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

gippyhippy
Paynesville212 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 business
We were with quite a large group dining, the meals were nice but we had to wait far too long for them to be served. Most meals took 1 1/2 hours or more to come out after ordering. We needed to be on our tour by a certain time and the restaurant knew this on us booking. My steak was cooked to perfection. Watch for happy hour with the drinks but before ordering your drink ask the staff if that's on the happy hour price. I was caught a couple of times with my order then was charged full price because the type of wine I ordered was Aparently not on the happy hour price even though the advertisement said wine was included. Inwoukdnhave appreciated them explaining that before they charged me the full price.
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VeronicaNn
Hello Gippyhippy, Thank you for your 4 star review. We do apologise that we fell short on this occasion. I have looked into your feedback and can confirm that our records do show that we were extremely and unexpectedly busier than usual on that day. In regards to the Happy Hour drinks, Our signage around the bar an hotel does state house wine but after your comments we will make this more clear and visible for Happy Hour guests. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle M
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 solo
First time visit won’t be my last. Was looking for a reasonably quick dinner in between two shows...dinner service starts early so suited well for a 5pm Saturday. Had oysters and steak...steak was highlight, cooked perfectly and delicious. Need to order accompaniments as well. Extremely good table service, polite, friendly and attentive.
Written 18 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner between your show and thank you for taking your time to provide such great feedback from you resent stay with us! I will pass on the lovely words about our service to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Locanda Restaurant & Bar.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Texas Traveler
Texas177 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Really happy to stumble upon a fine restaurant, especially an Italian, that easily accommodated our diets. The lovely Parisian waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and attentive to our dietary needs. The snapper with fennel was really good! The fish was flaky and the fennel was neither mushy nor hard as a rock. Chicken Saltimbucco was delicious-not overcooked. The ingredients of the caprese salad were vibrant tasting and visually appealing. We highly recommend!!
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VeronicaNn
Thank you for your review Carolyn. we have passed on your comments to the kitchen and restaurant staff. We hope to see you back soon
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mel B
63 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 couples
Having recently moved to the Melbourne CBD, my partner & I decided to dine at Locanda for dinner. I ordered the mushroom & truffle risotto, which turned out to be bland, watery, no sign of any truffle flavour & quiet frankly awful. The waitress asked if anything was wrong with the meal as I'd hardly eaten it. I explained the situation, and I was offered a desert to make up for the poor meal, which I declined. We asked for the bill and we were given a 20% discount - an insult as that didn't even cover the risotto dish. Poor food and poor customer service. I would not return to this restaurant. They obviously don't value their customers... There's an abundance of other amazing restaurants to visit in the area that serve beautiful food, and value their customers.
Written 14 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRMcG
Thanks for your review. Our service reports indicate that there were 2 quality checks during your meal and you advised you were not happy with it at the end of the meal. Offers for an alternative meal or dessert were made. I'm sorry you felt the 2 offers of compensation were insulting or that somehow, the offers showed a lack of concern by our team when you did not finish you meal. We launched a new menu last week and we've shared your feedback, I'm sure it will help us to provide a better standard for our future guests.
Written 16 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jviola
Melbourne35 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We booked a private room at Locanda to celebrate our wedding. We’d previously visited to try the food and were impressed by the menu and the quality of all dishes. Everything we had on that first visit was delicious and our mind was made up pretty quickly. The set menu available on the day was varied and catered for a wide range of needs and tastes. From the canapés to the desserts, you could not fault any of the dishes. The private service we received on the evening was also excellent, and this added to a fantastic atmosphere. We will continue to visit the restaurant. Thanks again for a great night and making the day finish so well!
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VeronicaNn
Thank you for your review Jviola. We appreciate you taking the time to let people know about our restaurant :)
Written 11 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

heiressdren
Melbourne209 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
We had a small lunch reception after a registry wedding at Locanda Private Dining and Deli. The events sales coordinator Emma was so helpful with any requests before the event. Sheyenne, Daniel and Nancy made sure the lunch event went so smoothly. Their customer service exceeded my expectations. They were on point, helpful and friendly to all guests. The staff also helped me to setup the venue perfectly. I was just floored when I arrived to see how beautiful it all came! The food was amazing and so beautifully presented from the yummy canapes to the plated meals! Our guests were so happy and left full. I'd also like to thank the Chef for presenting our wedding cake so beautifully with fresh berries and cream. As a bride with a hospitality and events background, I would highly recommend Locanda for any events in the future. THANK YOU TEAM!
Written 6 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
Thank you for your fantastic review from your Wedding Reception. We all know how stressful wedding planning can be so I am pleased to hear that we exceeded you expectations and you enjoyed your big day! I have passed on this great feedback to the team and we hope to see you soon here again!
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NicoleK1982
Ballarat35 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 couples
We had dinner and dessert at Locanda. We had a steak and salmon, both of which were nicely cooked and very tasty. Catered well for GF diner with beer and GF meals/ modifications available. Only down point was the service was very slow. Not many tables and took us 2 hours to eat dinner and dessert. Staff were polite.
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRMcG
Thanks for your review and feedback, we're glad you enjoyed the food. Disappointing to hear the service speed wasn't as it should be. We do cook Room Service orders for Rydges Melbourne from Locanda so sometimes there is a bit going on behind the scenes! Great to get your insights and we will keep working on it!
Written 18 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David
Lilydale3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
The staff go above and beyond to make sure that you time (& meal) is of the utmost quality. I cannot stress enough how wonderful this restaurant is. This was our first wedding anniversary dinner and the restaurant where we had our first date. They made the whole night nothing short of wonderful!
Written 6 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
Thank you for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Will pass this onto to the rest of the team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Locanda Bar & Restaurant!
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amberd
Melbourne50 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 friends
Exceptional service. very attentive and friendly. Cocktails were refreshing. Salmon was a twist with fresh fruit. Duck was super delicious and skin nice and crispy. Brûlée was a little disappointing but we will defiantly be back
Written 22 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
Thank you for your great feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and you were well looked after by our team! I will make sure this is passed on to the team. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Written 25 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue-Ellen Deckker
Melbourne31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 couples
We chose Locanda as a dinner spot in between Harry Potter and the Cursed Child sessions. Absolutely fantastic service and food. Could not fault a thing! We had the Mac and cheese croquettes for starters - delicious! If anything, we could have eaten more as there were 3 to a serving. Had the eye fillet for dinner - amazing and perfectly cooked. Even the side of fries I got was perfectly salted! Really great experience, highly recommend!
Written 18 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
Thank you for giving us this great feedback and reccomendation. We love when our guests enjoy their dinner with us and we hope to see you back in Locanda in the near future.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pam D
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We had the pre theatre menu in between Harry Potter parts one and two. Booked from Wellington online - super easy. Restaurant was just a few minutes from the theatre. Good service, good food, lovely restaurant.
Written 25 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VeronicaNn
Thank you Pam. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you pre theatre meal. We hope to have you back soon
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

barbara p
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 none
Great experience staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely dinner and a nice bottle of wine as it was a pre Theatre dinner for my Sons Birthday. All the meals were fantastic and we had plenty of time to get to the Princess Theatre. I highly recommend Locanda Restaurant and will certainly go back again next time I am in the city.
Written 8 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRMcG
Thanks for a great review. We like to think we do Pre-theatre very well and we're glad you thought so too! We'd love to see you again soon!
Written 29 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

George F
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
We dined at Locanda before a theatre show and give it a 6/10 and might return. Onion soup was mediocre, brisket was good, but Winter Pie (vegetarian) was small, not very tasty and a rip-off at $28! Expected more variety and interesting vegetarian options. Waitress couldn’t advise on wines and beer list was boring.
Written 28 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

chinajulie
Hobart54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
Really enjoyed our meal, the staff made certain too check if we were seeing a show and what time we needed to leave. Our waitress was exceptional and we will definitely be going back
Written 12 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Whiteley
Thanks for your lovely review Julie. Great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us! Hope to see you back in Locanda in the near future.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nimbus10
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 couples
Had meal just before a show.. Meals were delivered efficiently and staff were friendly.. Would recommend
Written 25 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRMcG
Thanks for the review and the recommendation!
Written 29 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 365
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LOCANDA RESTAURANT & PUBLIC BAR, Melbourne - Chinatown - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Melbourne HotelsMelbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Melbourne
Things to Do
All Melbourne RestaurantsRestaurants near Locanda Restaurant & Public Bar
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire