We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wagamama Newmarket

) #1,674 of 1,913 Restaurants in Auckland ££ - £££ Japanese, Asian
29 Nuffield Street | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
+64 9-524 4975
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Asian
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 Nuffield Street | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Wagamama is an Asian restaurant on Nuffield street New Market A very busy restaurant with communal tables....so if you don't like sitting with strangers????....then this place isn't for you!!.... Wonderful menu!!! and excellent food!! Great wine!! Lovely friendly staff!!! Lots of atmosphere!!!...can be noisy....but it...More

Thank Brycee10
wagamamanewzealand, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

hi Brycee10, thanks for the great feedback! I will pass this on to the team at newmarket. kind regards, wagamama :)

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Located on Nuffield Street in Newmarket, this is a nice place to find something for everyone. The food and service were good, but mixed up some of our items. The poor waitress was very busy because there were only two wait staff, so she forgot...More

Thank LegallyBlondeVegan
wagamamanewzealand, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

hi LegallyBlondeVegan! firstly - love you username! thank you for the feedback, i'm sorry to hear we mixed up your order. please email me at louisa@wagamama.co.nz so we can chat further. kind regards, wagamama :)

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner, service was ok but our mains arrived 10mins apart. We did not go out to eat separately. Food was ok my main that arrived last was cold.More

Thank greg s
wagamamanewzealand, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi greg, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. wagamama is set up like a japanese ramen house, where everything is cooked to order in seperate sections and brought to the table as soon as it's ready, and when the food is...More

Reviewed 23 February 2017

We returned the tuna as it smelt off. One of use had two sides ($16), others chicken curry ($22) which had very little chicken, and chicken salad which was ok ($22). Eaten in this chain overseas and it was much better. Noise was very very...More

Thank costello_m
Management response:Responded 28 February 2017

I am very sorry, and embarrassed to hear that you had such a disappointing experience at Wagamama. I will be investigating this complaint. I would love it if you could please get in contact with me at louisa@wagamama.co.nz so we can chat about it and...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Food was OK but the speed of service was horrible. We had our first mains delivered and were still waiting over an hour later and after asking numerous times for 3 final mains to turn up.

Thank gcnz
LouisaWagamama, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi gcnz, I'm so sorry to hear about the dissapointing service at Wagamama Newmarket. This is unusual for Wagamama. Please get in touch with me at Louisa@wagamama.co.nz so we can chat further. Kind Regards

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Revisited this restaurant after a few years and we were really disappointed. We walked in, realised it was practically empty and looked uninviting and walked out. We told ourselves we were being silly and went in again. We should have obeyed our intincts and stayed...More

Thank Ecureuil2014
LouisaWagamama, Public Relations Manager at Wagamama Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Ecureuil2014, Firstly, sorry for such a late reply. We have dropped the ball here on communicating. I will be speaking with our chefs regarding this matter. Please get in touch with me at Louisa@wagamama.co.nz so we can make things right. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Could have been better, taste of food was a little pedestrian and the price was a bit on the high side for what was on offer. Had the ramen, pork was pretty average and not really "Asian" flavoured...just pork with some oyster sauce dropped on...More

Thank travel-fa-eva
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I am not the most adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but I can highly recommend the chilly chicken salad. The Nuffield Street wagamama's is great for lunch and meeting people as it is centrally located and parking in the area is quite good.

Thank Martin0NZ
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The food was average, service even worse. The waiter was friendly enough, our meal took over 20 mins to come, even with only two tables being served. The food came with the wrong thing. Wouldent recommend visiting.

Thank Wayne L
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Great Fresh Juice & Service, food average. We had dinner and order to fresh juices which were wonderful. the Edamame was good the chicken gyos okay and the chicken ramen just had no taste, we asked for soy sauce to try to give it some...More

Thank LeVasaResort
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cali - All Day Eatery
61 reviews
.06 miles away
Tasca - Spanish Tapas Bar & Restaurant
160 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Monet
36 reviews
.11 miles away
Nuffield St Cafe
55 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Eden Garden
117 reviews
.69 miles away
Auckland Museum
4,870 reviews
.77 miles away
Cornwall Park
1,120 reviews
.85 miles away
Mount Eden
2,689 reviews
.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wagamama Newmarket staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Nuffield Street | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-524 4975
Description
Food to feed your soul! Asian inspired dishes - Ramen, Gyoza, Curry, Teppanyaki, Donburi, Salads and lots of sides to share. Casual dining in a modern environment, that is family friendly.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing