We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Italian Restaurant

87-89M Customs St. West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-356 7080
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good35%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“carbonara” (11 reviews)
“tiramisu” (8 reviews)
“viaduct area” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
87-89M Customs St. West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

One of the worst place ever I have ever eaten before. The atmosphere was so bad. We did not understand if the man yelling all the time a one weiter were the owner or the manager but he was too rude. So bad. We thought...More

Thank MartaSei
Reviewed 2 days ago

A fantastic location, right on the viaduct. A group of 16 had a meal here to celebrate a birthday. The service was very slow, with only one waiter serving our table, hardly anyone else in the restaurant. I found a piece of broken glass on...More

Thank shazzzalongley
Reviewed 6 days ago

Portofino is within seeing distance of the water. Any restaurant close to water and/or view gets higher points, easily, but even without the close distance to the water, the restaurant had great food. It also has heaters, so customers could sit outside during the winter....More

Thank adj7317
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Large group of 15 had a very enjoyable dining experience at Portofino. Staff were friendly and efficient. The Bruschetta with Basil was a starter and I enjoyed the Mora Pizza. True to form Italian pizza. Prices we're good as we're the wines Highly recommended

Thank Andrew W
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice Italian restaurant near the water in Auckland. We both has pizza and were very impressed. The gelato for dessert was also really good.

Thank SB9308
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a great dining experience, we dined there twice in three days it was that good, amazing

Thank Troy T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here as a family of six - the children had spaghetti bolaignaise and a gluten free pizza. The adults had ravioli, cannelloni and a chicken dish. All agreed their dishes were very tasty. Portions were not huge, but adequate. The tiramisu was to...More

1  Thank colleen r
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ufa!! the manager was a kefe the service is sooooo bad ive never been some where so terrible! dont ever go there trust me its a nightmare

Thank Violet B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friends were supposed to have a nice dinner for my friends 18th birthday however, when we got there we waited 30 minutes for someone to even come up and give us our menus and then another 30 minutes to take our order....More

Thank jmtamatea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went for a friends birthday dinner, atmosphere was nice, we had a lovely time. Food took over an hour to be served but that was ok, it was a group of 9. I ordered risotto alla pescatora I wanted a scallop dinner but they...More

Thank Cami N
PortofinoViaduct, General Manager at Portofino Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cami Saying we are shocked means saying nothing! We never had a problem with our seafood risotto or pasta. We do not have it mixed! It is purchased from our supplier separately every time. What is happening right now- is that we are struggling...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,524 reviews
.01 miles away
Monsoon Poon
602 reviews
.06 miles away
Oyster & Chop
377 reviews
.02 miles away
Dr Rudi's Rooftop Brewing Co.
124 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
884 reviews
.12 miles away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
121 reviews
.07 miles away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - Princes Wharf
33 reviews
.15 miles away
T Galleria by DFS, Auckland
11 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Portofino Italian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87-89M Customs St. West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-356 7080
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing