We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Indonesia Restaurant

409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8303
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rijsttafel” (318 reviews)
“seafood” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 710 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Amazing food,drinks....awesome staff....nice atmosphere....just love to dine out there . We're locals in Napier (or would like to call ourselves locals) and have thoroughly enjoyed the food and services provided here!The Supreme Rijsttafel is our favorite pick every time we visit this restaurant!

Thank Conny9876
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983

Reviewed 13 June 2013

We're locals in Napier (or would like to call ourselves locals) and have thoroughly enjoyed the food and services provided here!The Supreme Rijsttafel is our favourite pick everytime we visit this restaurant! You just can't expect more from this place! Amazing hospitality... amazing food!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Alex C
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Great to see that you as locals are that happy with our restaurant. No doubt we will see you back. Thanks for the review. Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - 30 Years Young...

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fabulous service, we walked into this restaurant thinking Indonesian experience- it ended up being more of a Dutch Indonesian infusion with the Rijsttafel menu. This is a great idea- a mini taste of a range of Indonesian dishes. The only thing I would say is...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Keryn M
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your evening at our little establishment. Whilst we appreciate your suggestion to 'spice up' the food, our experience has learned us that to serve the spice condiments separately is the preference of most of our customers. Thanks...More

Reviewed 9 June 2013

After being greeted by the funny, friendly Dutch host, we shared the fantastic house special: the Rijsttafel, which was a tapas-like variety of small Indonesian dishes served on a candle-warming tray. They were able to accommodate a mixed group of vegetarians and meat-eaters. All the...More

Thank Mcmor
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

You're happy, we're happy! Great to read that you enjoyed your evening with us (and even appreciate my 'humour') and we feel very special that we provided you with 'one of the best meals you had in New Zealand'. We will be soon in Los...More

Reviewed 9 June 2013

I must admit, I had heard about town all the rave reviews for this restaurant but was a little dubious as Indonesian cuisine was something I had never tried. Man was I glad I did! They had a rijsttafel menu, which is pretty much a...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ihearttravel01
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

So now we are the 'talk of the town' ... We like to commend you for trying us out and of course we are very happy that we provided you with a memorable experience. It's true that we have diners who travel to Napier, only...More

Reviewed 9 June 2013

this was my first time having an indonisian meal and I loved it,it was a wounderful experience and the food was delicious. the staff were amazing and friendly also very funny and could have a convocation with them I would love to go again

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Samantha W
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

For everything there is a first... Thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your dining experience at our establishment. We'd love to see you back. Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - 30 Years young...

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We love Indonesian food and wanted to go here for a long time but working in hospitality ourselves made this impossible up until now. "So we finally made it..." and what a lovely experience it was! We were welcomed by the owner into a warm...More

Thank Hieke W
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. We have the same problem as well, being in the hospitality industry and working 6 nights we miss out on opportunities to dine at other places in the area. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere as...More

Reviewed 4 June 2013

After reading all the amazing reviews on trip advisor I thought this place would be on a different level of amazing. WRONG. I've eaten in some amazing restaurants around the world, I use trip advisor a lot to determine where I go, to stay and...More

Thank 3343dubai
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

It is very clear to us that we have upset you... Of course that is never the aim of anyone working in hospitality. We do sincerely apologise to you if this has been the case. Why did you not mention anything when you were at...More

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stopped by on a Saturday night at 7pm - told they were busy and could we come back later - only had to wait half an hour so happy right from the start! Restaurant had the atmosphere of a house - with lots of interesting...More

Thank Mairi C
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your favourable review of our establishment. Wishing you all the best recreating the dessert, but you're more than welcome to come back to order it again... Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - Restaurant Indonesia - Celebrating 30 Years...

Reviewed 3 June 2013

A little restaurant full of charm. Celebrating 30 years and you can see why. We were served with a quirky charm which endears you to this little haven. I'd thoroughly recommend you go for their specialty mixed dish offering. We had a mixture of the...More

Thank 246,170
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your good wishes for our next 30 years...! It's great to read that you enjoyed your evening with us and we are happy to add you to the long list of happy customers. Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff at Restaurant...More

PreviousNext
16970717273113
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in Napier
The Nautilus
601 reviews
.04 miles away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
708 reviews
.08 miles away
Shoreline Motel Napier
590 reviews
.08 miles away
Beach Front Motel Napier
423 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant
432 reviews
.39 miles away
MINT Restaurant
442 reviews
.42 miles away
Kilim
348 reviews
.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Napier i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
237 reviews
.55 miles away
National Aquarium
1,137 reviews
.18 miles away
Sunken Gardens
172 reviews
.49 miles away
MTG Hawke's Bay
223 reviews
.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Quizas1
3 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Yes we can!
0
Votes
charmanda
1 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Thank's for your concern. It's not illegal but not the most hygienic, I agree. We do change the towel every day and have tried a paper towel dispenser. This unfortunately has blocked out ladies toilet twice within a year... More
0
Votes
Tom R
8 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Sorry justsaw your message now! YES we are open, you're most welcome!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
05:30 - 21:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-835 8303
  • E-mail
Description
Temporarily Closed

We are on our annual winter break at the moment.
Open again on the First of September.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing