We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marbles Buffet Restaurant

££ - £££Seafood, , Asian
390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
+64 6-759 9099
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (23 reviews)
“play dough” (2 reviews)
“hot ham” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, Asian, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Chaotic atmosphere, seriously marginal food. Overpriced unless your in it for the volume. Margaritas are worst you'll find in the country.More

Thank DAH64
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Hi DAH64 - if your review is genuine and you did join us, please make contact. I'm incredibly proud of our team, the meals we serve, and the atmosphere here. Also, we mix lots of cocktails, but it is some considerable time since we served...More

Reviewed 12 December 2016

But the reception we got was strange/shocking to say the least. We were 2 guys staying in the same room at the Devon Hotel. The woman on the restaurant reception desk asked us if we were sleeping together.I found her comments rude and unnecessary. We...More

1  Thank smalloscar
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Thanks SO much for your feedback - I'm thrilled you found everything faultless, but refer to an offensive comment by one of our team. I'm so sorry! To make things worse, we've been unable to find anyone who can recall (or would allow) such offensive...More

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Marbles Buffet is located in the middle of The Devon Hotel. It's obviously really popular with locals. Reception booked our table when we arrived. We had a drink in the small adjoining bar before having dinner. A lovely young lady looked after us and told...More

1  Thank fryerfam491
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us. I hope that next journey to New Plymouth is not too far away. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 23 November 2016

Somebody complained in these comments,about staff being in a hurry to take away their plates. I think they would be the first to complain of having used plates on their tables. The service was fairly unobtrusive and friendly, in a relaxed Kiwi way. The food...More

Thank celticlegendltd
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks for joining us at Marbles Buffet, and here in New Plymouth, Taranaki. We'd love to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Walking into Marbles we were greeted at the counter by friendly staff who took us to our booked table. The restaurant has had an up grade since we last came. Nice clean and simple decor. A staff member came up and briefly told us about...More

1  Thank lindafearnley7
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback. Hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 21 November 2016

What a restaurant! We had such a great night. It was my wife's birthday and we could not have hoped for a better night. The staff were amazing. The food was sensational, but it was the staff that set this place apart from everywhere we've...More

1  Thank kevandbev51
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us for your wife's birthday. We're pretty proud of our team, too!! We'd love to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 18 November 2016

As a local, walking into the newly reovated Marbles it looked great. The decor is very modern and the new look is funky and clean...However the good stopped there. 1. Staff looked bored and hovered around tables, whisking plates ("Have you finished with that?") while...More

1  Thank Samantha210
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hi Samantha, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your dinner with us. But, we appreciate the feedback. Your comments will be discussed with our team. If we are to continue to be the region's most popular restaurant, it is critical we get it absolutely right...More

Reviewed 18 November 2016

Buffet style restaurant ideal for family and friends, plenty of choices. We went there last weekend and lots of diners, it was full.

Thank Eonlight
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016
Google Translation

Thanks for joining us. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were staying at The Devon Hotel in New Plymouth (LOVED the hotel too), and dined with locals in their main buffet restaurant. We loved the night. We couldn't recommend this restaurant more. Fresh modern décor. Friendly, and smiling staff. The biggest selection we've ever...More

1  Thank orangep603
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thanks for joining us. We really appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend had planned to dine in at the Marbles buffet tonight, as we had not been in for some time. However, upon arrival we were denied entry to the restaurant as we did not have an adult with us. After explaining to...More

Thank 197libbyn
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Good morning, I'm SO sorry, there has been some confusion when you planned to join us for dinner. I'd appreciate if you gave me a call (or email) to discuss. P: 06 7599099 E: peter@devonhotel.co.nz Again, my apologies! Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in New Plymouth
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
300 reviews
.02 miles away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
184 reviews
.05 miles away
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
204 reviews
.12 miles away
Lockwood Manor Motel
227 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Federal Store
361 reviews
.27 miles away
The Orangery
207 reviews
.19 miles away
Joe's Garage
303 reviews
.59 miles away
The Loving Hut
70 reviews
.55 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,341 reviews
.76 miles away
Puke Ariki
385 reviews
.97 miles away
Te Henui Cemetery
40 reviews
.31 miles away
New Plymouth i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
52 reviews
.95 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Marbles Buffet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 21:30
Monday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
06:00 - 09:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
06:00 - 09:30
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 9099
  • E-mail
Description
Dining will never be the same after your experience the magic of a night at Marbles Buffet. A huge variety, the choice will bewilder. Freshly baked breads, seafood, carvery, flavours from around the world a fabulous array of desserts, cheeses... The food is unbelievable, but the atmosphere needs to be experienced to be believed. Book now, and experience the magic of Marbles!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing