We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

££££European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-378 7080
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (14 reviews)
“truffle” (6 reviews)
“sorbet” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 140 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Myrtle and I went here and it was quite quiet. We ordered breads and truffle creme fresh. Loads of bread and not enough mousse. Myrtle ordered the scotch fillet and myself the sweet corn (entree size) for my main. It was suggested by our waiter...More

Thank Viv W
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear Viv W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor in regard to your recent dining experience. I am sorry to hear that in this occasion, we did not fully meet your expectations, and your feedback has been shared with...More

Reviewed 2 May 2016

The choice of pre-dinner drink was unavailable (lots of parties in at the weekend, being the excuse). The food was acceptable, but the service was poor, Many tables were left uncleared whilst staff spent long periods talking to guests.More

Thank WesMarmaduke
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear WesMarmaduke, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback in regard to your recent dining experience in Bistro Lago. I am sorry to hear that in this occasion,we did not meet your expectations, and actions have been taken to ensure it wont happen again...More

Reviewed 26 April 2016

Had a lovely dinner at Bistro Lago. All 3 courses were delicious, beautifully presented & flavoursome. Waitress was still in learning mode so a bit novice & a tad shy but guess you have to start somewhere. Was very busy but there were no delays...More

Thank taurustravellers
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear taurustravellers, Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor and I am glad to hear you enjoyed both food and service during your recent visit. I have passed your feedback to both front of house and kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing dinner, 3 of us had their fish special and one had a lamb rump along with the sautéed kale and asparagus. We were each delighted! They were plated beautifully and tasted even better. The Chardonnay we had was the best I've...More

Thank DeRiz
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear DeRiz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. The Osawa chardonnay is an excellent wine and indeed, would have been a great match with both lamb and fish. I have passed your feedback has been passed on to both...More

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Wonderful decor and very comfortable for families with young children. Their high chairs are clean and easy to use. Waiters are polite and service is excellent. We enjoyed our food and wine and can't really think of anything negative to say! Will definitely be back...More

Thank swisski
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear swisski, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I was pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed everything we have to offer. Your feedback has been passed to the kitchen and front of house team. I look...More

Reviewed 18 April 2016

Special dinner out for 8 people - Children, parents and Grandparents. Had booked dinner as staying at the Hotel. Great food - Waitress from Germany and struggled to understand us - but she was lovely and all the order came out correct. Food was really...More

Thank 886kate
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear 886kate, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that your dining experience was very special with 3 generations dining together. I look forwarded to welcome your whole family back to Bistro Lago in the near...More

Reviewed 17 April 2016

Lovely spot out of Taupo centre - located in The Hilton hotel. Don't need to be a guest to enjoy a meal here. We had A la Carte breakfast. Not a massive selection but what they had was beautifully cooked and tasty.Enjoyed all the little...More

Thank 2014angela52
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear 2014angela52 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor I am glad to hear that you enjoyed you breakfast experience with us I have passed your feedback on to all our breakfast staff. I hope to welcome you back next time you are passing through...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel management recommended the bistro and made the reservation for us. Short walk from our Hilton and we were immediately seated. Magnificent views facing the lake. I had a late birthday celebration and utterly enjoyed my dinner. The lamb is to die for, definitely...More

Thank Dessie K
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Dessie K, Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor The lamb is one of my favorite dishes on the menu and yes, we feel extremely lucky to have such a beautiful view. I have passed your feedback on to the kitchen and front...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016

Arrived at 10.30am and got a table easily without a reservation. Table was dirty so the service staff was going to have to reset the table while we had a look at the breakfast buffet to decide on buffet or ala carte for our breakfast....More

1  Thank Kathosh
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Kathosh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations during your recent breakfast experience. I have shared your feedback with, both front of the house and kitchen team...More

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We dined here on the last day of March and it was amazing. I had the steak and my wife had the lamb and the dishes where incredible. The lamb rump literally melted in the mouth and the steak was juicy and flavoursome and cooked...More

Thank Paul B
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Paul B, Thank you for your amazing review on TripAdvisor. We are lucky to have such a beautiful view with good food and wine to match. Our new head chef, takes a lot of pride in his food and we strive to create an...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
2,301 reviews
.06 miles away
Karaka Tree Motel
244 reviews
.65 miles away
Phoenix Resort
73 reviews
.66 miles away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
293 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rangitaiki Tavern
9 reviews
.05 miles away
Mole & Chicken
251 reviews
.73 miles away
Edgewater Restaurant
207 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
135 reviews
.44 miles away
Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley
336 reviews
.64 miles away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
79 reviews
.64 miles away
Taupo's Floatplane
90 reviews
.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-378 7080
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing