We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dockside

££ - £££Seafood, European,
Shed 3 | Queens Wharf, Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-499 9900
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“coconut cake” (7 reviews)
“fish and chips” (42 reviews)
“pork belly” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shed 3 | Queens Wharf, Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

the welcome and the service of the French waitress Désirée was perfect! The menu too. Christian and Isabelle.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Kikibleau
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I took our daughter here for lunch to celebrate her new job. It was a Thursday, and the restaurant was less than half-full. We started with me ordering a beer and the women ordering cocktails. The beer arrived quite promptly. The cocktails...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank simon w
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So good! Service and food were both excellent and the view is very nice. We loved everything— while a little pricey it was well worth splashing out and the details made it all worthwhile. If you’re wanting something a little special then this is just...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank HannahB3984
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great on a sunny summers day. I know Wellington struggles a bit with hospo staff at times, and over years the quality of service and food has fluctuated a bit. Reasonable quality, but the last few times has not been as cutting edge as it...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Hermanicus
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. We love the opportunity to retract our roof right back, open all the doors and bask in the sun. This week's visit by dolphins was the icing on the cake. We hope to see you again soon. Adam Tolly, Assistant General...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

During the month of December we dined here twice for work purposes. Both times we felt that the service was lacking. The meals were nice, but did not excel enough to make up for the very slow service. We felt like we were being ignored...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank calebstrawbridge
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Caleb. Thanks for bringing to our attention a repeat issue with service during the crazy month of December. We receive fantastic feedback about our service on a daily basis but we are working hard to improve the consistency of it. I hope work brings...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner for two with lovely waterfront seats and great service from our French waiter. He explained the chicken was quite spicy which helped us decide on what to eat. The lamb rack and the pork belly were chosen both excellent. Recommend one side...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Richard G
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Richard. Thanks for taking them time to leave us a great review. I'm delighted you enjoyed Guillaume's great service as well as our excellent food. I hope you join us again in the future. Adam Tolly, Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of our go to places when in Wellington. Outstanding service, good menu, albeit our newly vegetarian daughter was disappointed with only one option on the mains list. It was very pleasing to see that they were happy to replace bread with crackers for our...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank bernied836
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bernie. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted to hear you found the service from our "patient, happy and polite staff" to be outstanding. We do only have 1 vegetarian main - our amazing Beet Wellington! - but we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here New Years Day as a special treat. Dockside is part of the Shed 5/Crab Shack group fo restaurants. We wanted to eat at CrabShack but it was closed so we came to Dockside. The Seafood chowder entree size is very small and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank ArohaCM
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Aroha. Thank you for your feedback. We are actually an independently owned restaurant with no ties to Shed 5 or Crab Shack. Crab Shack are great but they are not similar in style to us so perhaps not the best alternative when they are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I first started work in Wellington, Dockside was a proper restaurant. The food was excellent, the space itself was perfectly maintained and the staff were professionals. 15 or so years later and it’s one salad bar away from being a Fisherman’s Table. I booked...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bella9867
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bella. I'm sorry you were unhappy with your food and service on New Year's Eve. Both our restaurants were full from 6pm until 11pm. We had the pleasure of hosting 275 happy diners - not to mention hundreds of casual diners and drinkers. Both...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dockside has a great location, good reviews and seems very popular so it seemed a good choice for an evening out. When we arrived they were busy and said we would have to eat in the bar. First thought was wished we had booked...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Graham H
conradb495, Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Graham. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were underwhelmed by your experience with us. Reservations are always recommended although we strive to accommodate as many people as possible, both in our restaurant and our bar area. Adam Tolly, Assistant General Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
InterContinental Wellington
1,758 reviews
.13 miles away
ibis Wellington
2,437 reviews
.15 miles away
Quest on Johnston
198 reviews
.19 miles away
Doubletree By Hilton Wellington
91 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Chameleon Restaurant
419 reviews
.12 miles away
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
1,014 reviews
.02 miles away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
967 reviews
.09 miles away
The Crab Shack
1,636 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
1,183 reviews
.09 miles away
Frank Kitts Park
195 reviews
.22 miles away
Civic Square
179 reviews
.18 miles away
Wellington Underground Market
190 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dockside staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 02:00
Monday
12:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 02:00
Thursday
12:00 - 02:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shed 3 | Queens Wharf, Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-499 9900
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing