We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mac's Brewbar

££ - £££, European,
4 Taranaki Street, Wellington, New Zealand
381 2282
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good49%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (22 reviews)
“chowder” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, International, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 Taranaki Street, Wellington, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great food, great beer (try three wolves) and great wi-fi. Managed to sync all our photos in the cloud while watching the world go by with view of harbour.More

Thank mike2481632
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at Mac's Brewbar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey Mike, thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Mac's Brewbar. We work hard to deliver a great experience for our customers, including providing a reliable high speed free WiFi connection. so we’re happy to hear that we were able to do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate dinner at Mac’s while visiting Wellington. This is a pub and the food was good pub food. We had the fish and chips which were fine but not great. The service was good and the view of the harbor enjoyable. If you are...More

Thank Mike_B52033
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a couple of hours to kill before heading off to a show so we called in here. Lots of different beers on tap that you can try before you buy. Nice plates of food to go with it as well. Well worth calling...More

Thank CraigandTania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stumbled across this place on the waterfront whilst trying to escape the wind! It's a large space that manages to create an atmosphere and was absolutely buzzing in the early evening with a varied mix of people: locals, tourists, families, business people and hipsters!...More

Thank CESandifer
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at Mac's Brewbar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you had a great time at Mac's Brewbar. It really made our day knowing that your experience exceeded your expectations. We will definitely be passing your feedback on to our staff as words...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for brunch, hadn't booked.Staff were lovely and very helpful.Wide range of food on menu and plenty of drinks to choose from.Something for everyone.More

Thank alan h
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at Mac's Brewbar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alan, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you had a great time having brunch at Mac's Brewbar. It really made our day knowing that your experience exceeded your expectations. We will definitely be passing your feedback on to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for dinner were seated inside immediately , there were good views of the warf and passers by, I ordered the 3 wolves and my wife mid vicious both worth a try, we both ordered the scotch fillet and chips , the steaks...More

Thank Holidayreviewers99
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at Mac's Brewbar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Holidayreviewers99, thanks for taking the time to let us know about this. We pride ourselves on offering great variety in our menu and it is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy the meal. We’ll be sure to pass this feedback on to the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went for lunch,here,we were seated quickly,and offered water,then asked if we wished to have drinks.great beers of course being macs.The food was very good,and reasonably priced.More

Thank Strang M
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at Mac's Brewbar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Strang M, thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Mac's Brewbar. We work hard to deliver a great experience for our customers, so we’re happy to hear that we were able to do this for you. We look forward to serving...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for a beer and fries and it was just perfect. We ordered at the bar and took the beers with us. The fries were delivered with Aioli (Great) and ketchup. A cute place right by the Te Papua museum.

Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There were 6 of us all pretty peckish so popped in here -ordered an antipasti for us all which was a really great choice. There was so much lovely things that we were all very impressed.

Thank Anne255371
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for lunch before WOW. Service was very good and they looked after us well since we were a big group. Food service was quick. The food was very average pub food, the fish was obviously cheap frozen pieces that were dry and tasteless....More

Thank Herbie15
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Apache
171 reviews
.15 miles away
Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar
270 reviews
.11 miles away
Karaka Cafe
283 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
10,583 reviews
.12 miles away
Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
486 reviews
.12 miles away
Wellington City Library
244 reviews
.20 miles away
Civic Square
148 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sophie R
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ana T | Reviewed this property |
I don't know...sorry.
0
Votes
alreadypacked1
11 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Spatchski | Reviewed this property |
Definitely no reservation needed but if you want to make sure that you have a table you should send them an email. I hope that will help. Cheers
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Taranaki Street, Wellington, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 381 2282
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing