We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portlander Bar & Grill

££ - £££Steakhouse, European,
75 Featherston Street | Cnr of Whitmore & Featherston Streets, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-498 3762
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (176 reviews)
“garlic mash” (11 reviews)
“broccolini” (10 reviews)
Open Now
06:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75 Featherston Street | Cnr of Whitmore & Featherston Streets, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Loved the food and service was excellent. Ambiance is nice too, bar opens till late with some nice local brews on tap

Thank Jonathan P
Orlaith M, Public Relations Manager at Portlander Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review Jonathan, we're pleased you had a wonderful experience at Portlander! Great to hear you had some top notch service and enjoyed our tap selections. See you next time! Kind Regards, Alana P

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Thought I was in for a treat but the lamb dish was an attempt to scatter things across the plate. The attempt totally missed Any mark it was trying to hit. Vegetables hard, over sized garlic cloves stuff into the lamb. My worst meal ever....More

Thank SpecialMemories
Orlaith M, Manager at Portlander Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi SpecialMemories, thank you for taking the time to review and i am sorry to read you were not happy with your lamb dish when you dined. this is very unusual for us as it is one of our most popular dishes, with this in...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

A couple of work mates and I went out for dinner and we ordered a couple of entrees, the cheeseburger and I had the Texas sticky ribs. The sauce on the ribs were nice, but the ribs were not that moist as expected. I did...More

Thank FoodieWB
Orlaith M, Manager at Portlander Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Winnon B, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were not amazed by our service but I am happy to see that this has not deterred you away. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and I...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Just had the best ribeye steak of my life at Portlander Bar and Grill! My steak came out packed with gorgeous flavour, perfectly medium rare, and accompanied by the most delicious bourbon and pepercorn sauce I've tast d! Bon appetit! Being a bit of a...More

1  Thank beans0007
Orlaith M, Manager at Portlander Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Beans0007, Thank you very much for your such a lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed yourself so much. Our steak is our specialty but it is great to hear that so many other elements were equally delicious. Hoping to see you in and...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Having returned from a disappointing restaurant meal where we left our food we returned to the hotel and ordered the Portlander dry aged burger. It was excellent and served hot and fresh. Highly recommended. We also ate breakfast here 2 mornings and were very happy...More

Thank NellyTrolley
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi NellyTrolley, I am delighted to hear that you decided to give us another chance and that this time was a hit for both the dry aged burger and our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon, Orlaith

Reviewed 24 September 2017

First ate here after long travel day. It was good so stayed in hotel for a second visit to Portlander when the weather was especially unpleasant. Meat is the feature with good reason. It is notable that the meat was always delivered to the table...More

Thank Andy R
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi Andy R, Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal in Portlander. Our dry age is the new feature of the restaurant so i am very happy to hear that you loved...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017

The staff at Portlander are excellent. Very friendly, helpful and efficient. The food is amazing. We enjoyed steak, salt and pepper squid and pork belly. Sides are equally delicious and desserts are amazing. Death by Chocolate Icecream Sundae is rather large, Creme Brulee is to...More

Thank Cheryl C
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi Cheryl C, Thank you very much for your review, i am delighted that you enjoyed you evening with us on both occasions, I have passed on these lovely comments to our kitchen and floor staff, Looking forward to seeing you again i the future,...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Good when your in a rush off to breakfast meetings very helpful staff second stay at rydges restaurant car parking and handy to everything

Thank 438michele
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Hi 438michele, I am delighted you have enjoyed our breakfast at Portlander on both occasions that you have stayed with us. I hope we will see you again soon at Rydges and Portlander, Thank you Orlaith

Reviewed 14 September 2017

After a long day of meetings, I chose to eat at Rydges in house restaurant. The service was fantastic and couldn't be faulted but my particular dish was a let down. I ordered the lamb shank pie, which looked fantastic on delivery but failed to...More

Thank JulieSNZ
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Hi JulieSNZ, Thank you for taking the tie to review Portlander, I am sorry the lamb shank pie did not fulfill its expectations, I have passed you comments onto our head chef to look into. I am however delighted to hear that you the service...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

First time to Wellington & to this restaurant. We had reserved a table for two but on arrival they had mistakenly reserved a table for four (which was in the main section of restaurant). We were then seated in the "hole" where there were 3...More

Thank Guts88
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Hi Guts88, Thank you for your review, I am happy to let you know that the wall is now down and we can see the light from wellington again through our beautiful new space. I am delighted to hear that you still enjoyed yourself and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Americanos Breakfast Restaurant
240 reviews
.10 miles away
Dillinger's Brasserie & Bar
114 reviews
.13 miles away
La Cloche Central
20 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Parliament Buildings
1,414 reviews
.21 miles away
Northern Explorer Train
387 reviews
.16 miles away
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry
458 reviews
.18 miles away
Old Government Buildings
96 reviews
.16 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
phill880
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Rhiannon B | Property representative |
Hi there, Great to hear you are on your way back to our side of the world. Our average head spend for a meal is about $80 including a couple of drinks and two courses - this is around 45 - 50 pounds.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$38
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 22:30
Monday
06:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
06:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
06:00 - 22:30
Thursday
06:00 - 22:30
Friday
06:00 - 22:30
Saturday
06:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Featherston Street | Cnr of Whitmore & Featherston Streets, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-498 3762
  • E-mail
Description
In a relaxing and friendly environment we invite our guests to revel in all the freshness and goodness our little slice of the world provides. PORTLANDER Nestled in a spot where land meets sea, the Portlander is a unique take on the grill house concept - one which is local, seasonal, cultivated... and just a little bit wild. We're about superb cuts of meat, prepared to perfection and finished in style. Bloody rare and rather well done - it's the ideal place to eat meat and greet. PORTLANDER is the proud winner of 'BEST RESTAURANT' at the Hospitality New Zealand Awards for Excellence 2015
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing