We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab Shack

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
649164250
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,096: English reviews
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived Friday evening and this place was humming - hostess said 45 minute wait but sent us to the next door restaurant bar to hang out. Had a glass of wine and appetizer and then our table was ready - 30 min max! Ordered softshell crabs and shrimp and smoked fish cakes - both excellent. Chips and coleslaw great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane F
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We dined at the Crab shack, the food was delicious. The only complaint was the children's meals, they were not served as ordered, we specifically stated what the children required, I guess the wait staff did not tell the kitchen what was ordered, resulting in meals having to be sent back to kitchen, and having to wait for the proper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Crab Shack has been wildly popular since it came on the Wellington scene. In trying their offering the positives were a great wharf location, casual atmosphere and relaxed approach. I was not so excited by the food. It was all well cooked etc but was vaguely reminiscent of any family fry up restaurant. I guess the food was enjoyable but... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrianE300
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place had a really fun feel with the boat , crab net, timber decor and quirky old time bowls to eat from. But it stopped right there. We ordered a mix of fish foods that was point in choosing this place. Most things were fried and certainly not fresh. I could not even begin to taste the fish or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam P
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning set up on the water front. Calamari was half price and seriously yum! Really good service from the lovely Canadian waiter.

Helpful?
Thank livrynne
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Great to hear you enjoyed your seaside snack of half-price calamari (every Thursday from 3 - 6 p.m.) as well as the friendly service from our front of house team. There's a different deal on for each day of the week so please don't hesitate to pay us another visit whenever you pass our way next ;) All... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I choose the Crab Shack for our evening meal on April 19th, our first night in Wellington. It was extremely busy and the meeter greeter explained it'll be a 10-15 minute wait. Which was fine by us but while I'd got his attention I asked if they offered gluten free options. What followed was extraordinary. He proceeded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill S
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for the great feedback on your server Ben, it's great to hear that your medical condition was efficiently and carefully managed and that you enjoyed your meal. As the manager on the night of your visit I apologize if you were perturbed by my question as to the seriousness of your condition. The fact is... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I walked around the area and surveyed the various menu's on offer from the competitors and found the "Crab Shack" to have the best variety of the lot. They have a great kids menu offering a choice of well presented and composed meals. 'Corn tortillas' and 'bangers and hash' were a favourite and are worthy of a mention here. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken S
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for the stellar feedback, I'm glad to hear both yourself and the kids were well looked after and fantastically fed! It's great to hear that the top tucker was accompanied by swift and friendly service too. Hopefully you'll pay us another visit next time you're wandering the waterfront. All the best from the Crab Shack... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch there and found is very disappointing. Steak was overdone and presentation was just slopped onto the plate. Very busy but more like a fast food experience than a restaurant. Seafood offerings were pretty cursory. If you want fish based meals there are other better options than this 'slaw with everything'. Staff were very friendly and helpful though and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murray G
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for the kind words on the service and speed. I'm glad to hear your meals were delivered with a smile and in a timely fashion. I'm surprise to hear you weren't satisfied with your steak (we use only prime sirloin served medium rare on our Shack Stack) however I do understand that each cut of... More 

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food served in a casual environment, but plenty character. Food was good. The fish cooked in a smoke pot was excellent as was the paella. Although not a traditional paella, it was tasty with plenty bits of seafood. Worth eating there, but get there early on weekends and public holidays.

Helpful?
Thank Rob K
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm glad to hear your Shack experience was a positive one and that you enjoyed both the fresh fish and seafood Paella. Your quite right that it pays to pop in early, particularly on those busy holidays. For the latecomers we're always happy to offer drinks at Shed 5's bar or take a cellphone number so we can... More 

AKL, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed our meals but take your time and ask lots of questions with the menu- couple of our dishes were not what we expected. Soft shell crab was yum, and the desert was amazing

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Yes indeed take your time and feel free to pose as many questions as necessary to our friendly floor team. We're more than happy to field any and all queries to make sure our guests get the best out of their shack experience. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the soft shell crab, hopefully you'll pop back soon... More 

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 649164250

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crab Shack and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5 months ago
Sydney, Australia
7 months ago
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Crab Shack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?