We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mt Vic Chippery

5 Majoribanks Street | Mount Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-382 8713
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Seafood, Fast food, Street Food, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Majoribanks Street | Mount Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Ordered takeaways as the places was just near to our motel. We ordered 3 types of fishes with chips, - Ling, lemon fish and tarakihi all done craft beer battered with hand cut agria, beer battered and curly fries. We choose aioli and chipotle mayo...More

Thank sporestriker
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Soft shell crab burger- delicious . The curly fries for my daughters kids fish and chips was actually better than my hand cut agria chips but that’s cos I like mine crispy. I’ll keep that in mind for next time.High class chippery yum will certainly...More

Thank Cynthia N
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! Our crab burger is quickly becoming a favourite with our regulars; we have a total of five types of chips, so usually there is something for everyone :) We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great fish and chips Nice to find someone who still has great f n c. Fish cooked to order. Discovery on a walk well in Wellington visiting

Thank annykat
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again very soon :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place hasn't mastered basic fish and chips, but it pretends to be fancy and sells for 2 to 3 times what this should cost. Some of the staff are quite aggressive too.More

Thank johnblack12345
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us recently. I would like to learn more about your experience, particularly your mention of our staff being aggressive as this doesn't sound like our team at all but I accept your perception....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went around to try the many options for Fish & Chips to see which is the best in NZ. This one came up to one of my favourites.

Thank SimplyJuls
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :)

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

I bought blue cod ($17.4) and agria fries ($6) The fish was delicious and fresh but for the price I expected more. I got 1 small (smaller than my iPhone) fillet. After finishing, I could have eaten the same again! I don’t think I’d go...More

Thank Joe H
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi, I'm sorry that you felt we were expensive and I value your perception of our product. Just to put things into context for readers of this review; you ordered the most premium fish species on our menu, we usually have fish species available from...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We just made it - 10 mins before closing time Having stand at the till waiting to be served and thinking maybe they have shut - we finally got served ! It was worth the wait ! The fish was fresh - beer battered and...More

Thank Makan28
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry that we didn't get your Calamari and Chicken perfect, but I'm glad you enjoyed our salad, that's a favourite of mine too!

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Visited because of the recommendation in Lonely Planet. The restaurant is small but nicely furnished and clean. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. Cooked well. They were very environmentally conscious with cardboard containers and recycling bins with clear directions as to what went where.

Thank Kim A
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks for visiting us at The Chippery and for leaving some lovely feedback. We take our responsibility for the environment seriously and are always seeking new ways to improve.

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We found this place on Google and were encouraged by the good reviews, especially of the mushy peas. Between us, we had fish, bluff oysters, chips, and the peas. Perhaps one mistake was choosing tempura batter, hoping it would be lighter than beer batter. Unfortunately,...More

Thank AnonEMuis
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi, I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal recently, certainly not something we are known for. I would love an opportunity to investigate your order further. If you have any details of your visit, i.e. how much you spent, time and day...More

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Not really worth it, oysters small for bluff that cost over $4 each & oil bit rancid, which was a real wasteMore

Thank JoH3020
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback, the Bluff oysters are a seasonal delicacy and unfortunately expensive due to the supply and demand from the fisheries. I can assure you that we deep clean our fryers daily and replenish with fresh oil. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
Bay Plaza Hotel
449 reviews
.09 miles away
Apollo Lodge Motel
475 reviews
.10 miles away
The Cambridge Hotel
712 reviews
.11 miles away
Ohtel
440 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ortega Fish Shack
1,242 reviews
.02 miles away
Capitol Restaurant
333 reviews
.03 miles away
Sweet Mother's Kitchen
679 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Harbourside Market Wellington
109 reviews
.21 miles away
The Hannah Playhouse
15 reviews
.05 miles away
Kura Art Gallery
9 reviews
.12 miles away
BATS Theatre
26 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mt Vic Chippery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Majoribanks Street | Mount Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-382 8713
  • E-mail
Description
We believe The Chippery serves the best fish and chips and here's why... We know where our fish comes from and it's super fresh. Our fish gets landed in Wellington regularly by our very own commercial fisherman and we work with other local suppliers to ensure quality and variety year round. Our oysters come from farms in Bluff and Marlborough and are absolutely delicious! To make the best fish and chips we start with the best ingredients. We use the finest quality Wellington craft beer to make our batter. Our Agria chips are cut by hand. When it comes to our burgers, our beef patties are also made by hand using grass-fed brisket. We use free-range pork shoulder and slow roast it for 12 hours to make our pulled pork burgers the best in town. Our Free-range eggs come from Wellington and make our delicious aioli and tartare sauces. We also use only the best free-range Waitoa Chicken on our menu. We understand that some people are on a restricted diet and we offer a wide selection of gluten free dishes including a gluten free batter for our fish and seeded gluten free buns are available for our burgers. We even have a dedicated gluten free fryer; just remember to let us know which items you need cooking separately. The Chippery also offers plenty of vegetarian and vegan offerings. If you need anything special, just ask, we'd love to help. We were the first fish and chip shop to use online ordering and offer a delivery service to 14 suburbs in the central Wellington area! Welcome to the Chippery.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing