We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mainly Seafood

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
106 Town Centre | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
+64 27 516 5555
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service is really slow! In excess of 30 mins for takeaway fish and chips is ridiculous- won't be back. tourists sit down diners wanted tomato sauce with their $40 meal. Were offered a tin to purchase -really! Then they expects tips. Well here's mine. Provide good service. For what its worth when i questioned the order taker about the no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ecilop55
ElenaJ06, Manager at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your "tips", here's mine for you: First of all, you came in at our dinner rush, and all our food are made to order, therefore wait time is expected, particularly in rush time; Second of all, we're fish and chip shop with eat in option for the convenience of customers, not a fine dining restaurant where similar... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hadn't had fish and chips for ages but decided to treat ourselves to an old favourite while travelling. We made a good choice - grilled Gurnard with beautifully cooked chips went down a treat. Well priced too in comparison with local competition. Recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Blue cod and chips can't get better than this, caught up at their busy dinner time, but very worth the wait, will come back next time in town.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Avg. most popular fish is blue cod and yes it's the best, BUT that's it potato cakes, looks great deal, but dry and mixture of potatoes and something else, same with cal rings

Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tasteless fish & chips. Slow and unfriendly service - we waited more than half an hour! They do not serve beers!

Helpful?
1 Thank Davidino_V
ElenaJ06, Manager at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review

Hi, you posted this feedback because we didn't let you drink beer, as a takeaway shop we don't have liquor license and in NZ law if you don't have license you can't serve any beer.I think there was no problem of the food as nothing left on table even a crumb and service time was less than 15mins as we... More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I went here in December Xmas day after our long drive from Dunedin we checked into our hotel and than drove around and came across this place my husband and my two kids got out of the car went in the restaurant and sat down while my husband ordered the food. Once the food was brought on the table as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sweettully
ElenaJ06, Manager at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review

Hi, your story is rather unture. They were group of 5 people (3 adults and 2 children), as soon as they walked into the shop, the younger kid started screaming and running up and down across the shop, then they let that kid sit on the dinning table, and he hopped on the chair, which could be quite dangerous for... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Mainly Seafood is a simple fish and chip style cafe but don't be put off by the fairly basic decor and tables. The fish and chips they cook are superb. Try the lightly battered blue cod - really fresh and creamy white fish. The chips are proper chips from real potatoes not frozen standard size tasteless chips and definitely not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
mornington peninsula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Arriving in Te Anau we were very hungry and as we had a lovely motel room over-looking the water we thought a cold local wine and a take -away serve of fish and chips would be perfect on our veranda. The wine was fine but the fish and chips were a huge disappointment. The grilled fish was so dry that... More 

Helpful?
Thank chilliboy
ElenaJ06, Manager at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. If you were very hungry you should order enough food but what I remembered was the food you ordered only enough for one not two Very Hungry people, if you could ask for suggestion before ordering I think this wouldn't happen. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Good takeaway fish and chips from this place. Good portion size and was reasonable. Would come back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank R V
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We were expecting great seafood in New Zealand, however this is not the case with Mainly Seafood. The service was too slow. It took us 30 minutes for a takeaway of a fish, squid rings, and a paua fritter. The food was tasteless. The squid rings seemed to be frozen minced squid rings. The only good thing was the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank jflesdeux

Travellers who viewed Mainly Seafood also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Mainly Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$15
Cuisine
Fast food, Seafood, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout, Seating
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 106 Town Centre | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Southland Region  >  Fiordland National Park  >  Te Anau
  • Phone Number: +64 27 516 5555
Description
Famous fish n chips, burgers,seafood, espresso coffee. All food is cooked with healthy rice barn oil and all of the fish are freshly battered or grilled to orders on site. All food can be takeaway or you can sit at a table.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mainly Seafood staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?