We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant

790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 4666
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tasting plate” (40 reviews)
“duck” (42 reviews)
“scampi” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

During a visit to Hunter Valley we had lunch at Esca Bimbadgen restaurant. You sit on a covered patio with a wonderful view. The service was a bit slow but we finally got some ice water. The day was quite warm. For lunch we had...More

Thank Marty911
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the venue and your meal, we also appreciate your comments about the service to keep improving. We will pass this feedback onto our staff. Hopefully, we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to Esca today for lunch as we have enjoyed it in the past. The food was beyond disappointing. The appetiser of kingfish(?) sashimi had so much dark soy sauce on it that the taste of the other ingredients was completely...More

Thank Happiness53180383039
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. Your comments and feedback regarding the meal and service have been shared with the team. Hopefully, you could give us another opportunity in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to check out the new wood fire pizza offering. Large family group. The service from the lady who took our orders was arrogant and rude. Any time I asked a question about the menu she was very abrupt. The food was very slow to...More

1  Thank Oriwa W
BimbadgenManager, Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. Are you please able to contact us via email - marketing@bimbadgen.com.au, and a member of our team will be in touch....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were lovely but the meal was underwhelming- we had the tuna first not the best we have tasted and then we ordered the duck it was so disappointing- the duck was tough not tasty with a soggy pancake and wilted greens which were...More

Thank Lesleyait
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. Your comments and feedback regarding the meal have been shared with the team. Hopefully, you could give us another...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were welcoming and attentive. They were able to accommodate special dietary rerquirements (a nut allergy). a delicious unhurried meal with matched wines was served.

Thank Janis M
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for your review, we will pass this feedback onto our staff. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant has a great atmosphere. Good menu friendly staff and not to far from cessnock ten minute drive. It’s about 5 minutes from hunter valley gardens

1  Thank alex2856
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time, and you have enjoyed your meal.Looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful lunch place. The view was stunning. Staff were attentive. The meals were filling and reasonably priced. We had the seared tuna, lamb backstrap, lobster and duck. Everything was delicious and mouth watering. The duck was unfortunately a let down. But definitely a place we...More

Thank Annie V
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time, we will pass this feedback onto our Chefs. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This review is in relation to the ESCA Cellar Door experience we had today. We were greeted by an enthusiastic young woman who went out of her way to provide exceptional customer service. She allowed us to have a sample tasting of the Bimbadgen red,white...More

Thank Reecha G
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you had such a great time, and you have enjoyed the wines. We are looking forward to welcoming you as part of the Bimbadgen family and to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 7 October 2018

A minimum of 2 courses is allowed to be ordered here for $60 so despite only wanting a main I settled for the stuffed zucchini flowers which were good. Next was the duck which was tough as and hard to cut and chew, with very...More

Thank sydneygordon
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. Hopefully, you could give us another opportunity in the future.

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We were brought here as part of a private wine tour during our weekend visit. Having been described as one of the better local restaurants we were looking forward to it. Overall we were underwhelmed with the food and didn’t find it to be good...More

1  Thank jenniferhelen92
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience, we are sorry to hear your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. Your comments regarding the meal have been shared with the team. Hopefully, you could give us another opportunity in the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
302 reviews
.66 miles away
Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley
1,385 reviews
.72 miles away
Pokolbin Village
405 reviews
2.09 miles away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1,000 reviews
2.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Legends Grill
390 reviews
.64 miles away
Ogishi Art Chocolate
5 reviews
1.28 miles away
Blaxland Inn
1,027 reviews
2.07 miles away
Il Cacciatore Restaurant
712 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby Attractions
All Hunter Wine Tours & Transfers
326 reviews
.55 miles away
The Vintage Golf Club
146 reviews
.49 miles away
Waverley Estate
229 reviews
.76 miles away
Chateau Elan Spa
88 reviews
.74 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$43
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Cessnock  >  Pokolbin
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4998 4666
  • E-mail
Description
Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca's modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing