We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

££ - £££, ,
2322 Beechworth-Wangaratta Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
+61 3 5725 1609
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“beef cheeks” (8 reviews)
“pasta” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
2322 Beechworth-Wangaratta Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch coming back from Yackandandah. Second visit in three months. Great atmosphere, friendly service, excellent food and a good selection of dishes. The pasta is home made and very nice and my partner enjoyed his burger. The desserts are delicious. Reasonable...More

1  Thank Miriam B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food took too long to come, when it did it wasnt anything to rave about, one chicken meal off. The cook was really under pressure on his own, though there were not many people in for a meal. Though there was a refund for the...More

Thank kscmb
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Really disappointed... have eaten here previously and was lovely . Biggest problem was exceptionally long wait for food .... and then to be told they couldn't accommodate my order .. food finally arrived and was stodgy and the salad was limp and not a spot...More

Thank Aussiemum69
djw23, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for providing feedback from your experience last Sunday. It's a shame you didn't mention this to me or one of our staff while you were at the Hotel as I would have done all I could to address any concerns you had at...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Charming little place with a rustic/country feel. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. The food was GOOD with plenty of options to choose from.

Thank reerogan55
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner last night, hubby booked a table by the fire, it was toasty and warm. We were in and out in under an hour with entree and main and a couple of drinks,Perfect. Food is good pub food nothing super flash but...More

1  Thank Jessica W
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Our waitress knew the menu well and wanted to know about us which we found enjoyable. The business is under new management, we ordered a glass of Brown Brothers Cienna (wine) and a whisky sour that needed some explaining to the new bar person making...More

Thank Colin S
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Found atmosphere and service to be exceptional, so friendly and couldn't do enough to please us. The meal how ever was a different story, all three meals where very ordinary. I had chicken Kiev, it came out on the bone and on top of mashed...More

Thank kimasarbie
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We had dinner on the Saturday night queens birthday weekend, the place was booked out. Service was very good, young staff, keen to please. Warm cosy building, well lit and very clean. Food was served quickly, generous serves. I had the beef burger, which was...More

Thank Michael A
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Had dinner there around a month ago now and it was amazing! The service was great and the wine even better, I had a Beechworth Wine Estates drop, had never heard of it but was delicious. Would highly recommend for a date night or a...More

Thank Audrey K
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The service was very slow, they were understaffed, even though we had booked. When the food finally arrived all eight of us were very disappointed with the meals we ordered, most were very ordinary or below average, the only meal fully eaten was kids nuggets...More

1  Thank Kathy A
djw23, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi Kathy, We're terribly sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your experience at the Plough. Our aim is to provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with great pub dining, we're sorry if this isn't what you received. While we actually weren't very busy on...More

Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Merlot at Linden Warrah
107 reviews
4.49 miles away
Patricia's Table Restaurant
100 reviews
4.60 miles away
Milawa Cheese Factory
190 reviews
3.20 miles away
Milawa Bakery Cafe
88 reviews
4.25 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Riding High Cycling Tours - Day Tours
11 reviews
.03 miles away
Brown Brothers Milawa Vineyard
314 reviews
4.60 miles away
Milawa Cheese Company
116 reviews
3.19 miles away
Milawa Mustard
73 reviews
4.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$24
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
11:30 - 18:00
15:00 - 21:00
15:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 22:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2322 Beechworth-Wangaratta Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Wangaratta
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5725 1609
  • E-mail
The Plough Inn dates back to 1864, it is claimed Ned Kelly had ridden his horse down the main hall of the pub, while that may just be a tale, Ned did work in Tarrawingee and it is said that he and his gang would have a drink or two and would sit on a knotted wooden bench which is still here today(ask to see Neds bench!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing