We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palette Dining

££ - £££International, ,
92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 9530
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shoulder” (7 reviews)
“quail” (12 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 20:00All hours
CUISINES
International, Grill, Contemporary, Healthy, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous food, excellent service and a worldclass somellier. Produce is grown on the rooftop garden and sourced from the best in the region.

Thank EscarpmentsEstate
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It is sincerely appreciated that our guests take time out to let others know of their experience. All the best for the festive season From the team at Palette Dining

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In planning a night out to propose Palette Dining came up in the reviews as fine dining but relaxed. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent with clever creations of competing and contrasting flavours. The staff were attentive but relaxed in their approach and...More

Thank peterjdavies2
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Peter, Wow what an evening you had. It was lovely to meet you and chat, I always enjoy hearing from our guests. Sometimes we can be a little rushed, so we ensure everyone gets the service they require. On this evening we were lucky...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is an upstairs that does burgers and ribs and a downstairs that we went to that is a bit more fancy. The food was fabulous. Flavours are very good. Reasonable prices too. Service was very good too.

Thank BristolBaz
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. It makes us happy when our guests leave happy :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'll admit that the food was one of the less prominent features of the evening, but it was excellent all the same. The staff were friendly and warm and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Sadly, I can not recall exactly what I ate, it was...More

Thank Ajdin Adi M
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. Happy to know we were memorable enough for you to leave one 😉 Hope you recovered quickly. All the best for the festive season From the team at Palette Dining

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is for the Palette burger place which is upstairs. They only serve burgers and ribs - we had the black bean burger and pork ribs and both were ok, nothing special.More

Thank Ivysreviews
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are always open to constructive feedback at Palette. However we really don't feel like this review has been constructive. It seems as though perhaps you came to dine in our A la carte dining room and we were closed. Sorry if there was any...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We really enjoyed our night at Palette Dining. We loved the food and the atmosphere was relaxed but handled with care, from our extremely informative and pleasant waitress, to the food on our plates. It was great to have a meal where the people cooking...More

Thank susemuses
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow. Thank you so much for this review. It is so reassuring to hear this kind of feed back. Sorry it took me so long to reply. It's been a busy month. All the best from the team at Palette Dining

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Our waitress serving us really knew her stuff - giving us a rundown of all the items on the menu - the ingredients and how the dishes were made. She spoke of the herbs and flowers used being grown on the rooftop kitchen garden -...More

Thank Maria G
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Maria, Thank you very much for your review. Our chefs definitely work hard, as do our front of house staff. Sorry for the delay in getting your drink order, sometimes we can get caught with menu descriptions or having to go upstairs to the...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were looking for dinner to celebrate a special occasion. After a great disappointment in the lower mountains we headed back up towards Katoomba on a cool and misty Saturday night, .... not too optimistic, .... but hopeful that we might find somewhere with a...More

Thank ThomasBKatoomba
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

It was a pleasure having you dine with us and we are very happy you have found your way to our restaurant. We do hope to have you join us again soon. All the best from the team at Palette Dining

Reviewed 30 September 2017

I'm not normally one to leave reviews but the food here was worth a mention. Each dish was creative but very well balanced with interesting flavours and cooking techniques. Its a normally a hatted restaurant that can manage to pull off presentation, technique and flavour...More

Thank ct2424
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Oh, thanks so much. With the little bit of notice on the phone before Dining with us we are generally able to accomodate most requirements. Very happy to hear you both enjoyed your evening. All the best with the little one on the way.

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Much enjoyed our dinning and only wished we came in before our failed dinning experience prior to finding this resturant Will highly recommend Friendly knowledgeable staff 6 plus stars

Thank Kara M
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Oh, wow. Thanks for being so complementary while here. Our wait staff really enjoyed serving your table. If you are in the mountains again please come back past. Best wishes The team at Palette Dining

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza
639 reviews
.01 miles away
Avalon
312 reviews
.04 miles away
Old City Bank Brasserie
636 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Blue Mountains
1,197 reviews
.37 miles away
Blue Mountains Cultural Centre
177 reviews
.14 miles away
High 'n Wild Mountain Adventures
120 reviews
.31 miles away
Street Art Walk - by Street Art Murals Australia
76 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
macca222
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Petrina K | Property representative |
We are fully licensed. So no BYO
0
Votes
Hyleonie
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bazkris | Reviewed this property |
Hello There is no surcharge for using a credit card I am not sure about a Sunday surcharge
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$9 - US$23
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4782 9530
  • E-mail
Description
When we created Palette Dining, our ambition was to produce a menu that was not limited by geography or defined by a single culinary style. Modern Australian cuisine is an amalgam of cultures and styles and our food reflects & embraces that vast breadth of influence. Our menu whilst global in inspiration is local in provenance. Seasonal and balanced, our food reflect the bounty of the mountains and the best of what is available at any given time from our growers and suppliers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing