We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boardwalk Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1/92 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
+61 2 4454 2555
Website
Today
06:30 - 16:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 06:30 - 17:00
Sat - Sun 06:30 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Plenty of room out the back, great view, great seating options to work, eat or take your date. Coffee is pretty good, service is friendly, food is good standard range. Would be better if you could see a menu board at the front, ordering system seems discombobulated. Always return though, great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great little place to have coffee - caters for all weather types. Coffee was just the right temperature having exra hot taste we got xtra hot coffee...

Helpful?
Thank Clare F
Amaroo, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The view was great, and the service competent and well organised. The food, however, was a bit lacking. The avocado on toast was two pieces of bread smeared with avo, the feta cheese salad was a salad with 7 (approx) pieces of feta. So, over priced for what we got- just use the ingredients promised on the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Dom_Upton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This cafe is in a great location and the decor and staff were great. The food however was not good and far too expensive for what it was. Smashed avo was two slices of white bread with a smear of avocado, the tiniest bit of feta and two slices of under ripe tomato. Yuck. The haloumi stack had two poached... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue M
ColBSouthCoast, Owner at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Sorry about your dissatisfaction with your meal. We have now addressed the issues you presented with the staff members responsible. They were sacked on the spot and given a severe beating! Only joking! On that day we were trialling new cooks and their training was incomplete, particularly under pressure of a busy day. We are more than happy to give... More 

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Position is perfect, food is good, service is good, staff are friendly, easy parking one of the best places in Ulladulla for lunch

Helpful?
Thank Nalder
ColBSouthCoast, Owner at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your praising review, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next visit. More 

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice cafe with Harbour views if you sit outside. Service was reasonable and the prices are average. It can get rather noisy inside but out the back is lovely.

Helpful?
Thank sooliz
ColBSouthCoast, Manager at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business and the nice comments. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the food was ok it was over priced. Average avo smash. Lest amount of avo I have ever had but most expensive meal. I'm comparing to sydney prices !!! Tomato slices?? Couldn't taste the avo or the feta and they tomato was tasteless. Sorry I wasted my time. $30.00 plus. Avo smash , bacon and egg roll , large coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
ColBSouthCoast, Owner at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Sorry about your bad experience. Next time you are not happy please inform the staff at the time so we can rectify your problem. At present, like most food outlets we are having trouble sourcing suitably experienced staff. More 

Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Read the good reviews, and fish and chips and avocado smash was fine, but it took 3/4 hour to get. By then my ginger spider had melted. Staff congenital, but kitchen needs a speed up!

Helpful?
Thank HiHoSystems
ColBSouthCoast, Owner at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

On the day of your visit we had 2 of our kitchen staff off due to a family tragedy. The staff that were on did a fantastic job to keep up with a very busy day (rainy days are always busier, can't predict the weather all the time) these things happen occasionally in business. I am glad you enjoyed your... More 

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

We visited for lunch and had fish and chips. Nice presentation, great salad and very fresh fish. The service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Americain123
ColBSouthCoast, Owner at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your visit, thanks for the great review. More 

Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

The ambience, food, juice, drinks and food were all great. Everything was fresh, well presented and the views were the topping on the cake.

Helpful?
Thank gchallinor
ColBSouthCoast, Manager at Boardwalk Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you, join us again anytime. More 

Travellers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe also viewed

Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Boardwalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$14
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 16:00
Monday
06:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 17:00
Thursday
06:30 - 17:00
Friday
06:30 - 17:00
Saturday
06:30 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1/92 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Ulladulla
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4454 2555
Description
Overlooking the beautiful Ulladulla harbour, adjoining the elevated walkway. Access from the Main Street or the boardwalk. Open for breakfast and lunch from 6.30Am.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Boardwalk Cafe and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
3 months ago
Sydney, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Boardwalk Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?