We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lone Pine Bistro

££ - £££, ,
225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 1004
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good35%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

We dropped in on a Thursday night expecting to have an enjoyable meal as in the past visits, but we were really disappointed this time. My meal of Calamari was overcooked and the crumbing was burnt. My wife's meal of chicken was tasteless. The floor...More

Thank Charles W
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Charles thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. Your comments have been passed onto staff as we do take complaints seriously. We have recently released our new winter menu which we hope you will return and try.

Reviewed 6 May 2016

Arrived on a Sat night without a reservation but put our names down & number for contact ? After several hours we noted the crowd was thinning but no call ? Luckily fronted the cashier who said sorry , serving is over but stood our...More

Thank Skeney57
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are very proud of our memorabilia displays and glad that you enjoyed this component of your evening. It is most unusual for staff to offer a phone back service as our booking system allows staff to double book...More

Reviewed 2 May 2016

We ate there tonight and did last Monday too. Both nights the vegetables were cold apart from the potatoes. The too thick slabs of beef were tough to eat and I left most of it all as did two other people. We have had cold...More

1  Thank 40stockdale
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for your recent feedback. Our chefs have reported that they were not made aware of your issues, which they would have been more than happy to rectify on the night. We can report that we experienced issues with our bain maries two weeks...More

Reviewed 22 April 2016

We were there V8 weekend. The food came out fast and was hot, that's about the extent of the good points. The food was average at best. The porterhouse steak certainly didn't look like a porterhouse and appeared to be an inferior cut that was...More

Thank bushwalker79
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Thank you for your recent feedback - we are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your steak. Had you advised our staff on the night, we would have been able to rectify the situation. Our chefs appreciate feedback as it can alert them...More

Reviewed 14 April 2016

The RSL bistro is ideal for families with young kids, with an indoor play area and kids' menu. The atmosphere was pleasant, food not bad and well priced.More

1  Thank Bianca V
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Dear Bianca thank you for your recent review on the Lone Pine Bistro - we are very pleased to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable experience. Our aim is to provide quality meals at affordable prices. We encourage families to enjoy...More

Reviewed 12 April 2016

This was the first time I had visited the Cowes R.S.L and although most R.S.L's have good meals, this was the best I have ever had. Value, service and the meal all top marks. I will make it my first stop for a meal next...More

Thank dcs297
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent visit to the Lone Pine Bistro. Our staff appreciate such encouraging comments and I know our chefs will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to welcoming you back again...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016

We have been to the Lone Pine Bistro in the RSL a number of times, making it one of our 'go to' spots on Phillip Island. In the course of those visits, we have rarely been disappointed in the meal. While pub fare and a...More

Thank Derd1957
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Thank you for your recent feedback on your experience at the Lone Pine Bistro. We are thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Our menu consists of traditional family favourites and changes seasonally; and is so designed to minimise customer wait times....More

Reviewed 1 April 2016

Visited here for dinner with four kids 14-2 years old. I was appreciative of the drinks as they sold soft drink by the jug which made it affordable and a super large beer for me (much needed). The playroom for the 2 year old was...More

Thank motherofbarry
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Being a family friendly bistro, we aim to serve our patrons efficiently especially during school holidays, which is a very busy time of the year for us. We are disappointed to read that you were not happy with your son's...More

Reviewed 29 March 2016

We went for dinner on Sunday night. I ordered a chicken Parma. When I cut into it the cheese and sauce were warm but the chicken was cold. I sent it back asking only that the heat it, they made a deal about getting me...More

Thank Anne L
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for your recent feedback on your meal. We are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the meal and service provided and have consequently passed this onto our chef for review with staff.

Reviewed 23 March 2016

We had a lovely meal and the playroom for children kept our 2 year old as well as some older " kids' entertained for hours.More

Thank Gerard B
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you for such positive feedback. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience at our club with your family. You may like to revisit on the last Sunday of each month to enjoy our Sunday Funday - free activity for kids...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Lugano
129 reviews
.88 miles away
Island Whole Foods
72 reviews
.88 miles away
The Waterboy Cafe
108 reviews
.90 miles away
Fig & Olive
309 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Phillip Island Wildlife Park
411 reviews
.67 miles away
Cowes Bazaar and Gallery
24 reviews
.51 miles away
Grumpys Crazy Golf
16 reviews
.54 miles away
Island E-Bike Hire
15 reviews
.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Robyn-Ann18
20 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Christine M | Reviewed this property |
The menu is fairly standard with usually two fish dishes a daily roast some pasta, steaks and generally a curry. There is one soup of the day which varies and a limited dessert menu with things like sticky date pudding. It's... More
0
Votes
Allan P
4 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PhillipIslandRSL | Property representative |
Hi Alan. Thnx for your enquiry. We look forward to welcoming you to our club in October but agree with the others, it's best to avoid Grand Prix weekend. We have a bus group menu which provides a three way drop of roast... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:30
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 1004
  • E-mail
Description
Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products within a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located at the gateway to Cowes venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic value for money menu at affordable prices. Gluten free options as well as kids and seniors menus are available. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing