We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips

6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
+44 1778 347970
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish” (84 reviews)
“mushy peas” (20 reviews)
“bread” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

it was my birthday my wife and I was looking after the grandchildren for the afternoon so we took them out to eat as a treat for all of us. we use Linford's restaurant my wife and I had the glutton free fish and chips...More

Thank aphipps2
Reviewed 6 days ago

In the main square of Market Deeping. Linfords is very conveniently situated for locals and passing trade. Parking was a bit difficult (Saturday lunchtime) but it’s well worth the effort to find a spot. You can take your food away or, as we did, eat...More

Thank Tootincarman
patricial829, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I enjoyed reading your comments. We appreciate it when customers take the time to write reviews. Please feel free to come again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean environment, very friendly service and excellent food. I had the huss as opposed to my usual haddock, and was not disappointed. The prices are very reasonable indeed, and the portions are very generous - although NOT so absurdly large that an average-sized hippo couldn't...More

Thank Phalfanatic
patricial829, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your comments, agree nothing looks worse than a plate piled so high, also you feel you have to finish because you have paid for your meal.

Reviewed 9 October 2018

My wife and I don't get to go to often, but when we do fancy fish and chips we make the trip from Uppingham, so it's about 20 mile each way. It's worth it though, which hopefully is testament to the quality of the food...More

Thank Adrian M
patricial829, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad you made the journey to Linfords. Can’t beat a good plate of Fish and Chips. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit to Linfords and indeed my first visit to Market Deeping , this fish n chip shop was highly recommended to me so on the last day of my short visit, we decided to visit at lunch time , fish and...More

Thank 61charlesd
patricial829, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Really pleased that you enjoyed the Linford experience, hope you return soon. Pat Linford

Reviewed 27 September 2018

The fish and chips were excellent ,however service not great, staff appear unable to smile or converse with customers.also smarter uniforms would be animprovement. Obviously one is not ment to linger over ones meal as staff create an uncomfortable atmosphere even asking if we would...More

1  Thank janice s
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi Janice, thank you for your review and I’m glad you enjoyed your food. Can you let me know what time and what day you came in to the restaurant so we can look to improve our customer service. Many Thanks Chris

Reviewed 23 September 2018

We visited this restaurant last night with our family. There were six of us and we just squeezed in on the last tables available. That tells you straight away how popular this restaurant is. We were made to feel very welcome and the waitress was...More

1  Thank Susan G
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Hi Susan, many thanks for your 5* review and I am glad you all enjoyed your meals. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Not often we visit a place which just ticks All the boxes, but Linford just does! Well decorated and immaculately clean, this place is deservedly popular. Fresh, tasty food, good portions, great service and great value for money. If you like a really wonderful fish...More

1  Thank adrianc739
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

My family have visited Linfords for 5+ years now and we have always enjoyed great food. Despite moving away from Peterborough I still make a point of is having fish and chips when I come to visit. Keep up the good work and we will...More

1  Thank thomashdoughty
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Have been going to linfords for quite a few years and it has always been excellent we live about 25 miles from Mkt Deeping but it has been worth the drive till last Friday 24th August, don’t know what went wrong but have never had...More

1  Thank annmilligan2018
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi, sorry about the delay in replying to your review. Apologises for your bad experience this time in our shop as this isn’t our usual high standards that we set ourselves. Did you visit the takeaway or restaurant? If you could give us a call...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Stage
152 reviews
.03 miles away
Premier Inn Peterborough North Hotel
510 reviews
5.43 miles away
The William Cecil at Stamford
849 reviews
6.95 miles away
The Bull & Swan
398 reviews
6.96 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Boundary And River Restaurant
273 reviews
.30 miles away
Driftwood Bistro
23 reviews
.98 miles away
The Waterton Arms
63 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Waterton Arms
25 reviews
.99 miles away
The Vine Inn
24 reviews
.30 miles away
St Guthlac's Church
8 reviews
.24 miles away
Deepings Library
8 reviews
.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Market Deeping
  • Phone Number: +44 1778 347970
  • E-mail
Description
Linford's Traditional Fish and Chip shop is located at the centre of the historic market town of Market Deeping. The takeaway has been open since 1989 and in the summer of 2012 we opened a new restaurant. At Linfords we offer a selection of fish; cod (regular, medium and jumbo), haddock, plaice, huss (rock salmon) and scampi with weekly specials including lemon sole, hake, halibut and monkfish. Other options include sausages, pukka pies, fish cakes, burgers, chicken burgers, vege burgers, spring rolls, southern fried chicken, chicken nuggets and chicken tikka bites. All of our food is cooked in vegetable oil and all fish is sustainably caught.We also offer gluten free fish and chips on a Monday night from 4pm - 8:30.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing